DJ Muggs Vs GZA
Grandmasters


5.0
classic

Review

by HexInfinity USER (1 Reviews)
March 21st, 2007 | 20 replies


Release Date: 2005 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Hip Hop has just been checkmated. Amazing beats and amazing lyrics equate to an amazing album.

GZA has always been the guy who flowed intelligent over RZA's beautifully jarring beats on the now legendary album Liquid Swords. DJ Muggs has always been the guy in Cypress Hill who made the beats to their solid genre busting debut. Individually, these two had been shadowed by their own greatness; nothing they produced could ever reach that plateau they had made for themselves. Even if they did, critics could just state that it is "nothing compared to..." This occured with GZA's Legend of the Liquid Swords and with DJ Muggs endeavors after his initial success with Cypress Hill. Then this album arrived.

The theme of this album is chess. Chess is strategical. Throughout the album, as it flows from a prophetic beginning intro, which advises one to return to the "classical heritage," to an electronic organ dancing on top of a funky bass riff as violins sing in the background, it becomes apparent that great Hip Hop itself is a strategical game.

The beat must be well planned, well choreographed to allow the MC to flow with the beat, not against it. In "Unstoppable Threats" DJ Muggs brings the bass in with a vengence, mixing up this old school instrument with Gothic pianos that Dracula would have loved to have playing in his castle. Those two compliment each other; they create the walls in a auditory room in which you can cripwalk. The way in which the bass and treble mix in the beat department make them hypnotic, dangerous, and rewindable. Nearly every beat on the album makes you wonder how it entranced you.

GZA flows on these with what made his nickname "The Genius." "Exploitation Of Mistakes" discusses the story of a foiled murder. "Queen's Gambit" explores how GZA came to end up in a sexual scenario with multiple women. "All In Together Now" is a final goodbye to an old friend. With every song, he states something, and makes illicit the story behind his statement. His ability to do this while controlling the beat and the words is what drives the meaning of Grandmasters.

With much strategy, GZA penned the stories that make the imagination flow. With much strategy, DJ Muggs provides the Gothic gangsta sound that allows one to plan and imagine. With much strategy, DJ Muggs and GZA show why they are Grandmasters.


user ratings (52)
Chart.
4
excellent
other reviews of this album
Maximilian Harkness (4.5)
GZA gets Muggs and makes the best album of his career since Liquid Swords...


Comments:Add a Comment 
mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
March 21st 2007


17920 Comments


Great great first review, very well-written.

I want this now.

pulseczar
March 21st 2007


2385 Comments


Very good review. I've only heard Liquid Swords from GZA but I've been meaning to check out Legend of the Liquid Sword or this. Two Wu reviews in a row, yeahhhh!

Intransit
March 21st 2007


2797 Comments


Wow. You are really talented. Excellent work. I'm definitely going to get this soon.

LF96
March 22nd 2007


97 Comments


Great review, but I don't really agree. I haven't even heard the full album yet, but judging from the tracks I've heard this really isn't even close to a classic. I did like it though, I should give the full album a check once in a while.

MassiveAttack
December 17th 2007


2688 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Amazing album

KTV
April 24th 2009


760 Comments


seriously everyone check this out.

kingsoby1
Emeritus
April 24th 2009


4950 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

it's very good, but not even close to a 5

KTV
April 25th 2009


760 Comments


i really like DJ muggs' beats, and GZA is...GZA...'nuff said.

TMobotron
Contributing Reviewer
November 4th 2009


7126 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Ehh the biggest problem I have with this is GZA's voice is really bothering me on this. He just sounds so much more nasally and strained than he did on Liquid Swords. I went from listening to Destruction of a Guard to his verse in Duel of the Iron Mic and liked the latter way more. This is still pretty damn good though.

HalfManHalfAmazing
November 24th 2010


565 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I really don't like the beats on this album at all, out of both this and the remix album I only can get into 6 beats. But GZA carries it outstandingly well along with the guests.

bloc
March 4th 2011


34873 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Hot damn this is awesome

ckunke002
May 6th 2011


1033 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

RZA >>>> Muggs, GZA still carries the album to victory.

ckunke002
May 6th 2011


1033 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

RZA >>>> Muggs, GZA still carries the album to victory.

bloc
May 20th 2012


34873 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Smothered Mate is king

FuncrusherPlus1
July 14th 2012


116 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Very Well Written, Very descriptive and true. I can't believe it took me this long to hear this. It's definitely the best GZA album after Liqiud Swords it flows so smoothly and there's really no filler. I might have to hear it a bit more before I deem it as a classic, GZA's lyrics allways require multiple listens for me

snoopdogg6969
September 10th 2012


419 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

queens gambit is so relaxing... one of my favorite songs ever

snoopdogg6969
September 10th 2012


419 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

rzas beats are more impressive standing alone, but i think muggz mesh way better with gzas lyrical
style and hard hittin punchlines. this album gets so much better over time, i used to hate these
beats now i love them...

snoopdogg6969
September 10th 2012


419 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

woah you gotta mention that Queens gambit is entirely an NFL team wordplay in the review, this is my favorite GZA wordplay song

TMobotron
Contributing Reviewer
September 10th 2012


7126 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Exploitation of Mistakes and Advance Pawns are both classic GZA stuff, and RZA's appearance on the latter is just insanely good. But overall nothing really meshes the way it should here, and GZA's delivery feels out of place and unnatural compared to what he's capable of.

LambsBread
January 15th 2014


3476 Comments


this is probably best GZA besides Liquid Swords

Digging: Ellay Khule - Holy Scriptures



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy