Onslaught
Killing Peace


4.0
excellent

Review

by Grant Hunter USER (76 Reviews)
March 5th, 2007 | 24 replies | 7,668 views


Release Date: 2007 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Onslaught's first full-length album since 1989, "Killing Peace" is proof that thrash still has some fight left in it.

6 of 6 thought this review was well written

Trends, as many of you well know, disappear as quickly as they came, and unfortunately, thrash is now dying out. It could be that every band is nearly a carbon-copy of one of the greats, or that today’s youth just aren’t interested, but it’s true that thrash metal is slowly turning over. Although some of the bigger names, such as Sodom and Megadeth, continue to work out albums, they’re all that’s left. While new faces like Flesh Made Sin appear, many don’t stay around for too long. All that thrash fans really have to hold onto at the moment are the veterans and hope that they still got a few good licks to keep the genre breathing, and that’s where Onslaught comes in.

Taking the backseat to larger acts, Onslaught was formed in the UK and never really reached the higher status. It never seemed to bother them, however, especially since their album “Power from Hell” is considered a classic in the thrash community. And just like many other metal bands, they embraced the Satan-gimmick, which Slayer has undoubtedly perfected. But just like Slayer, they seemed to mean it, which gave way to stronger fan base, and to their reunion.

“Killing Peace”, the bands first full-length album since 1989, shows no signs of age; it’s as if they’ve been preserved in ice for the past 18 years. “Burn”, “Killing Peace”, and “Shock and Awe” push the audio levels to the limit with bombastic drums, buzz saw tuned guitars, and soaring vocals. Nige Rockett (a founding member…and that’s a sweet name) and Alan Jordan don’t really throw out any change-up in the common thrash arsenal, but they keep the riffs tight-locked and heavy. It’ll only take one listen to the chugging riffs on “Tested to Destruction” to get your head banging. Their solos also don’t really bring anything new to table, but they show off their shredding chops on “Prayer for the Dead” and “Shock and Awe”. It’d be hard as well to dismiss Steve Grice’s (another founding member) drum work, as his bass drum is highlighted in nearly every song, especially his machine-gun intro to “Shock and Awe”. But the real gem here is the vocal performance from Sky Keeler. It’s really not typical in thrash to find someone with a great vocal range, but Sky possesses it. Whether it’s growling on “Burn”, speed-talking on “Destroyer of Worlds”, or just plain screaming on “Twisted Jesus”, Sky excels.

However, this album tends to lag a bit in a few key areas. “Killing Peace” seems to feel a bit previously owned in some areas, especially in the lyrics. Lines like “Religion is hate and religion is pain!” seem to remind me too much of Slayer’s lyrics from the song “Cult” off their new album. Don’t get me wrong, as some of these lyrics are quite intriguing, such as Sky’s constant war-cry of “Spitting blood in the face of God!” on the title track, but for the most part they're undeniably average. To go along with some seemingly borrowed lyrics, one of the main riffs to “Twisted Jesus” sounds too identical to Exodus’s riff on the song “Now Thy Death Day Come”. And the bass performance by James Hinder could’ve been left out of the mix and you wouldn’t even know it was gone, as it doesn’t even add a good “thump” here and there.

Even with some noticeable drawbacks, “Killing Peace” is still a top-notch thrash album. Most of these tracks, especially the title track and “Shock and Awe” will be stuck in your head for days to come. It’s really easy to see that Onslaught just wanted to make a simple, good ole thrash metal record, and in this they accomplished. Because all in all, “Killing Peace” won’t cause any evolution in the genre, it just shows that it’s still got some life in it after all.

Overall – 4/5

Recommended Tracks
Burn
Killing Peace
A Prayer for the Dead
Shock and Awe



Recent reviews by this author
Destroyer 666 To the Devil His DueTech N9ne Everready (The Religion)
Lich King Toxic Zombie OnslaughtLich King Necromantic Maelstrom
Sodomizer The Dead Shall Rise to KillAlestorm Captain Morgan's Revenge
user ratings (35)
Chart.
3.7
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
south_of_heaven 11
March 5th 2007



5433 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

As far as I know, this was released today. Their official website hasn't changed the release date from March 5th, so I went ahead and posted this.

EDIT: And I think the cover-art is lame.This Message Edited On 03.05.07

The Door Mouse
March 5th 2007



2092 Comments


Good review. I didn't like the references to other song there at the end but it was still good. You get a thumb :thumb: and a pos.

MrKite
March 5th 2007



5020 Comments


the cover-art is lame.

Great review. I don't usually read metal reviews but I changed it up today.

south_of_heaven 11
March 5th 2007



5433 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I didn't like the references to other song there at the end but it was still good.


Hrmm...what exactly do you mean? Are you refrencing to how I compared some of their lyrics other songs as well as their riffs? Because they sound as if they were lifted from other artist's work...This Message Edited On 03.05.07

Mikesn
Emeritus
March 5th 2007



3709 Comments


My favourite thrash is the thrash mixed with death metal. Like Torchbearer.

Nice review. You might want to change the release date though, since it's 2007 and it says 2006.This Message Edited On 03.05.07

south_of_heaven 11
March 5th 2007



5433 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I've been trying so hard to find Torchbearer, but I can't find it

But seriously, Mike, one thrash band that I insist you try out is "Metal Church"...if you can get past the horrible cheesey name, they're very good. They sound like thrashy Iron Maiden (which makes sense, seeing as how New Wave of British Metal influenced thrash blah blah blah). Get their new album, "A Light in the Dark".

And I'll change that release date...thanks! :thumb:This Message Edited On 03.05.07

wakeupdead
March 5th 2007



2204 Comments


nice review now i want this album.....seems like something i'd listen to

The Door Mouse
March 5th 2007



2092 Comments


Hrmm...what exactly do you mean? Are you refrencing to how I compared some of their lyrics other songs as well as their riffs? Because they sound as if they were lifted from other artist's work...

Yeah bassically the 2nd to last paragraph. It's just that if people don't know how those songs sound then they won't know what the songs of this album sound. It was still a great review though.

Mikesn
Emeritus
March 5th 2007



3709 Comments


But seriously, Mike, one thrash band that I insist you try out is "Metal Church"...if you can get past the horrible cheesey name, they're very good. They sound like thrashy Iron Maiden (which makes sense, seeing as how New Wave of British Metal influenced thrash blah blah blah). Get their new album, "A Light in the Dark".
I'll check them out, thanks.

You should be able to find the Torchbearer album on slsk, but I'm not sure how long it'll take.

Dethtrasher
March 6th 2007



2211 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Great review dude!
Man I need to get this, its hard to find old-school thrash nowadays.

WARPATH_88
March 6th 2007



514 Comments


Ya it is Deththrasher. Sad huh?


Anyways, good review. I need to check htese guys out. Im always open to hearing more thrash!

south_of_heaven 11
April 9th 2007



5433 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

This album is damn cool...
I talked to the drummer briefly on the Slayer forums...he was a pretty cool dude.

Dethtrasher
April 20th 2007



2211 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Dude this album was solid! Burn, Killing Peace and Shock and Awe were awesome tracks. :thumb:
I really agree with your review when you mentioned the Slayer and Exodus similarities. I could only think of Slayer when he sings ''Spitting blood in the face of god''.

Unreal
May 22nd 2007



229 Comments


This is great album! great content awesome riffage
The only thind that really bigs me are the vocals and the lyrics, the vocals can get personnally very annoying, and the lyrics really dont work for me like the "Spitting blood in the face of god" really cheeses me off, and i find rather inane, of course this is thrash.
btw class reviewThis Message Edited On 05.22.07

FR33L0RD
July 10th 2007



1461 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Great review
i will check this band sooner or later


SylentEcho
September 12th 2008



1570 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

nice review, I like this album.

south_of_heaven 11
September 12th 2008



5433 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Album actually kinda sucks :/

Badgerboots
September 12th 2008



64 Comments


Before you see the light..you must DIE!!!!!!!!!!!

Possessed
May 28th 2009



37 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

South you're fucking retarded if you think this album sucks this album is way better than every Slayer album after Seasons this band is fucking awesome and criminally underrated

south_of_heaven 11
May 28th 2009



5433 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

dude give out more classic ratings

honestly, a 5 for Hordes of Chaos and Enemy of God, not to mention this?



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy