Norther
Mirror of Madness


4.5
superb

Review

by A.K. USER (66 Reviews)
January 16th, 2005 | 39 replies


Release Date: 2003 | Tracklist


Background Info
Norther is a Finnish band very similar to Kalmah and CoB. It is unique also of course but is really your typical Finnish metal band (aka very good).

I picked this up a few days ago because I had heard a lot about these guys. I thought they would be a CoB clone and while they sound similar they are not so similar that it sounds like the same band. Norther employs the double-axe-attack a lot more efficiently than CoB. Almost every song on this cd has a solo by both guitarists. The melodies are extremely well conceived incorporating multiple guitars and a keyboard at once.(Of Darkness and Light, Mirror of Madness are two great examples).

Aside from the dazzling guitar work, the album is also solid in it's drumming and vocals. The bass is not really heard that well. It's usually playing along with the rhythm of the double pedal. The drumming is pretty precise, no sloppy fills, constant double pedal. Give credit to the vocalist too, he can't compare to Alexi, but he too does his fair share of lead guitar and singing at the same time. (As in Midnight Walker)

Really kick *** CD. Buy it if you see it! Especially if you are into CoB or/and Kalmah. Best CD I've heard in a while. And the CD comes with a video of Mirror of Madness.

Stand Out Tracks:
Blackhearted
Betrayed
Midnight Walker
Mirror of Madness

This CD gets a 4.5/5 because a few songs could use a tiny amount of tweaking but this CD is almost flawless. (To me, and I’m not the most critical person in the world)



Recent reviews by this author
Fanisk NoontideEred Wethrin All Song Ceased
Forest Foredooming the Hope for EternityEmyn Muil Túrin Turambar Dagnir Glaurunga
Deafheaven SunbatherKreuzweg Ost Iron Avantgarde
user ratings (194)
Chart.
4.1
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Dead_Trench
August 20th 2005


159 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Norther are awesome. I'll pick this up if I see it.

Shadows
Moderator
August 20th 2005


2530 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This an amazing album. Norther has more of a cold, Scandinavian feel than any other power metal band. Great melodies and a great atmosphere.

Dead_Trench
September 30th 2005


159 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I really enjoy Norther. I'd say your recommended tracks are about right.
I enjoy the keyboard solo in Blackhearted.

spoon_of_grimbo
November 7th 2005


2241 Comments


i heard this in my local record store and i thought it was pretty good, although not as full of guitar wizardry as i was expecting after hearing about the CoB comparisons... still, maybe i just heard the simpler songs? might have to check this out though.

btw, who are kalmah? iv seen loadsa ppl mentioning them on here and the forums, but iv not heard anything of them yet?

Shadows
Moderator
November 7th 2005


2530 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Kalmah isn't as good as Norther or CoB in my opinion. They're a Finnish power metal band just like the other two.

This is a sweet album!This Message Edited On 11.27.05

Dethtrasher
November 27th 2005


2211 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

You should get Norther's cover on Megadeth's Tornado Of Souls. It sounds freakin awesome except for the solo.

Good Review buy the way.

Aakon_Keetreh
December 24th 2005


448 Comments


i really like norther, but IMO CoB is a lot better

Eakflanderyof
November 16th 2006


2143 Comments


To Shadowsfallen: I think Kalmah is much better than both Norther and Children of Bodom. Kalmah are just better songwriters in my opinion. Kalmah's music is also way more atmospheric. Kalmah is less wanking than Children of Bodom, but their riffs are better and the solos are better.

The only two Norther songs that I really like a lot are Mirror of Madness and Death Unlimited. Death Unlimited's solo is awesome.

ScelusNefas
January 13th 2007


274 Comments


just bouht it for a friend....never heard it though...


SynGates
May 22nd 2007


2467 Comments


poopThis Message Edited On 02.23.09

FenderUk
August 9th 2007


96 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

This album is so fucking Awesome, your standout tracks are very good although i would of put Cry in aswell,

awesome review!

Yazz_Flute
November 28th 2007


18847 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This album is better then i thought. Im kinda caught between a 4 and a 4.5

My favorite are the title track, Dead, and Midnight Walker. The into to "Of Darkness and Light" is phenomenal as well.


Digging: Kenn Nardi - Dancing With the Past

FR33L0RD
February 19th 2008


1464 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I didnt knew them until yesterday, i will get album by them soon.

FenderUsa
April 13th 2008


582 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I cant stop listening to this album, so awesome

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
February 23rd 2009


8387 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

sweeeeeeeeeeet album. Not a 5 for me but a 4 does it justice IMO. The first two tracks are really really kickass.

growabeardallover
April 12th 2009


18 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

One of my favorite albums of all time. Midnight walker is a true masterpiece. Good job guys.

KILL
April 12th 2009


72086 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yea great album

Digging: Steve Hackett - Out of the Tunnel's Mouth

Rugter32
April 12th 2009


754 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

great album is great

kemenyadi
September 6th 2009


8 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I love it!

"You're seeking perfection,
but your disillusions are
leading to destruction
You're bleeding for salvation,
but you can't see,
that you are the damnation, itself."

Truly amazing

kemenyadi
September 6th 2009


8 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I really hope Petri rejoins the band one day



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy