Carbon Based Lifeforms
World Of Sleepers


3.5
great

Review

by thunderzstruck USER (4 Reviews)
February 11th, 2007 | 127 replies


Release Date: 2006 | Tracklist

Review Summary: This is music that transcends listening into a full expierence thats ounds full yet floating through a vastness of space.

The music on this album is best described at of looking at pictures and imagining the vastness of space and the ocean below it. The millions of separate galaxies floating endlessly through the emptiness of it all. Nothing for light years but the beautiful colors and noiselessness of nothing as time has virtually disappeared. It’s an album for listening in the middle of the night with rain gently pattering the roof above you. It’s not meant for mere listening or background music that would be a disgrace to it but as a full listening experience. This album is what high quality sound systems are made for, the near endlessness of its misty textures and beatless sound hang in the air as if never finding a place to rest. Soft melodies and an endless pool of layers are actuated by the synth driven beats and drums.

Instead of individual songs, the soundscape of it all seem to be one endless array of sound that drifts through the album as if swimming in the vast ocean. Not a single singable melody on the entire album, it is what ambient music is made for, thinking. While listening to the album one may imagine images and feelings never thought of. At 80 minutes long it may seem to be overly endless especially to be able to stay in state long enough for an entire listen, but the patience rewarded. Ambient at its finest, this is a direct sequel to their first album, ‘Hydroponic Garden’ with the track numbers starting right were its predecessor left off.

The complexity and sound of it all assures it will never be very popular but a perfect gold for anyone who happens to strike upon it. It’s an album that may change the way you think or feel about the world and will convey a sense of peace never thought of before.

The artwork seems to fit the music very well and it’s an album I do recommend buying. I bought the album when it was first released (back in December) and they sent two sticks of incense and a handwritten card noting a ‘Thank You’

For recommendations:
World of Sleepers
Photosynthesis

Cons:
May drag on a little bit towards the end


Their music can be sampled at myspace.com/carbonbasedlifeforms
http://ultimae.com/en/composers/carbon%20based%20lifeforms/index.html


user ratings (112)
Chart.
4.1
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
La Revolucion
February 11th 2007


1060 Comments


Gee, I wonder if you like this album?

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
February 11th 2007


16089 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

It is okay to use first person in reviews; in fact, most people prefer them that way.

edit: Found this off of last.fm; it's pretty good, although this gets tiring after a short amount of timeThis Message Edited On 02.11.07

Zebra
Moderator
February 11th 2007


2647 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

I love this kind of stuff so I'll be sure to check it out at some point during my life.
Excellent work on the review even if it was a bit fanboyish.

thunderzstruck
February 11th 2007


148 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

heh sorry if it seems im praising it too much
just whenever i listen to it, it seems to be perfect

opinions i guess

trustxdialect
February 12th 2007


1502 Comments


Too fanboyish, and the usual grammar mistakes. You could be good with some work.

This is music that transcends listening into a full expierence thatsounds full yet floating through a vastness of space.


Edit this.

Apocalyptic Raids
February 20th 2007


810 Comments


This sounds really interesting, I'll check it out.

Zebra
Moderator
June 23rd 2007


2647 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

I hate to say it but this album is awful. It's void of any type of atmosphere or complexity, not to mention how bland and tasteless the production is. This is honestly the most dull ambient album that I have ever listened to.

trilogique
July 14th 2009


246 Comments


Love it.

Adash
November 9th 2010


1356 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

im afraid to shit on the mods but zebra you're insane in the membrane

foxblood
June 8th 2011


6797 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

probably my personal favorite ambient album

DotEight
March 2nd 2012


5639 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Album has a special place in my heart.

DotEight
March 2nd 2012


5639 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

And what the hell does the clip in Photosynthesis say?

It sounds like "What about the forests?"

foxblood
March 3rd 2012


6797 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

yeah it's "what about the forests? nope. what about the forests? guess again."

OmairSh
October 11th 2012


11918 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Betula Pendula is the best!!!!

Digging: Dusk (Pak) - My Infinite Nature Alone

foxblood
December 1st 2012


6797 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

a 3 wtf this is the best ambient ever

OmairSh
December 2nd 2012


11918 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I enjoyed it but it has worn off. Will have to listen to it again but doubt it'll be more than a 3.5

Keyblade
December 2nd 2012


15226 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

wtf omair i am disappoint

Digging: Insides - Euphoria

OmairSh
December 2nd 2012


11918 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

ah

foxblood
December 2nd 2012


6797 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

dude listened to this once while chillin in monterey bay aquarium watching the jellyfish, it was
fucking awesome

Keyblade
December 2nd 2012


15226 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

damn imma have to try something like that



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy