Glassjaw
Kiss Kiss Bang Bang


3.0
good

Review

by Lee Carlson USER (26 Reviews)
April 4th, 2007 | 24 replies


Release Date: 1997 | Tracklist

Review Summary: For those of you that though any Glassjaw release couldn't be just average, think agian. While this release is not near as strong as any new(er) Glassjaw material, it gives you something heavy to listen to, and gives you a taste of Glassjaw's roots.

One of Glassjaw’s lesser known works is the “Kiss Kiss Bang Bang EP (KKBB).” This record came out in 1997 and if it wasn’t re-released it would not have made itself known since there was only around 1000 copies made for the original pressing. Although this KKBB is not near as strong as “Everything You Ever Wanted To Know About Silence,” or “Worship & Tribute,” it still shows the roots of Glassjaw and what their original sound sounded like.

I own the re-release and the recording quality is fantastic and even though it was self released it definitely sounds great and is not as bad as say their “Impossible Shot” release. I haven’t heard the original recordings of this EP but I can guarantee that the re-release obviously sounds better and would be a better buy, and is also a lot easier to find then the original release. KKBB is mostly anger, like “Everything You Ever Wanted To Know About Silence.” Black Coffee the opener is no exception. It hits you full force with Daryl Palumbo yelling and power chords and cymbals clashing in the background, and the lyrics tell the whole story (as they should.) The final lyrics sums up the whole song, “Pretending it hurts you/I will take what's mine/And I will try to stay mundane.” The song finishes off with the same power chords and drum beats as the beginning, and prepares you for what lies ahead. The Snow Veil is the shortest song on the EP, and is the most average. Although Palumbo’s voice makes me know it’s Glassjaw, if you took away his vocals it doesn’t really resemble Glassjaw at all. It’s a mediocre song, and is one of the worst Glassjaw songs IMO. A song that Glassjaw must really like a lot (since it can still be found in their set lists) is Star Above My Bed it opens up with some guitar feedback and some whispering and then the song kicks right in. The song almost sounds like a cross between the metalcore song, and a nu-metal song. It is odd because although it does sound very good, it does not sound like traditional Glassjaw. One of the best songs on the EP is Pink Roses And The Graveyard. It is a very, very heavy song. Although they are completely different songs, the first guitar riff sounds like that of “Pink Roses,” off of Glassjaw’s “Worship & Tribute,” which is interesting considering the similarity in track titles. This track also sounds like it could be called Nu-Metal but there are still some metalcore and some even straight forward metal elements that keep it from being Nu-Metal. The final track on the EP is Vermont Connection. It is the longest track on the record clocking in at 7:12 and is the closest thing to a epic you’re gonna get. Not as great as the their epic song “Everything You Ever Wanted To Know About Silence,” but it gets the job done. Very powerful song, that sounds more like “EYEWTKAS,” than the rest, which is perfect cause it gets you a sense of Glassjaw’s transition to their newer sound.

Overall, “Kiss Kiss Bang Bang,” is a decent release from Glassjaw, and while it is not phenomenal like “EYWTKAS,” or “W&T” it gives you a better respect for the musicianship and hard work that Glassjaw put on their later releases. This EP will probably not be accepted by a listener just getting into Glassjaw, this seems as though only the fans of their old material will enjoy this.

3 / 5

Recommended Tracks:
Black Coffee
Star Above My Bed
Vermont Connection

PROs
Great vocals
Decent song structures

CONs
Not near as technical as later releases
The musicianship isn’t as strong.



Recent reviews by this author
Direct Hit! Brainless GodRVIVR Dirty Water
Jawbreaker Dear YouTitle Fight The Last Thing You Forget
Ceremony (USA-CA) RuinedWell, Hello. Summer Sessions EP
user ratings (136)
Chart.
3.3
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
guitarplaya91
April 4th 2007


485 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I don't really like Track by Tracks, but I figured this EP was so short, it was the smartest thing to do. I cannot believe no one reveiwed this yet.This Message Edited On 04.04.07

IsItLuck?
Emeritus
April 4th 2007


4927 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5


One of Glassjaw’s lesser known works is the “Kiss Kiss Bang Bang EP (KKBB).”


I cannot believe no one reveiwed this yet.



....?

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
April 4th 2007


16089 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

There are tons of glassjaw fanboys on the site, so even though its relatively unknown you'd figure it would be reviewed by now.
Really bad album saved by Palumbo slightly.

StrizzMatik
April 4th 2007


3196 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

LOL, it's not that bad, especially considering Daryl was like 18 when it was recorded back in 1997, when virtually no one was playing post-hardcore. And btw, "Star Above My Bed" owns ass everywhere, although the newer line-up plays it waaaaaay better (thanks to Durijah on drums). And did I mention Justin Beck plays the drums on this?

Digging: Finch (US) - Back to Oblivion

Concubine
April 4th 2007


333 Comments


[QUOTE=StrizzMatik]in 1997, when virtually no one was playing post-hardcore[/QUOTE]

lol what

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
April 5th 2007


16089 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

lol its because from first to last wasnt playing yet obviously
I think he means the indie/metalcore tinged post hardcore shizz.

StrizzMatik
April 5th 2007


3196 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

I mean post-hardcore wasn't as prevalent then. Compared to how it is now, it can certainly be said that it's almost night and day. It certainly didn't have the exposure, saturation and popularity it enjoyed until Refused, At The Drive-In, Glassjaw and Thrice got big. Sure post-hardcore was around way before then from bands like Fugazi, Drive Like Jehu, Quicksand, etc., but it never broke public consciousness until the newer bands broke out with albums like Shape Of Punk To Come, Relationship Of Command, The Illusion Of Safety and EYEWTKAS. And GJ's brand of it was far more inventive than a lot of their peers even then.

By the way, From First To Last and their terriblly prepubescent frontman huff a bag of dongs. Way to assume about my tastes, kthnx you've been great.

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
April 5th 2007


16089 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Hahah dude I was joking about FFtL. I happen to think they're catchy and enjoyable, but whatever.
And the difference between what you said there and what you said earlier is like the difference between night and day. What you said just now makes sense; post-hardcore was not a popular genre back then. But you said virtually no one was playing it back then, which is a lie.

StrizzMatik
April 5th 2007


3196 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

That's why I retracted the statement... I had meant to say it was not as prevalent. I'm fully aware post-hardcore was around in 1997, but in comparing the scene of now and then, there's a zillion more bands out there now. And post-hardcore was hardly popular enough back then to warrant anything more than a niche genre, compared to the mainstream saturation today. So it's more of an exaggeration than a lie. The point was GJ was one of the main influences in the rise of post-hardcore into the standardized style of today, and their modern sound developed, more or less, on KKBB.

BTW if anyone likes Glassjaw, be sure to check out Stillsuit... excellent NYC post-hardcore that influenced GJ tremendously. Manny was bassist for them as well.

DeadToPain
April 5th 2007


694 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

sons of abraham are awesome too, it was the guitarists' other band. glassjaw actually stole alot of the riffs on EYEWTKAS.

Concubine
April 5th 2007


333 Comments


Stillsuit is awesome

Can't find any of their stuff anywhere though

StrizzMatik
April 6th 2007


3196 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

It's on iTunes, and maybe slsk.

StrizzMatik
July 27th 2007


3196 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Just wanted to give a shout out to the bomb-diggityness of "Star Above My Bed". I've heard rumors it's gonna be re-recorded for the new record.

IsItLuck?
Emeritus
October 31st 2007


4927 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

you probably heard that rumor because of the fact they have been playing it live. (december of '06 they played it)

HenchmanOfSanta
June 16th 2010


1870 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I actually like this slightly better than the debut. It has all of EYEWtKAS's good elements and none of the stupid filler songs with Palumbo shrieking poorly and unintelligibly.

Digging: Godflesh - A World Lit Only By Fire

StrizzMatik
December 4th 2010


3196 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Just wanted to say that Stars >>>>>>>>>>>>> Star Above My Bed

EDIT: Statement above me is hilariously wrong

dcha
January 21st 2011


990 Comments


True dat. The new Stars is probably my favorite Glassjaw song.

ohfoxxxycole
March 23rd 2011


4353 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

this isnt very good but its not bad neither

DeathByAstonishment
August 13th 2012


269 Comments


This ain't too shabby, but the album definitely gets better through the latter half. First couple songs seem kind of awkwardly arranged.

Azn.
March 17th 2013


5612 Comments


that mispelling of "again" in the tagline is messing with my head



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy