AFI
The Days of the Phoenix


4.0
excellent

Review

by Buzz Killington USER (10 Reviews)
March 30th, 2007 | 13 replies | 14,024 views


Release Date: 2001 | Tracklist

Review Summary: It's no All Hallow's EP, but it's still worth a listen.

0 of 1 thought this review was well written

This EP has three songs. Two from The Art of Drowning and a track that was originally on this EP, but then made it to the Retrospective. The artwork is the exact same art as The Art of Drowning. It was merely taken from the back of the booklet and enlarged it so it would fill the whole page.

Days of the Phoenix

Whoops! I forgot to mention that this was on the Retrospective as well! Whatever. This song starts with high string strumming and fairly decent drum work. The song started to progress ( guess you could say) when Adam does a simple snare roll. Some of the vocals in this song are kinda strange...

"...The figure on the bed, all dressed up in
roses calling beckoning to sleep... offering a
dream. The words were mystical as purring
animals..."


...but still interesting nonetheless. My verdict? 4/5

A Winter's Tale

This song grew on me. I didn't think much of it at first, but then I got hooked. I was skepticle at first because of the average guitar work at the start, but to make up for it, Davey did some good singing as usual and the chorus is great with great background singing:

Forever walking through December...Forever wandering together."

This is probably my crazy imagination, but "forever walking through December" sounds like a wink of Decemberunderground.

Almost an AFI classic. 4.5/5. The only thing holding it back from a 5 is the faintly interesting bridge. Bass and drums with Davey repeating the lyrics "If only for one night, if only for one night, if only for one night together." Meh.

Wester

Another great song from The Art of Drowning. This song is fast-paced with skillful guitar playing, drum beats that makes playing this song on the drums look like speedy weight-lifting and some enjoyable bass lines too. And as always, phenominal backup singing. The interlude is so well done!

"I can feel you dreaming of me and the time when our steps are retraced and I creep through the twilight to that hidden place..."

One of the songs that made this band admirable. Therefore, I give it a 5/5.



Recent reviews by this author
Cannibal Corpse The BleedingAFI AFI
Novembers Doom The Novella ReservoirMetallica Some Kind of Monster
Our Lady Peace A DecadeOpeth Ghost Reveries
user ratings (56)
Chart.
3.8
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Bfhurricane
March 30th 2007



6194 Comments


Days of the Phoenix and Wester are both essential AFI songs. I've never heard A Winter's Tale though. Maybe Ill download it sometime

guitarplaya91
March 30th 2007



484 Comments


Good review. I don't like track by tracks, but since the EP is only three songs it's better that way. Pretty good release.

muchtallerthanu
March 30th 2007



648 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

^^thanks

Track-by-track is almost always the appropriate way to review an album with like 3 or 4 songs on it.

I'm not very good at that overall stuff. That's why I do track-by-track reviews. Hopefully, I can learn how to write a fairly decent overall review.

This Message Edited On 03.30.07This Message Edited On 03.31.07

spoon_of_grimbo
March 31st 2007



2240 Comments


pretty good review! i'm suprised "a winter's tale" didn't get onto the art of drowning actually, it's one of my favourite AFI songs. fun to play on bass too.

smokersdieyounger
March 31st 2007



672 Comments


This review doesnt tell me anythng about the songs, just if they are good, and the only description of the music is the pace and a comparison to another AFI song, touch it up a bit, with more description.

indietrash
March 31st 2007



85 Comments


an okay review... but it doesn't really say all that much about the songs.
A Winter's Tale is my favourite song after Hearts Frozen Solid, Thawed Once More by the Spring of Rage, Despair and Hopelessnes btw. awesome song. so's the other two appeearing on this EP.
gotta love A Fire Inside.

LifeInABox
April 1st 2007



3707 Comments


Amazing song, Days of the Phoenix

muchtallerthanu
April 3rd 2007



648 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

A Winter's Tale is also amazing.

muchtallerthanu
April 9th 2007



648 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

There's another EP after this one. It's 336. The songs are:

Now the World (this one made it on STS bonus tracks)

Reiver's Music (It's a cross of Wester and Dancing Through Sunday)This Message Edited On 04.09.07

666numberofthebeast
April 12th 2007



5 Comments


gosh i 4got about A Winter's Tale. After i got Retrospective it was just not listened to that much but its a great song. Days of the Phoenix....Meh. Wester is a fantabulous. it was my favorite song off Art of Drowning for a while. That album rules

muchtallerthanu
April 21st 2007



648 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It's good. I like Black Sails better tho.

Pizza
April 21st 2007



687 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

All three songs on this are amazing. I highly doubt anyone here actually has this ep or is looking to purchase it thoughThis Message Edited On 04.21.07

muchtallerthanu
April 21st 2007



648 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I actually own it.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy