Gallows
Orchestra Of Wolves


4.0
excellent

Review

by pogostick1 USER (10 Reviews)
May 25th, 2007 | 77 replies


Release Date: 2006 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Gallows are coming to take your town by storm; the album captures the energy of their live shows and brings it to your ears like a vitalising punch delivered to the skull

A debut album to remember. From the moment this starts, to the embers of the final song, you know you are experiencing something brilliant, fresh, and powerful, but with its heart in the right place. Gallows seem to draw their influence from hardcore punk, which ranges from the older shouts of bands such as Minor Threat, and Black Flag, as well as the revitalised hardcore punk of Rancid's 2000 self-titled album, but it also harbours some metallic riffs.

The album is only 36 minutes long, but this isn't because the songs are unfulfilled, but because they are only 12 in number. By the end of the album you are thirsting for more, but perhaps the vitality and the kick provided by the album is the way it is because of its breakneck pace.

It starts off with "Kill the Rhythm" which sets the tone for the album to follow. The cries of 'Kill the rhythm' are guttural and penetrating, and ironically, whilst the songs rhythm is frequently broken with changing tunes, it is also melodic; a bombastic way to introduce yourself to your prospective listeners. The next track is "Come Friendly Bombs", which maintains the openers aggressive edge, as indeed does the whole album, but has underlying keyboard melodies too, and the song lyrics denote a dark, brutal background, where people used to "kick my f**ing head in just to feel alive", according to the lead vocalist. "Abandon Ship", the next track on the album is probably my favourite track off the record, a mixture of punk and even emotional hardcore, (as seen in the lyrics "so baby baby hold me tight / while I drown myself in you tonight"). Again, it is very melodic, and you will find yourself singing along with lyrics you probably thought you wouldn't have. "In the Belly of a Shark" is next, and this song has some bite (pun intended), and here more than ever, you can hear the bands Watford roots come out, as the singer bellows out "so here am I / in the belly of a shark!" to start the song off. Whilst the song is powerful and catchy, and will no doubt be a favourite, the lyrics don't resonate with me particularly, and it may be overrated by some. However, it is a staple track in their live performances, and it is one of their best performed songs. "Rolling With the Punches" is the next standout, reminiscent of Oi! Punk, and it is one of the best tracks on the album, and it is shout (sing) along stuff, the song is about staying strong and getting back up when you have been knocked down, inspiration, and even danceable in the keyboard melodies.

The band add another aggressive furious song, "Will Someone Shoot that f**ing Snake", but has a strangely underlying dance like keyboard tune underneath the abrasive exterior, something which Gallows seem to do very well. "Stay Cold" is a venomous song which relates back to the 1,000 pounds Gallows had stolen from them at a show, one of their early ones, when they were still building as a band. It comically references the Streets' album, as the vocals roar "Someone said a grand don't come for free / apparently it does when you're a f**ing thief," but the vengeance promised is anything but comic. The title track "Orchestra Of Wolves" is diligent, earnest, offensive and bold, speaking about date rape, and men and women's treatment in society. An absolutely brilliant ending, haunting to the finish.

There are a few missteps on the album, and some tracks that seem like filler, such as "I Promise This Won't Hurt", a very short blast full of fury and clocking in at under 2 minutes, giving it punch, but it misses out of the melodiousness of other surrounding tracks. However, live, this will cause mayhem, as will "Six Years", a solid song, showcasing what Gallows do well, in their aggressive vocals and arresting melodies, but it is not catchy enough to prodcuce a hit but its screamed lines, and build up of sound though are enough to make anyone take a second look.

In total, this is a brilliant and bold attempt at a first album, and the direction they go from here is up to them, although ideally the next album should contain a couple more blockbusters such as:

Orchestra of Wolves
Rolling With The Punches
Abandon Ship

And whilst songs such as "I promise this won't hurt" and "six years" are a little bland, with time and maturity, (as long as they can maintain the raw energy they possess) this will be a band to watch.



Recent reviews by this author
The King Blues Save the World, Get the GirlMetallica Death Magnetic
Less Than Jake GNV FLANo Use for a Name The Feel Good Record of the Year
NOFX They've Actually Gotten Worse LiveNOFX Wolves in Wolves Clothing
user ratings (505)
Chart.
3.7
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Jom
Staff Reviewer
May 26th 2007


2682 Comments


MUCH better, dude! Great job. Thanks for getting in touch with me, and welcome once again to the site.

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
May 26th 2007


17920 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

i have this album but i haven't listened to it guess i will sometime good review

pogostick1
May 27th 2007


42 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

thanks guys
and thanks again for the help Jom

Stalusk
May 27th 2007


90 Comments


Only heard this band in the last couple of weeks. Very impressive hardcore, could be massive before the decade is out.

Confessed2005
May 27th 2007


3314 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I've heard good things about this band but I have also heard that they suck pretty bad.

Who would they best be compared to musically wise?

team7disorder
May 27th 2007


40 Comments


musically i would compare them with the bronx. theres also a little drive like jehu in the guitars. This Message Edited On 05.27.07

Intransit
May 27th 2007


2797 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Anyone care to hook me up with this?

pogostick1
May 30th 2007


42 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

they remind me of black flag crossed with bleeding through in retrospect This Message Edited On 05.30.07This Message Edited On 09.26.07

craigy2
June 1st 2007


551 Comments


Great review! Nice one. I haven't got this yet, but I'm going to get the reissue when that comes out in a week or so, with all the bonus tracks! I'm really liking what I've heard so far, and your review makes me think that I'll like the rest of the album too!

burton.and.gas
June 1st 2007


641 Comments


I'm not sure how much i am going to like these but mainly be cause they've been hyped alot so i assume they can't be that good. Lol i will give them a fair listen. But they don't sound wierd enough for me and they also appear to think that jumping into crowds makes them revolutionary showmen from some interviews i've read, that's really not new in showmanship terms.

craigy2
June 19th 2007


551 Comments


okay if i've got this now and it's fucking brilliant! and i agree with your review in that the album is great and that 'I promise this won't hurt' is filler.

LightningJ
August 15th 2007


120 Comments


Like the review. I've been hearing this band crop up on TV every now and again, and I kind of like what I've heard. Maybe I'll check this album out; I could use a good wake-up slap.


bobbyG
August 19th 2007


1 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This band definitely brought some fresh air into the punk scene!RocknRoll flow from head to toe!!! I agree with the review except for qualifying the song "I promise this wont hurt " as filler!! In my opinion it's one of the best songs, very powerfull and fast, very original lyrics because of their simplicity!!! Just a song about the anguish of getting one's teeth pull out!I prefer simple daily life topics to the usual pseudo-philosophic wannabe hxc-metal topics about epic subjects written by some long-haired trekkie getting inspired whilst being high and playing magic or dungeons and dragons!!*just kidding, I love clich├ęs*
Listening through this proper piece of work will save you the 10 bucks for an E, LISTEN TO THIS ShhhT, ITS HOT!!
Oooh yeah, and before I forget it, orchestra of wolves isn't in my opinion a critic about date rape etc. , I think it's just a fun macho song about getting laid! Rough and honest, thats how we like it!!Fuck for fun!! Just listen to the lyrics and you'll get it! This ain't got nothing to do with rohypnol!
Can't wait to see those guys live!! Just hope they'll burn the stage!! I'm gonna be in a f777ing frenzy!!!WHHOOOOOOHHHOOOOWWW

pogostick1
August 30th 2007


42 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i saw them again at reading festival. they still got it going. what a great live band.

YHB
September 13th 2007


45 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Just got this, my best mate's been banging on about them for the best part of nine months so I finally caved in and got the special edition. The non-special edition is worth 3.5, but all the extra stuff on the bonus disc is worth another point :D Live and new tracks, plus that Black Flag cover is excellent.

Justanothernimrod
September 13th 2007


478 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

heh oh yeah, I never reviewed this a year ago and always meant to. Think of the scene points I missed out on.

Good review though, pretty much my thoughts. Out of interest are you from the US or UK?

It seems to me that the majority of people that slag this band only do so because they're popular.

Justanothernimrod
September 13th 2007


478 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

oh, I wrote a sound off, fair enough.

pogostick1
September 26th 2007


42 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

hey thanks guys

im from the UK
---------

also i have slightly re-evaluated my view on "i promise this wont hurt" after going to the dentist earlier on this morning and being told that i had to pay a horrendous sum of money.

Justanothernimrod
September 26th 2007


478 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Ah ok awesome, haha I missed the "Reading Fest." comment. I saw them at Leeds, was fantastic to see such a passionate band still perform so well and enjoy themselves despite being my first venture with them on an actual stage (I'd only seen them on basement floors before then), but then I suppose they were fresh off Warped Tour so they'd be used to it by now.

This is indeed a truly riveting punk-rock record which people don't give enough credit because they're popular.

craigy2
October 2nd 2007


551 Comments


weren't they great at reading?! i was terrified before their set, convinced i was going to take a huge beating...which i did pretty much, but they were incredible! please wrote some more reviews pogo... we need to represent the reading festival forums on here!



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy