In Flames
Whoracle


4.0
excellent

Review

by Thomas Michael Morris USER (36 Reviews)
February 4th, 2007 | 43 replies


Release Date: 1997 | Tracklist


Oddly enough, most of my favorite albums from a band are their third. HEre we have whoracle, the third album by in flames. Is it their best? No, but it is one of them (maybe second) The guitar work manages to be very heavy, yet very melodic at the same time. The solos are much better in this album than most of the other in flames albums, and there are more here as well. This is a concept album, and deals with the fall of mankind. The lyrics stick to this quite well, and this album probably has the best or second best in flames lyrics. Whoracle also has a darker sound than the other in flames albums. Overall, it's a kickass album.

track analysis:

Jotun: Amazing starter to the album with a classic riff. Opens a bit slow, but speeds up before the verse. The chorus isnt quite as catchy as some of the other songs, but the guitar makes up for it, making this my second favorite song on whoracle. 10/10

Food For the Gods: Love the intro here, starts faster and heavier than the previous tracks, but is pretty similar sound wise. The drumming is very strong on this track, and the chorus is great to headbang to. 9.5/10

Gyroscope: Starts off with a very melodic, acoustic riff. Then the heavy amped up guitars come in playing the same rythm. It's a pretty repetive song, but it doesnt actually bring the song down at all (it's a relatively short song) A couple short, but melodic and catchy solos are featured. Oh, and the chorus is very catchy. One of the album's best. 9.75/10

Dialogue With the Stars: Imo, this is the best in flames instrumental. It's is 3 minutes of total riffage. Amazing and winding guitar melodies combined with a few softer parts keep this track very interesting. 9.5/10

The Hive: Yes, Atreyu did rip off the riff of this song in "Right Side of the Bed." Definately one of the best on the album. The intro riff is amazing, rivaling jotun and the chorus is pretty good, but not too special I guess. However, after the second chorus, an amazing guitar solo comes in. It's one of in flames' longest too and goes all the way to the end. I can't say it's their best solo, (the next song rivals it) but it's definately in their top 3, probably with jester script and the new world. 10/10

Jester Script Transfigured: My god this song kicks ass. Starts off with a computer-ish sound which is followed by beautiful acoustic guitars and Anders doing his throat talking-ish voice. The chorus is very very heavy, and catchy as well. The best part, like the hive, is the solos. The solos on this song are epic, and probably the best by in flames. This is also the longest song by in flames at 5:46. After the last chorus ends, the riff stays and another amazing solo can be heard in the background. The song eventually fades out. This is truely an epic song, probably my favorite in flames song ever. 11/10

Morphing Into Primal: Most people don't really seem to lile this song. I actually find it quite good. The intro is very fast. Actually, the whole song is, this is the wildest song on the album. The chorus may not be that special, but the song is just really cacthy as a whole. I actually really like the solo. Like the rest of the song, it's really fast. 9.25/10

Worlds Within the Margin: Kinda odd how the fastest song is followed by the slowest song on the album. It starts off with a heavy riff and a voice that sounds kinda like something from a radio transmission almost. I really like the drumming in this song, Im not too sure why, but it's really cool. This song has an apocolypse type feel to it. Creepy, but pretty good. 9.25/10

Episode 666: Another classic song here. It is pretty repetitive, but still manages to be interesting enough. The chorus is one of the catchiest on the album, and the riff is very heavy. The solo is really good as well. 9.75/10

Everything Counts: A Depeche Mode cover. It's my least favorite song on the album. It's not bad at all, just not as interesting as the rest of the album. I've never been a big fan of covers anyway. 8.75/10

Whoracle: Another instrumental. It's basically just acousti guitar and very heavy percussion, with some female vocals in the background. I dont consider this much of a closer, more of an outro. For that reason, I always play the song Goliaths Disarm Their David's after it. I don't know why that song wasn't on this album, It's an amazing song. However, that song's not on that album so I wont rate it. The rating for the song whoracle however, is 9/10

I strongly recommend this album, it is othe best in flames album. You can't miss out on this one!



Recent reviews by this author
Progenie Terrestre Pura U.M.A.Amon Amarth Deceiver of the Gods
Polkadot Cadaver Last Call in JonestownEnsemble Pearl Ensemble Pearl
Dr. Quandary WayfarersThank You Scientist Maps of Non-Existent Places
user ratings (1625)
Chart.
4.1
excellent
other reviews of this album
1 of
  • Jacquibim CONTRIBUTOR (5)
    ...

    Atari CONTRIBUTOR (4)
    In Flames' second best album is oh so beautiful......

    johnny of the Well (4.5)
    In Flames destroy their hypothetical world within Whoracle, whilst impacting greatly on th...

    Darkvoid67 (4.5)
    The best melodic death metal album of 1997, Whoracle is nothing but pure, unadulterated me...

  • Locrian (4.5)
    With their third album, In Flames have produced a guitar masterpiece, featuring some of th...

    Dethtrasher (3.5)
    A heavy, melodic and aggressive In Flames album. Whoracle still makes you to think if the ...

    wikuk (4.5)
    In Flames second release was not only important as a succesor of the genre, on it's own it...


Comments:Add a Comment 
freudianslipknot
February 4th 2007


803 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

In general I agree with your opinions of the songs (though I am not sure if 11/10 exists). This along with Clayman is my fave in flames - Dialogue among the stars is awesome - and I agree that everything counts is the weakest. Actually I never even liked the Depeche Mode version and then its followed by Whoracle which, like you say, is more of an outro. So the album pretty much ends for me with episode 666. Since this is one of your first reviews I'll give you a vote - also I'm too bone idle to review anything myself, so I figure those that do should get credit.

Yazz_Flute
February 4th 2007


18874 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thank you =D I give 11/10 to songs I really,really love. I did it for needlefeast by soilwork and when I review hatebreeder by children of bodom, both children of bodom, (it's the name of a song on the alum if you don't know) and downfall will get 11/10. Probably starchild by wintersun will get an 11/10 also. Other than that, I probably won't give any others.

Clayman is my second favorite album by in flames as well.

btw, have you heard goliath's disarm their davids? It's on Black Ash inheritance. It's a killer song, One of in flame's best actually.

Digging: DIR EN GREY - Arche

freudianslipknot
February 4th 2007


803 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

No I haven 't. I have all the in flames albums but I never bother with EPs. I'll check it out - if I can find it.

Yazz_Flute
February 4th 2007


18874 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

You can get it on itunes if you have it.

I got it when i bought Jester Race/black ash inheritance. It had the normal jester racesongs, with four extras. Goliath was one of them, along with gyroscope (same as the one here) an acoustic medley performed live, and a live version of behind space.

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
February 4th 2007


17945 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

good album

Eakflanderyof
February 4th 2007


2143 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I've heard a few songs off of this and they were good. I will check out the rest soon.

SynGates
February 4th 2007


2467 Comments


whats this? more 11/10's? my friend, there is a limit for a reason! Oh well, you still didnt break shadow's record of 50/5 for shadows fall's "inspiration on demand"

Pebster49
February 4th 2007


2993 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

which song is Atreyu's rip off of it? I wanna hear it...btw good review this is an awesome album, not my favorite but up there on my list of albums by In Flames

Pebster49
February 4th 2007


2993 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

ahhh just found it...Episode 666 and Right Side of the bed by atreyu

Altmer
February 5th 2007


5652 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Overrated. Good album, but horribly overrated.

Confessed2005
February 5th 2007


3314 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Atreyu ripped off the riff from 'The Hive'. not 'Episode 666'.

This album has some of IF's best songs.

Good review for a TBT.

Kage
February 5th 2007


1172 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This is the best In Flames album.

Mikesn
Emeritus
February 5th 2007


3709 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

The Jester Race is better than this. I enjoyed Clayman and Colony more as well.

TheHamburgerman
February 5th 2007


1302 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Why can't we just agree that this album is teh awesomeness?

EDIT:

decent review, somewhat too fanboyish (yeah, a 11/10 is somewhat too much, though the song is really one of the best In Flames songs) and not enough detail of the songs.This Message Edited On 02.05.07

Mikesn
Emeritus
February 5th 2007


3709 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

This is album is pretty awesome, yes.

Eakflanderyof
February 6th 2007


2143 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Whoracle is such an epic song.

Yazz_Flute
February 6th 2007


18874 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Everyone seems o have different opinions with this album. Just about everyone I know says this is in flames' best release, or one of their weaker releases. It's pretty easily my favorite album, though clayman, colony, and jester race are all fantastic as well.

Yazz_Flute
February 11th 2007


18874 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I lowered the rating to 4.5 after listening to this a little more and realizing that colony is my favorite IF album now.

Yazz_Flute
October 21st 2007


18874 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Wow, this and a lot of my old reviews really suck...I may rereview this and a couple other albums and make them more like my recent reviews.

Zoo
October 21st 2007


3759 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

My favorite IF album, with the Jester Race in tow. Gyroscope is still one of my all time favorite songs.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy