Fugazi
Red Medicine


4.0
excellent

Review

by Jared W. Dillon USER (118 Reviews)
June 14th, 2007 | 276 replies


Release Date: 1995 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The sun moves on a stick. The moon on a hook.

"Red Medicine" is a NEW Fugazi, the sound of progress and experimentation. From the first moments of the record, the band clearly shows they are entering a new phase: "Do You Like Me?" is one of their most complex, and emotional tracks. Sure, the Lally bass lines are present and Guy's snarl is no more consistent than always but the feeling of the music has changed. Fugazi are far removed from the outcast lost boys of the hardcore scene and are now taking up the title of "alternative rock". Moments like the clarinet-playing in "Version" and the effect-ridden vocals of "Combination Lock" are different from any other in Fugazi's history and, most importantly, focused in studio production.

"Red Medicine" shows the foursome from D.C. realizing what they can fully do with studio production and also what they can do with atmosphere. Guy's slurred singing on "Latest Disgrace" is something new and removed from the previous "In On the Kill Taker" which was founded in the abstract aggression of noise. "Kill Taker" Fugazi is still an evident force on "Red Medicine" but the band is taking the steps to vary their sound. The approach to guitar has begun to change, with more thoughts put into techniques and phrasing than riffing, and "Red Medicine's" lasting value is extended because of it.

While "Red Medicine" is far removed from "13 Songs", the added experimentation of the record does little to dull Fugazi's essential beginning. The variety of tracks and styles found on this record is something that the early incarnation of Fugazi couldn't even dream of, but the power that was behind that group is still intact. "Red Medicine's" highlights might not be as strong as Fugazi's previous records but the strength of the album as a whole is probably second only to "The Argument". Tracks like "Forensic Scene" leave the listener in a realm of black-and-white confusion in their blunt force and emotion. With "Red Medicine", Fugazi had harnessed their strengths to make their finest structured album yet. But the group certainly would change that prospect in the years to come.



Recent reviews by this author
Pygmy Lush Old FriendsPharoahe Monch W.A.R.
My Disco Little JoyBlack Milk Album Of The Year
Sun Kil Moon Admiral Fell PromisesFlying Lotus Cosmogramma
user ratings (586)
Chart.
4.1
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
metallicaman8
June 14th 2007


4677 Comments


Really nice review.

...was voting disable for staff reviewer's reviews, or something?

iarescientists
June 14th 2007


5863 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

So, you're finally getting back to reviewing Fugazi's discography?

pixiesfanyo
June 14th 2007


1223 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

No. I just have a life and take my time.

iarescientists
June 14th 2007


5863 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

okay

descendents1
June 15th 2007


702 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

really would have liked a slightly longer review because this album has been a favorite of mine for the last couple of months now, but i'm glad someone finally reviewed it and did a great job as well

any14doomsday
June 15th 2007


679 Comments


Birthday Pony Rules !!!

Fort23
June 15th 2007


2480 Comments


Very VERY short review for someone who takes his time
Nahh awesome review as always. Love Fugazi, and this is a pretty good album.

londoncalling457
June 16th 2007


2612 Comments


I have Repeater, 13 Songs, and Steady Diet of Nothing, but not this one for some reason. I'll be sure to get this once I get some more money. Also, nice review.

Shadowed Reflection
July 26th 2007


274 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

There are some really unnecessary jam songs on this album. Really slows things down. The start and end of the album is very good though.

KritikalMotion
September 1st 2007


2262 Comments


What album should i get first? And which is the best/most needed.

descendents1
September 4th 2007


702 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Get this or 13 Songs. They're about the same in terms of quality.

NortherlyNanook
September 6th 2007


1285 Comments


I would actually suggest The Argument. It's really easy to get into Fugazi after getting The Argument. Of course, yeah, 13 Songs wouldn't be too hard to get into for a first album for them.

EDIT: A good review by the way. Not a bad album by any means.This Message Edited On 09.06.07

descendents1
September 6th 2007


702 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The Argument is a special album, but I think it's difficult to say that it's the best introduction to Fugazi.

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
September 6th 2007


16089 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

13 Songs is the best introduction to the band, but The Argument is still their best album.

Zebra
Moderator
July 7th 2008


2647 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Great album here but the second half can be rough to sit through.

descendents1
July 8th 2008


702 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

That's for damn sure. It's so good though. Beginning to get addicted to In on the Kill Taker myself. Much easier to digest.

spoon_of_grimbo
January 20th 2009


2241 Comments


got this today. i already had 13 songs and repeater which i liked although didn't listen to very often. really enjoying this though, it's spurred me to go get the rest of their albums and re-listen to the older stuff too!

Awesomesauce
January 29th 2009


1084 Comments


Almost as good as Repeater. Top shelf listening.

Mendross
December 10th 2009


398 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

The crazy laughter in the middle of Birthday Pony made me think of Daryl Palumbo

Inveigh
December 30th 2009


25184 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

soooooo tasty. I just got this and Repeater yesterday, listened to them both, and liking this one just a little bit more so far. Perhaps that will change though...

Digging: Nero Di Marte - Derivae



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy