Lupe Fiasco
Food & Liquor


4.0
excellent

Review

by Nick Butler EMERITUS
January 24th, 2007 | 91 replies


Release Date: 2006 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Fiasco's impressive offering stands as a strong contendor for 2006's best debut album.

There's a lot of big names on here - The Neptunes, Kanye West, Jill Scott, Jay-Z, even Mike Shinoda (you know, the one from Linkin Park who holds the somewhat backhanded distinction of being the best rapper in a nu-metal band today). It's tempting to think that they're all involved because a lot of money's been thrown at them. Yet, after even a cursory listen to Food & Liquor, only the most cynical of minds could fail to believe that some, if not all, of these names are here because they wanted to be working with one of the most talented newcomers in the game.

Lupe can rap. No doubt about it. He's got what the mainstream wants - a smooth flow, funny punchlines, good hooks - and he's got what the critics are always saying hip-hop lacks these days - a message, and a refreshing lack of pretentious posturing. With any luck, this one will crossover to as wide a range of people as The College Dropout did.

True, the album takes a little while to get off the ground - the beat on "Intro" is absolutely first class, but the first 2 or 3 tracks suggest the album are going to be underwhelming. Maybe we're just conditioned to expect rappers to put their strongest material up front so the filler gets ignored? In any case, "Kick, Push" starts to move things in the right direction, before it really takes flight on "I Gotcha". Pharrell's cute, bouncy piano lick works perfectly here - it's so out of step with what we're used to from hip-hop in '06, you can't help but listen. The following four tracks - "The Instrumental", "He Say She Say", "Sunshine", and "Daydreamin'" - are all superb. The first of those is a Mike Shinoda production, and needless to say it's the best hip-hop track he's ever come up with. The latter is as ear-catching as "I Gotcha", this time by virtue of the sample taken from I Monster's fantastic "Daydream In Blue". To be honest, that sample is so good that anyone could have rapped over it and it would have still been a hit, but Lupe doesn't slack here in the slighest. Nor does he anywhere else. Throughout, his rhymes are inventive, playful, thoughful, and idiosyncractic. Sadly, those aren't all words you can associate with too many major label rappers.

Food & Liquor certainly stands as a contender for best rap record of 2006, though that's not saying all that much in what has been a slightly disappointing year. What makes this so exciting, though, is the feeling that he's just going to get better.



Recent reviews by this author
Krzysztof Penderecki and Jonny Greenwood Krzysztof Penderecki / Jonny GreenwoodLana Del Rey Paradise
Scott Walker Bish BoschEmilie Autumn Fight Like A Girl
Susanne Sundfor The Silicone VeilPepe Deluxe Queen of the Wave
user ratings (680)
Chart.
4
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
StreetlightRock
Emeritus
January 24th 2007


3780 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I've heard the single and I quite like it. He's down under here for the Big Day Out but I won't be seeing him =/ Ill get round to checking this out.

The Jungler
January 24th 2007


4827 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah, this album is good, I think we agree for the most part. I'm really glad he chose Daydreamin' as the third single. That track is awesome.
Good review.

Tyler
Emeritus
January 24th 2007


7926 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

It's awesome because of Jill Scott, because Jill Scott is awesome.

Iai
Emeritus
January 24th 2007


3553 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Ah, sorted. Cheers mod type thing.

Oddsen
January 24th 2007


1127 Comments


nice review. This is the same review as you put on your other acount right?

Acey
February 7th 2007


2578 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I listened to a song off this called "The Instrumental", and liked it a lot. is the rest good. i am not huge on rap and hip hop or anything like that, so i would want to know

Acey
February 7th 2007


2578 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i might pick this up

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
February 7th 2007


16089 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Pick it up, it's a top 3 rap album of '06.

Acey
February 7th 2007


2578 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i just did, and i rather like it, and usually dont listen to rap

CheckersOnMyShoesYo
February 9th 2007


215 Comments


I don't like hip-hop too much, at least the new stuff, but I was pleasantly surprised with this album. Its very good.

Nice review as well.

samthebassman
February 9th 2007


2164 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Not a bad album, maybe to much similarity to Kanye though.

Liberi Fatali
Emeritus
February 9th 2007


1588 Comments


Its not that similar to Kanye at all.

Lupe very much has his own style. You can see hints of Kanye's production style, but then you might as well say the same of someone like Common.

mudvaynegodsmackacdc
February 15th 2007


79 Comments


For a black guy who likes to skate, this album is good. I'm talking about Lupe by the way when i say "for a black guy who likes to skate".

IsItLuck?
Emeritus
February 15th 2007


4927 Comments


please change your username, because it's kind of....fill in the blank.

I've heard good things about this album, good review. I may pick it up.

radical321
February 19th 2007


1 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This album is amazing I'd have to say its the second best hip hop album to comeout in 2006. Second to Zion I & The Grouch "Hero's in the City of Dope". I can only hope that in 2007 there will be more of the good meaningful hip hop, such as this one, on the mainstream instead of the selfish, meterialistic "rap crap" that's on the radio right now.

onefortheman25
February 20th 2007


196 Comments


i actually really like this.

parso13
March 24th 2007


12 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The first few tracks (minus the intro) kinda let the team down, but the rest is insane. He Say, She Say is sweet.

zephyr15
April 15th 2007


6 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

really an amazing album... every track has something new and standouts such as daydreamin', the instrumental and pressure really bring the cd to a higher level than most other rap albums being released lately.

to me, this is the ultimate rainy day music, just chill out on the couch and throw this album on.This Message Edited On 04.15.07

onefortheman25
April 16th 2007


196 Comments


tilted is where its at.

Electric City
Staff Reviewer
April 16th 2007


15743 Comments


Out of curiousity, could the title be an educated ploy on Ludacris' Chicken and Beer?



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy