Maylene and the Sons of Disaster
II


4.0
excellent

Review

by NeverFading14 USER (7 Reviews)
April 9th, 2007 | 71 replies


Release Date: 2007 | Tracklist


Maylene and the sons of Disaster is a southern rock/hardcore band. They formed in 2004 birmingham, alabama. Their last self titled cd was quite the success in the southern-hardcore scene. You know that scene, the one where all the kids with black gelled hair wear plaid shirts and think their suddenly southern. The scene that all the metalheads hate. Yeah. Well Dallas taylor and the rest of the guys are back with another cd titled "II"...is it just me or do they think their led zeppelin now? Oh well. I s'pose I'll do this review track-by-track.

1. Memories Of The Grove - we start the cd off with a..what is that? a SOUTHERN guitar solo! The last cd went more towards the shred solo approach which always confused me if your going to be a southern band why not do southern solos. Well they fixed that. as soon as you hear this first cd you know Maylene have improved on everything, from instruments to vocals to lyrics. All the riffs on this song are southern style. Dallas' vocals have gotten a bit softer, but sound even more aggressive some how. this song has about..three guitar solos, a catchy whisper-chanted chorus which is just great.
4.5/5

2. Dry The River - I think this is the band's first single off the cd. starts off with some african sounding drums, and yes. ANOTHER guitar solo. Lynard skynard style and all. Most of the song's riffs are chug-styled. This is definatly the most cliche song on the cd, catchy. but cliche. probubly the popiest sounding song too, i belive it's about a relationship. This song is good the first few times you hear it, but after that it's one of the songs you'll end up skipping
2.5/5

3. Plenty strong and plenty wrong - this song just screams "Southern bad-ass". The intro, i think for the first time in maylene history makes use of their three guitarists. southern harmonized riff which makesyou want to wear over-alls. Then we go into the song, medium paced aggressive style. catchy chorus, short song. all round' good song
4/5

4. Darkest Of Kin - Ohh, we get our first chug riff. sounds like a song that should've been on the last cd. Full of breakdowns. no chorus. Just aggression. Nothing quite special about this song. a bit of a filler.
3.5/5

5. Raised by the tide - we've got a GREAT southern riff. whipping out some sick pinched harmonics. The verse is chugg-ish you'll find yourself headbanging to. then we get to the chorus which is definatly a texas sing along. im sure this will be a crowd favorite. the entire song just flows togather perfectly. definatly a suggested track
5/5

6. Wylie - Somthing up-beat. semi-fast paced with heavier vocals. MORE breakdowns, catchy chorus. its a bit like the last track just more..aggressive. not much else to say about it
4/5

7. Death is an alchaholic - This is already a fan favorite song. A bit more of a melodic chorus approach. first verse kind of sounds a bit forced. the chorus kicks in, no build up really though. the 2nd verse is more of an angry hardcore type o' thing. No guitar solo though, only compaint with this one
4/5

8. Everyone Needs A Hasting - Okay, this song sounds like all the other songs. great riffs and solos, but definatly a filler track. the drum beat actually never changes. I definatly always skip this one
2/5

9 . Don't Ever Cross A Trowell - This is already another fan favorite. Dallas' vocals sound verry southern in this one. the chorus is him yelling "Moma didn't raise no fool", followed by harmonized palm muted riffs. we get a decent breakdown at the end of the song
4.5/5

10. Tales Of The Runaways - Maylene actually wrote a..COUNTRY SONG!! and a GREAT one too. Banjos and slide sand everything!! Has a very atmospheric sound to it as Dallas tells a story with laid back clean vocals. not exactly catchy, but good to lay back and chill out to.
4.5/5

11. The Day Hell Broke Loose At Sicard Hollow - and instrumental to end the cd. more banjo and slow guitar. depressing sound to it. Ususally i don't enjoy insturmental songs unless their Nevermore or somthing shred-tastic like that. but this one is very pretty and enjoyable.
3.5/5


Overall - MUCHHH improvement from maylene and the sons of disaster's last cd. All the riffs are completly southern. Maylene has lost that scene sound to them. Scene kids will definatly not like this cd, everything about it is much more original. this is a southern classic.



Recent reviews by this author
Becoming The Archetype The Physics Of FireThousand Foot Krutch Set It Off (Remastered)
Emery The Question Re-ReleaseHouse Of Heroes House Of Heroes
Project 86 ...And the Rest Will FollowmewithoutYou Brother, Sister
user ratings (397)
Chart.
3.7
great
other reviews of this album
BearInTheAir (4)
Maylene & The Sons Of Disaster's second album drives the band even further into southern rock territ...


Comments:Add a Comment 
NeverFading14
April 9th 2007


380 Comments


...Not one of my better reviews

Tyler
Emeritus
April 9th 2007


7926 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Just started reading it and I already have a problem with it. A few, actually.

The scene that all the metalheads hate. Yeah. Well Dallas taylor and the rest of the guys are back with another cd titled "II"...is it just me or do they think their led zeppelin now? Oh well. I s'pose I'll do this review track-by-track.


1. Don't assume all metalheads hate this scene.
2. Do they think "They're" Led Zeppelin.

we start the cd off with a..what is that? a SOUTHERN guitar solo! The last cd went more towards the shred solo approach which always confused me if your going to be a southern band why not do southern solos


The last album was in no way shred oriented, and the beginning of that track is not a solo, it's a relatively simplistic lead, and, if you want to get technical, the song starts off with drums and nothing else.

Overall - MUCHHH improvement from maylene and the sons of disaster's last cd. All the riffs are completly southern. Maylene has lost that scene sound to them. Scene kids will definatly not like this cd, everything about it is much more original. this is a southern classic.


They never really had a "scene" sound to begin with. It was always southern metal rooted in hardcore, but it never struck me as 'scene' in anyway. The hardcore roots are still found on this album, they just paired it with a bigger emphasis on rock as opposed to metal. Once again, you shouldn't make the assumption that someone will "definitely" dislike this. In fact, it's safe to say that the "scene" will automatically jump on anything Dallas Taylor related, regardless of merit.

I think you missed the mark on this one. I dont think I can vote for this, sorry. I won't neg it though, at least not yet. Please run this through a spell checker, because you did a track-by-track and yet you actually spelt a track wrong; it's alcOholic. This Message Edited On 04.09.07

Confessed2005
April 9th 2007


3314 Comments


The band name is slightly...well odd to be honest.

Review was very average. But work on it. I'm not going to neg it though.

Pyramidman
April 9th 2007


1340 Comments


the cd is a concept album about the fall of (i belive) Ma Barker, some famous southern criminal

the tBt could use a bit more depth, but besides that nothing here is worth negging, and il probably be checking this out

Tyler
Emeritus
April 9th 2007


7926 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Actually, this CD isn't a concept album. Their name is based off a famous southern criminal, though.

TheDownSyndrome
April 9th 2007


14 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I recently bought this CD. I haven't decided if I like it or not. It's a lot different than your typical "metal" CD.

NeverFading14
April 9th 2007


380 Comments


Probubly because it's not metal.

Tyler
Emeritus
April 9th 2007


7926 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Uh, yeah it is.This Message Edited On 04.09.07

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
April 9th 2007


16089 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

It's metal k?
Slightly less enjoyable than their first album, but still pretty tight nonetheless.

Pyramidman
April 9th 2007


1340 Comments


Cocaine it is actually a concept album, it ties in with their first album and it pertains to the rise and fall of Ma Barker

Thor
April 9th 2007


10201 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This is a good album, and it's certainly fun to listen to. The first two songs are AWESOME. It's just too repetitive for me.

NeverFading14
April 10th 2007


380 Comments


Yes, I probubly should've mentioned that in my review. The cd does all sound the same the first few listens. Plus the drum beat isn't that much different from each track

dreamlessblood
April 14th 2007


8 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I noticed in the CD booklet, for the eleventh track there are lyrics but the song is just an instrumental.

Anyone shed any light on why this is so? Or have I missed something drastically obvious?

TheDownSyndrome
April 17th 2007


14 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Why doesn't Dallas Taylor sound anything like the brutal vocalist from the old Underoath I'm so used to? I wasn't expecting some blood curdling screams, but he seriously just sounds like a redneck.

Edit: This is a nice album. "Memories of the Grove" and "Dry The River" are awesome songs. I also like the acoustic songs at the end of the album.This Message Edited On 04.19.07

LifeInABox
April 21st 2007


3709 Comments


this sounds kinda cool, i'm gonna check it out

NeverFading14
May 1st 2007


380 Comments


I like dallas' vocals on this cd a lot more tan his old underoath crap. Where he sounds like a scene kid being burned alive, not in the brutal way. the emo bleeding rose way.

Tyler
Emeritus
May 1st 2007


7926 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

What the hell does that even mean?

NeverFading14
May 1st 2007


380 Comments


..Geez i just read over my review and noticed how awful it was. if i hadn't heard this cd and just read this review i'd have no idea how it sounds

RyanHannawayy
June 26th 2007


8 Comments


Cocaine messed you up NeverFading14

The Review really didnt impress me at all cocaine basically said what i was going to say.

You really love using the word scene. Maylene was never a scene band at all. retard

NeverFading14
August 5th 2007


380 Comments


Look at their fans.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy