Mayhem
Deathcrush


3.0
good

Review

by K. McNichols USER (16 Reviews)
May 12th, 2007 | 115 replies | 14,636 views


Release Date: 1987 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Though far from amazing, Deathcrush harks back to the crude beginnings of the Norwegian black metal scene that has become infamous today.

4 of 4 thought this review was well written

At one point or another, the average black metal fan has heard of Mayhem. If you have, you know that Mayhem are notorious for the havoc that seemed to engulf them during the early days of their career, as well as the extreme form of metal they pioneered in the late 80's. The Deathcrush EP is the debut effort of the band, issued in 1987. Although Mayhem were one of the first bands to have embarked on the path of the primitive sound of the Norwegian Black Metal movement of the 90's, it is clear on Deathcrush that some elements of death metal are present throughout the album. These death metal nuances are most visibly incarnated in the riffage of Euronymous, as well as the gore-laden, gruesome lyrics.

Mayhem had set out to release music that would distinguish themselves from the popular death metal acts of the time, which the band had come to despise. Of course it can be expected as this was one of the first true albums of its kind that they had yet to fully develop the sound they sought. Thus, the death metal influence. It is clear on the band's next studio effort, the landmark De Mysteriis Dom Sathanas, that Mayhem had accomplished what they had originally intended, as well as gained the sound they were after. As mentioned previously, the lyrics are a big reason this album leans toward the death metal side. Mostly they focus on gore, and it strikes my curiousity as to whether or not Mayhem's lyrics were an influence on Cannibal Corpse. For example, Deathcrush's title track. (You tell me what Cannibal Corpse song it reminds you of...)

Demonic laughter your cremation
Your lungs gasp for air but are filled with blood
A sudden crack as I crushed your skull


The Music:
Mayhem were never known for virtuosity. As far as the band's individual performance, singers Maniac and Messiah do a good job. Messiah is the better of the two by far as he gives a much more manic performance. Both vocalists' use of harsh rasps and screams accent the music well, although I prefer Dead, their legendary successor. Manheim's main objective seems to be as fast and chaotic as possible behind the drums, however his slower work is found on Chainsaw Gutsfuck and adds a sinister feel to the song. The only track the percussion actually stands out on is Silvester Anfang, in which all Manheim succeeds in doing is annoy the listener. Necrobutcher's bass is deliberately turned down so it is for the most part inaudible. Expect heavy guitars riffing under indecipherable lyrics about rotting corpses and entrails. Most people complain of a lack of talent when it comes to black metal bands (as well as many other kinds of metal bands) such as Mayhem. Personally I don't listen to Mayhem or Darkthrone for awe-inspiring solos or catchy choruses, I listen to them for the aggression, chaos, and well, mayhem. The music is raw, energetic, memorable enough to inspire headbanging.

Overall:
A track-by-track review would be pointless considering this EP is a mere 18 minutes long. In my opinion it stands up to Mayhem's studio follow up in all categoriest except length and complexity. As a whole, Deathcrush has its ups and downs. If you are attracted to early black metal, this is necessary to have in your collection. If not, turn another stone. However, some solid advice I can give for a person of either of the two aforementioned groups: Don't waste your time and money buying a $20 import online unless you really like this. A hard copy will be tough to find at an affordable price for such a brief release, but if you want to get this without spending too much I recommend buying it on iTunes ($5.94).

Pros:
-Great riffs
-Vocals (Maniac on tracks 2,3,4,5/Messiah on 4 and 7)
-Production is not unlistenable (picky listeners only)

Cons:
-Too much filler: Silvester Anfang, (Weird) Manheim, the odd "Outro" track
-Less substance than De Mysteriis Dom Sathanas
-Very Brief

Recommended Tracks:
Pure F*cking Armageddon
Chainsaw Gutsf*ck



Recent reviews by this author
Sleep Terror ParaphileForeign Objects The Undiscovered Numbers And Colors
Candlemass NightfallVader The Art Of War
Cannibal Corpse Gallery of SuicideObituary Cause of Death
user ratings (324)
Chart.
3.7
great
other reviews of this album
Justus (3.5)
...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Altmer
May 13th 2007



5652 Comments


Mayhem doesn't appeal to me, but good review.

kalkal50
May 13th 2007



2386 Comments


Awesome review. Few syntax problems towards the end but we can work on that :P You've always been more concise and wit than me and I admire that; I'm a lousy reviewer. I have never heard of these guys but I'm going for De Mysteriis Dom Sathanas to delve into a better start.

rattlehead42147
May 13th 2007



1345 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

thanks kal, don't make me blush now :D
what did you mean by syntax problems? i'll be happy to fix them

try de mysteriis, my favorite song is funeral fog, i don't think youll love it, but it's a 4 in my bookThis Message Edited On 05.13.07

kalkal50
May 13th 2007



2386 Comments


Of course it can be expected, as this was one of the first true albums of its kind that they had yet to fully develop the sound they sought


That's one I think, but here its rather a logical connector. It should be "where/on which they had yet to fully develop the sound they sought". Correct me if i'm wrong.

As far as the band's individual performance Maniac, the singer does a decent job, he's average, I prefer Dead or Attila his successors


Too many commas I guess, should be a full stop in there somewhere. Sorry for picking them out, but I was desperate to find some constructive criticism, and this was just about it. Well who am I to question such a great review ;) I got the mysteriis album, so gonna knock myself out now.


rattlehead42147
May 13th 2007



1345 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

ok kal.... if you have nothing better to do than to criticize reviews then shame on you...

just kidding :p always looking to improve
I'm not going to lie, this review had even more commas then it does now when i first started, it was one of the things i didn't like about the review
Btw, have fun with the vox on de mysteriis, they are very "strange' at times

FUUUUNERRRALLLLYYYAALLLL........... FOG!This Message Edited On 05.13.07

kalkal50
May 13th 2007



2386 Comments


lol thanks

feel free to criticize my review... anyway "peste noire" is a great band i looked it up today




Epilogue
June 28th 2007



1555 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This review is better than mine...good work

rattlehead42147
June 28th 2007



1345 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i was just kidding about my comment on your review... thanks for the vote though

Epilogue
June 28th 2007



1555 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I know, but this still needs recognition

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
August 24th 2007



16013 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

They have a copy of this for $24 at my local record store, I just may buy this.

Digging: Katatonia - Kocytean

Angmar
August 24th 2007



2689 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

$24 is a rip-off.

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
August 24th 2007



16013 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

$24 is a rip-off.


It might be, but this is an Imported album so the cost will be much higher. My copy of "The Black Waltz" by Kalmah cost me $30 because it was an import.

Angmar
August 24th 2007



2689 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Do you just stick no buying all your stuff? Or do you download at all? :p

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
August 24th 2007



16013 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I buy it, I hate piracy. I also like having the actual album case because I like looking at the band pics and reading the lyrics. I like to give my money to the bands I enjoy, so they can make more music.This Message Edited On 08.24.07

Willie
Moderator
August 24th 2007



15774 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

I buy it, I hate piracy. I also like having the actual album case because I like looking at the band pics and reading the lyrics. I like to give my money to the bands I enjoy, so they can make more music.
Hell yeah... more people need to start thinking this way.This Message Edited On 08.24.07

Digging: Teramaze - Esoteric Symbolism

Knuckles
August 24th 2007



74 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I buy every single thing I can, but if I can't find it, I ask for it. I got this through sharing.

kalkal50
September 18th 2007



2386 Comments


I really enjoy this album, and I really want to get as it is quite a trademark in Black Metal.

rattlehead42147
September 20th 2007



1345 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i own dmds now, i traded my friend diabolical fullmoon mysticism for it. i like dmds much more than this but yeah this is still a great cd. i gave it a 3 only in absolute honesty of the musicianship, songwriting and singing. i may raise my personal rating to 3.5 though.

kalkal50
September 20th 2007



2386 Comments


yo friend got served, unless it was only a temporary trade.. dmds is growing on me a lot

LifeInABox
September 20th 2007



3707 Comments


DMDS is 5 star.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy