Finger Eleven
Them vs. You vs. Me


3.5
great

Review

by wakeupdead USER (15 Reviews)
March 19th, 2007 | 33 replies


Release Date: 2007 | Tracklist


Finger Eleven is:
Scott Anderson-Vocals
James Black-Guitar
Rick Jackett-Guitar
Sean Anderson-Bass Guitar
Rich Beddoe-Drums

Finger Eleven is one of those Modern Hard Rock bands where pretty much everyone I know likes them, or at least likes this album. Even my Dad likes this album, and he has a very specific taste. The song that turned me on to this album was the opening single Paralyzer. If anyone listens to any hard rock radio station you have likely heard this song as it's played very often. But somehow I was a little bit dissapointed with this album because I assumed that it would be just as good as Paralyzer but it isnt. It is a great album though but not what I expected.

The thing that impressed me was the guitar tone on this album. To me it sounds a lot like a cross between the tone on Rush's "Vapor Trails" album and Incubus' "Make Yourself" album. It's somewhat heavy, but in a way, very clean and sustained. At least the electric guitar does. There are many acoustic songs on this album, which isn't a bad thing. The acoustic songs here are some of the best written songs on the album simply for the catchiness and mellowness of them. My favourite soft song here is Window Song, but the harder songs were the ones that grabbed my attention more, as usual. Songs like Paralyzer and Lost My Way are so incredibly catchy and packed full of energy, it makes it so hard to skip the tracks.

Some songs weren't too good though. To me, Sense Of A Spark was a song that was worthy of skipping. The guitar tone at the beginning is so very annoying and sounds off key. I just never really got into that horrible guitar tone. Also I never really got into So-So Suicide mainly because it is boring and uninteresting. A little harmonizing would have done these tracks some good.

For the most part the lyrics were pretty well written, like this exerpt from Paralyzer:

I'm not paralyzed but
I seem to be struck by you
I want to make you move
Because you're standing still


And this little sample of Lost My Way:

The story is old
The Black and white
Have turned to grey...
...I've finally lost my way


The Bass Guitar is very audible and the tone is fantastic. The bass lines are very poppy on some songs (ie. Gather And Give), but on other songs they just follow the guitar line and/or hold the band together (ie. Paralyzer and Easy Life). And the drums sometimes help make some songs a little more catchy, and I absolutely love the sound of the snare drum. It makes that snap but has a little bass tone to it. Just a stunning sound.

The vocals are very well done, and some of my personal favourite vocal moments are the chorus on Falling On and the verses and chorus on Lost My Way. Scott has a sound to his voice that makes him different from most vocalists, but still seems to sound a little generic. But that doesn't mean he isn't a great vocalist, because he is.

Well that's my Finger Eleven review of Them Vs You Vs Me. Please comment on it, and votes are also appreciated. Thanks.

Recommended Tracks
Paralyzer
Lost My Way
Window Song
Gather And Give



Recent reviews by this author
AC/DC Flick of the SwitchRush 2112
Killswitch Engage Killswitch Engage: RemasteredSlayer Hell Awaits
Triumph ClassicsAC/DC High Voltage (International)
user ratings (201)
Chart.
2.8
good

Comments:Add a Comment 
wakeupdead
March 19th 2007


2208 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Meh, a little short but i think its sufficient i guess. lol comments please :thumb:

Cesar
March 19th 2007


2732 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I though they were pop-punk or punk. I've only heard the song One Thing by them, so I'don't know much about them. Will download some of the tracks you recommended.

The review is litle short, but enough to get the idea. Litle more detail here or there wouldn't hurt, but good enough as it is.

The Sludge
March 19th 2007


2169 Comments


Paralyzer was disappointing. Tbqh, Greyest of Blue Skies is the only album worth getting of theirs.

Good review though, I might give it a shot.

BlindGuy1012
March 19th 2007


252 Comments


The review was a little short, but I liked it. It gave me a good idea of what to expect on this album.

Paralyzer is a really catchy song, and I'll probably be getting this eventually.

tom79
March 19th 2007


3372 Comments


I though they were pop-punk or punk.

not even close

I forgot about Finger 11 until a few weeks ago when they came by Edge 102 in Toronto (I think it was the edge). I always thought their music was kinda standard generic rock, but they have some decent tunes. And the review isn't that great, but at least its a review.This Message Edited On 11.11.07

Digging: Business Models - Room

Darkness
March 19th 2007


67 Comments


How would someone who loves Greyest Of Blue Skies but not the last album like this one?

wakeupdead
March 20th 2007


2208 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

yeah I'm not putting much effort into these reviews lately, mainly busy with things like school, girlfriend, etc. I'll get a good one soon though. Thanks for the feedback :thumb:

ZFighter142
March 20th 2007


205 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Darkness: you know why? cause this album changed finger eleven...there more pop now. there older stuff were more like hard rock. you have to see that man. I was disipointed when i listened to this album...but i like songs like Paralyzer, and change the world.

Darkness
March 20th 2007


67 Comments


Uh you misunderstood, I've never heard anything off of this album. I asked if I would like it or not if I didn't like the Self Titled one, but loved Greyest Of Blue Skies. That album was heavy, and very emotional. If those qualities are lost on this album, theres a good chance I won't like it.

Two-Headed Boy
March 27th 2007


4527 Comments


Their S/T is one of the worst CDs I have.

ZFighter142
March 28th 2007


205 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

there what??

tom79
March 28th 2007


3372 Comments


Self Titled.This Message Edited On 03.28.07

ZFighter142
March 29th 2007


205 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

oh ok sorry man

ShatteredSoul
April 1st 2007


110 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

damn these guys. I loved that melancholic feeling they used to have in songs like "Stay & Drown" and "Thousand Mile Wish" . I think that this album is hmmmh... a bit too overproduced & soft or... just too poppish for me. And Too much repetition here also, it always bothers me.
However this album shows growth & it ain't a bad thing. Just like they've said that they've fallen in love with something new & different & I appreciate that. After all this is one happy & catchy album, a Paralyzer indeed!


Stalusk
April 1st 2007


90 Comments


Nice review. Someone tossed me the Scream 3 s/t last week and these guys were just about the only band I'd never heard of.This Message Edited On 04.01.07

wakeupdead
May 16th 2007


2208 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Falling On is a single now? its a great song and everything....but Lost My Way is so much better imo, w/e. I should start reviewing again.....its been a while :thumb: i just half-a**ed this review like a few other reviews of mine, but w/e lol

jason_f90
June 30th 2007


203 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Paralyzer is a great song, very different from their previous material. Falling On is a nice song too; sorta sounds Stone Temple Pilots-ish.

YouGottaBeCrazy
July 16th 2007


37 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

this album is pretty mediocre, imo. "sense of a spark" is pretty sold though.

SylentEcho
July 28th 2007


1570 Comments


got this some time back when it got released, Im checking it out tonight.

SlantedAndEnchanted
January 6th 2008


26 Comments


not bad review, but i'm not gonna lie... Paralyzer is one of my least favorite rock tracks released in the last few years



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy