Chimaira
Resurrection


4.0
excellent

Review

by Foodforthegods USER (35 Reviews)
March 9th, 2007 | 102 replies | 20,534 views


Release Date: 2007 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Maturity is the perfect word to describe this record.

5 of 9 thought this review was well written

Chimaira is a band that went through some hard times. They had to replace their drummer 3 times, they had change their bassist 3 time, they replace one of their guitar player. Now it's a totally different band. People used to think that they stayed close to their nu-metal roots of Pass out Of Existence but they haven't. You've got to listen to all pf their records to see the evolution of the band. Ressurection is now the pinacle of their carreer. The impossibility of reason was an angry thrash album, chimaira was a more mature product. Now Resurrection is the mix of the two. Featuring some of their most aggressive part and some of the most epic moments you can't think.

With Andols Herrick back in the band the band have now ressurect which is why they've choose this record title and write a song about it. The music is as angry as the impossibilty of reason. I mean songs like ressurection, worthless, end it all and Empire are some of their most aggresive songs they've ever written. These songs are fast, heavy and the lyrics are violent. On almost all of their record the band had put a radio friendly song but now they don't. I was a big fan of songs like Down Again or Stays the same but this record doesn't need this kind of song.

Maturity is a word that always seems to be more involve in the case of Chimaira. In Fact songs like Six and Empire is the best exemple. Six is probably the best song of the record. This 9 minutes epic is their best work musicaly. The guitar work of rob arnold is amazing. The song features slower part and a more melodic side. The bridge is without a doubt the highlight of this record. It's very dark and sad. Empire has a lot of keyboard in it. The beginning almost sounds like a Black Metal song. It's a kind of horror movie song.

Music wise the band is still using the same format but the songs are shorter than on the self-titled. Thrash riff, double bass, solos, breakdown. The cd is bit more trash than they used to. They're not getting closer to the status of a trash band than a metalcore band. Mark Hunter's voice is at his peek. His lyrics are some of the most brutal he's written. The Flame is about a girl getting rape and if you got the bonus dvd you'll see that he was questionning himself about why he's writting such horrible stuff about rape. The bass is a bit more present than before. Jason Suecof the producer help Jim Lamarca a lot on writing bass line. You can see it on the bonus dvd. Rob solos are like they used to be. Not too much but just great. Andols Is now better than ever. He's using more cymbals on songs like No reason to live.

Overall this record is a solid work. More mature and more darker. They're now holding their future up their hand. We're just hoping that they'll stay in the good direction.

Pros:

Andols
Maturity
Good Riffing

Cons:

Some songs are repetitive


Highlights:

Six
Empire
The Flame
Resurrection



Recent reviews by this author
Dave Matthews Band Away From The WorldU2 360° at the Rose Bowl
Dave Matthews Band Big Whiskey and the GrooGrux KingNeal Morse Testimony
Dimension Zero Silent Night FeverNovembre The Blue
user ratings (469)
Chart.
3.7
great
other reviews of this album
Frederick Metzengerstein (4)
Chimaira bring back the metal to the draq queen infested masses of the U-S-A....

Cesc (4.5)
"We have become, so god**nm powerful" Amen boys, amen....


Comments:Add a Comment 
Mikesn
Emeritus
March 9th 2007



3709 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

This album wasn't all that bad, but it wasn't all that good either. The only song I liked was Six.

TheHamburgerman
March 9th 2007



1283 Comments


Meh, I have heard a song on their myspace and I thought it sucked. But then again, they have released only a couple of songs in their career that were somewhat good.

Not a bad review, it actually made me want to listen to check out the other songs.

Confessed2005
March 9th 2007



3314 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The songs I heard on their myspace were not that bad.

I thoroughly enjoyed both their debut and the self-titled. Maybe I will check this out as well.

ToWhatEnd
March 9th 2007



3172 Comments


They were pretty boring live. Some of the stuff off of this sounded alright but they really lost my respect and attention when they started the "I hate everyone" song. Blah.

Wizard
March 9th 2007



19223 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

A solid review but please fix the grammer. This album rocks from start to finish. I enjoyed their S/T alot more than this one.

Digging: Monarch - Sabbracadaver

SGT SNIP3R
March 9th 2007



60 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

pretty good review. i agree SIX is amazing. please fix some of the grammar errors but other then that good job, and good album.This Message Edited On 03.09.07

Cravinov13
March 9th 2007



3854 Comments


I'm intrested in hearing this new material.

Foodforthegods
March 9th 2007



425 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Sorry again. I'm praticing my english. My first born language is French.

Cravinov13
March 10th 2007



3854 Comments


I love the French. they make good metal (ex: Deathspell Omega, Gojira)

The review was good though, I think.

DaTwig
March 10th 2007



217 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Overall, I'm pretty dissapointed in this album. It has a few standout tracks, but most of it just doesn't stick with me right. Seems pretty average too me, but I probably have to give it a few mroe listens.

SGT SNIP3R
March 10th 2007



60 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

listening to the album first time through i was amazed. i got teary-eyed honestly during Six. lol. but foodforthegods thats a dang good review for someone who doesn't even speak english as a first language. good job.

TheSunSleeps348
March 12th 2007



156 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This reveiw is outstanding for a second lanuage, give the guy a bit more credit, lol. But honestly, very good reveiw, you should just get someone to proofread to help with a little of the grammer. Overall...awsome reveiw. I'm gonna go and try and listen to "Six".

ToWhatEnd
March 12th 2007



3172 Comments


Wow I had no clue this review was in your second language, it is definitely good with that being considered.

ironman4444
March 15th 2007



276 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Ya, might wanna fix those grammer mistakes but it was still a good review.

RunAmokRampant
March 15th 2007



228 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This album is simple and aggressive but it works better on this album rather than self titled.

Yppolitia
March 18th 2007



44 Comments


I think this album is amazing. I was not disappointed at all. Best tracks IMO are Ressurection, Pleasure In Pain, Six and The Flame.

KillFingSwitch
March 18th 2007



1 Comments


I've heard some hardcore music, but this stuff is borderline black. It took me two complete runthroughs of the cd to really enjoy it, but The Flame is by far the best song on the cd. The intensity of the beginning and the blending is amazing. It is gonna be frikin sweet to see them in concert with Killswitch Engage, Dragonforce :/ and He is Legend. I'm prepared for a black eye that's for sure.This Message Edited On 03.18.07

AbyssalCreation
March 23rd 2007



2041 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I really enjoyed this album it is definitely among Chimairas best just falling short of The Impossibility Of Reason.Empire,The Flame, Worthless, and Six are some of my favorite tracks on the album because their all so diverse and easily recognizable. If theres one thing I dislike about this album its the lyrical content it all sounds so cliche and for a brief time egotistical.Such as in the song Resurrection where Mark chants "We have bceome so god damn powerful" and some lyrics are just plain stupid like in the song Killing The Beast where the chanting of "Killing the beast, kill!, kill!" sounds more like a ritualistic sacrifice than lyrics it's also just plain laughable.Except for clche lyrics this is an awesome cd and one of Chimairas best. Very nice review, even more so since english is your second languageThis Message Edited On 03.23.07

annogen
March 24th 2007



6 Comments


this album would've been pretty awesome if they had a different singer.......or barker......or pig grunter or whateverThis Message Edited On 03.24.07

Quickdrop
April 10th 2007



78 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I've never been a Chimaira fan but they have clearly matured alot, great album.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy