Pain Of Salvation
Scarsick


4.0
excellent

Review

by Jorn van Schaïk USER (172 Reviews)
June 26th, 2007 | 29 replies | 11,105 views


Release Date: 2006 | Tracklist


4 of 4 thought this review was well written

I'm not really new to prog, but Pain of Salvation is a band whose records have been eluding me for quite some time now. This was the only record I could find by them, and despite many critics panning this album for various reasons, I have found that there was a great deal to enjoy on this record. If all prog metal is as good as this, I surely must get their other stuff!

Musically the band pulls off a lot of tricks and cards here. The band sounds like some combination of the more rock/metal elements of Porcupine Tree (without the Mellotron or dreamy Pink Floyd moments), embellished with Faith No More-esque vocals, chugging guitar riffs, and incomprehensible melody lines. They even pull off a disco beat on the aptly titled Disco Queen (is this an ABBA tribute of sorts?). Variety is not something we have to complain about here, as the band switches from frenetic rap-metal (Spitfall) mode a la Rage against the Machine into power ballad territory with the somewhat mellower Cribcaged.

But what is most interesting here is the concept album. Daniel Gildenlow, the band's primary composer, is one angry man on this album, and seems to take his cues musically from some of the more leftfield bands out there. Frenetic shrieks ala Serj Tankian on the hardcore-tinged Flame to the Moth. Hip-hop verses out of the Tom Morello rulebook on album opener Scarsick and the subsequent Spitfall. A decidedly pop-punk antic on the first single, America. Even on what starts out as a mellow song, Gildenlow turns the whole song into a *** you festival and namecalling all his favourite scapegoats (film stars, companies, commercials) like a shopping mall checklist.

Some people might be put off by the aggressive tone the PoS frontman takes here. But, in fact, the band pulls a new one lyrically on us: they have never seemed so mundane. With former albums exploring such concepts as the nature of mankind, the existence of God and other philosophical concepts far beyond the simple-minded brains of the masses, this seems like a more easy to digest take on the world, still being bleak and depressing but giving fans who could not comprehend the conceptual nature of previous albums a much easier time to relate to and understand what Gildenlow is trying to get across.

And that is where the strength of this album lies. It is varied, complex, and musically out of the wazoo (as the band manages to mix disco beats with densely layered prog rock), but it remains accessible and digestible enough (even with the somewhat more extended song lengths) without sacrificing any of the complexity, and on top of that carrying a message that despite becoming cliched and obsolete still rings with a truthful poignancy. It may be a little different for fans of the older material to stomach, but once you acclimatise to another different face of this truly progressive band, you'll be well rewarded. One of the albums of the year, easily.



Recent reviews by this author
Frank Turner Tape Deck HeartBrand New The Devil and God Are Raging Inside Me
Metallica MetallicaSlayer World Painted Blood
Katatonia Night Is the New DayRammstein Liebe Ist Für Alle Da
user ratings (236)
Chart.
3.4
great
other reviews of this album
scissorlocked (4)
Pain of Salvation show their new face,with the second part of the unforgettable"The Perfect Element"...

asheroth (2)
High expectations fail to be met with Pain of Salvation's new, simpler and ultimately disappointing ...


Comments:Add a Comment 
jrowa001
June 26th 2007



8749 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

decent review. theres no way this is a 4 for me. i liked the first time i heard it then the next 4 or 5 times i heard it i hated it. it just wasnt good enough for me. after listening to it again i realized that i just really hate America and Disco Queen. those songs are just awful, probably the worst songs they have ever put out. not cuz theyre not as heavy or whatever but because they just sound bad. the rest of the album is decent but doesnt even come close to BE or any of their other albums. a 3 is a generous rating, mainly cuz there are a few standout tracks (but still not as good as BE)This Message Edited On 06.26.07

Aficionado
June 26th 2007



1027 Comments


That's cool, the reviews roday have gone 1,2,3,4.

I guess somebody needs to write a 5 review.

Altmer
June 26th 2007



5652 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

I like this album alot.

Confessed2005
June 26th 2007



3314 Comments


These guys were pretty cool at Hellfest.

The vocalist has an awesome voice.

freudianslipknot
February 1st 2008



803 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This album is shamelessly satirical. Quite brilliant. I think a lot of people were looking for something in continuation (musically that is) with Perfect Element: Part 1 and Remedy Lane. Of course, pastiche is never going to do that. To me Pain of Salvation is probably the most interesting band around.



Altmer
February 3rd 2008



5652 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

This band is completely genius with what they do. Pain of Salvation is brilliant. I want Perfect Element, I don't have that. and be and one hour by the concrete lake.

freudianslipknot
February 3rd 2008



803 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Well Perfect Element and Concrete lake are brilliant. I respect what they were doing on Be but I haven't been able to really get into that CD as much.

Oh good review, by the way. Though I'm still trying to decide what rating to give this. At least 4 at the moment. Need to let it sink in a bit more.

Zip
June 26th 2009



5313 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Cribcaged kicks ass

laarx
May 30th 2010



13 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I dont know why people hate this album so much. The majority of PoS fans will say this is their worst album. But in a way, if you think about it and try to digest at least some of what they are putting across (because is is hard in this album) you can see how they managed to put across some powerful messages across in just about every song. Also, ive noticed that most people rip on the songs Disco Queen and America, i admist, i too hated them at 1st, but then again are they any different from songs like Stress in the Entriopa album? They grew on me, and i realised what master pieces they are! Sure, they arent loyal to their other heavier songs filled with loads of changes of all sorts, but that doesnt make them bad. I totally agree with Zip above me. Cribcaged is immense!

AnubisGray
June 6th 2010



1 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I've become an emense fan of PoS over the pass year-and-a-half, and I'll admit that I couldn't stand Scarsick at first. I laughed the first time I heard Disco Queen and it quickly became one of my favorite songs. I love how the song is a double innunendo when you pay close attention to the lyrics.

Yazz_Flute
June 6th 2010



18735 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It's still a good album, it just pales in comparison to their first five. I'm afraid to listen to Road Salt.

Spitfall is my favorite song honestly.

Digging: Anekdoten - Vemod

scissorlocked
June 6th 2010



3479 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Good review.

The album still shines.

And road salt is somehow strange.but i wouldnt call it dissapointing.It's more like daniel's latest experiment that wasnt so succesful

Digging: Fantastic Mr Fox - Sketches

Nectar
June 24th 2010



4 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Great album, I don't understand all the hate it gets.

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
November 28th 2010



5612 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Scarsick's only flaw is that at certain (few fortunately) spots the mixing of prog elements from Pos past records with the new "pure rock" agenda doesn't work so well.

Other than that, it's a great record.

Digging: Mekong Delta - In A Mirror Darkly

Yazz_Flute
February 10th 2011



18735 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I love Spitfall way more than I feel I should, it's easily my favorite song here. Chorus is so good.

Yazz_Flute
December 2nd 2011



18735 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I really like moments of this album but Dan comes off as such a h8ter in the lyrics and it's kinda funny.

Yazz_Flute
December 2nd 2011



18735 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Triple post.

But basically I'm digging the shit out of this album now. Took a few years.

Yazz_Flute
December 4th 2011



18735 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Quadruple Post.

4.5'd

The fuck is wrong with me.

ksoflas
July 20th 2013



268 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Now that's what i call an album with balls!
Terrific job. Pos'd.

Underflow
July 20th 2013



2175 Comments


Definitely the tipping point in this band's discography.

Digging: The War on Drugs - Lost in the Dream



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy