Billy Talent
Billy Talent II


4.0
excellent

Review

by wakeupdead USER (15 Reviews)
January 17th, 2007 | 60 replies | 18,093 views


Release Date: 2006 | Tracklist

Review Summary: While "Billy Talent II" is much poppier than their self-titled debut album, it was overlooked by many.

5 of 8 thought this review was well written

There are many things I liked about this album, but the thing that stood out to me the most was the vocals. Ben Kowalewicz has one of the most unique sounding voices out there, as well as very very recognizable. His voice can be beautiful and haunting at the same time, which is probably why he is so different sounding. The sound of his voice on the classic Devil In A Midnight Mass is a good example of this. Ben is one of the best vocalists around, but his sound may bother some people.

The songs were very well written, and I believe that the boys of Billy Talent are some of the best song writers since The Beatles and shant go unnoticed. The lyrics are pure genius! Check out this line from the song This Suffering:

"Misery won't get the best of me, cause now I'm calling on your bluff. Throw down your cards I've had enough!"

...and this one from Burn The Evidence:

"In a garage beside a house there is a luxury sedan and for it's next monthly installment is gonna go out with a bang. Boy who always did what he was told was promised to be king when he was old..."

The lyrics to This Suffering, along with the overall catchiness of the song makes it my personal favourite on the album. Some of the softer tracks on this album are Pins And Needles and Surrender. Pins And Needles is one of my personal favourites on here, because the guitar riff is quite possibly one of the best riffs ever written. These soft ones help the album seem less repetative.

Billy Talent's sound is purely pop-punk and simple sounding on this album, ut the music is actually quite complex in some songs (trust me, I've tried to play some of the chord progressions on the guitar, and can't do it). The band uses a wide variety of chords to hold the songs together.

Ian D'Sa's guitar playing is quite spectacular in my opinion. The sound of his guitar is a very clean sound, with some distortion used on most songs here. There are only a few solos on the album (the best one being the extremely catchy one on Fallen Leaves), but are rarely needed. Nothing fancy, but interesting to hear in a Billy Talent song once in a while. The same goes for the bass guitarist Jon Gallant. While less melodic as the guitar, the bass comes through powerfully and holds the songs together quite nicely. Overall the guitar sound and playing is awesome!

On to the dislikes. Now, I don't really dislike too much on this album but a few things do bother me. The syncopated guitar patterns can sometimes be repetative because of the excessive use of it, but it does help define the band's sound. Also, I don't like The Navy Song (aka In The Fall) because I find it boring to listen to throughout the song, except for the chorus.

Every single chorus here is catchy, except for the one in Sympathy for the lack of vocal range which makes it the weakest song on the album (next to The Navy Song) or at least that's in my opinion.

For all punk, pop, and rock fans I urge you to check this album out if you haven't already.

Recommended Tracks
Red Flag
This Suffering
Pins And Needles
Surrender



Recent reviews by this author
AC/DC Flick of the SwitchRush 2112
Killswitch Engage Killswitch Engage: RemasteredSlayer Hell Awaits
Finger Eleven Them vs. You vs. MeTriumph Classics
user ratings (849)
Chart.
3.7
great
other reviews of this album
Davey Boy STAFF (4)
Gradual growth results in some inconsistency, yet Billy Talent’s underlying passion and ability to...

Vilen1025 (4)
Great piece of work, with minor flaws that don't seriously hinder the flow....

Jeremy Price (3.5)
...

Damrod EMERITUS (3.5)
...


Comments:Add a Comment 
wakeupdead
January 17th 2007



2208 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Wow! That was the hardest one I've reviewed so far, for some reason. I'm kinda iffy on the quality of it though.

spoon_of_grimbo
January 17th 2007



2240 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

great review, and i agree with pretty much everything there, the exception being that i actually quite like the navy song.

worker bees and devil in a midnight mass were two highlights for me (although the demo version of the latter, with the "i was told that the world wouldn't believe me" bit, was better IMO).

quite an underrated album, and underrated band in general, this is definitely the better of their two albums, although the first was still great.

wakeupdead
January 17th 2007



2208 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks spoon_of_grimbo. The navy song just doesnt do it for me. I dont know why. Defil In A midnight Mass is overplayed, so I dont like it as much.

jimay333
January 17th 2007



433 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

the only song im not too fond of is worker bees. it gets on my nerves after a listen or two

tom79
January 17th 2007



3365 Comments


Some of the best song writers since The Beatles? I think not.

First album was decent, but based on the singles I probably won't get this. Red Flag was good, but got annoying pretty quick.

Digging: Rainer Maria - Look Now Look Again

Angmar
January 17th 2007



2689 Comments


This is probubly your best yet keep up the good work.

AmericnZero02
January 17th 2007



3337 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I don't think purely pop-punk and simple sounding is a good definition of this album. I used to not really dig The Navy Song either, but it eventually grew on me.

AlienEater
January 17th 2007



716 Comments


I like "Red Flag" or whatever.

wakeupdead
January 17th 2007



2208 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

[quote=Tom79]Some of the best song writers since The Beatles? I think not.[/quote]This was just my opinion.



wakeupdead
January 17th 2007



2208 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

[quote=Spat Out Plath]Your review was nicely written, but you could do with toning down the hyperbole. 'Devil In a Midnight Mass' is a good song, but it probably hasn't reached classic status just yet.[/quote]Perhaps, but it's still a great song. Probably the #1 hit on the album though Fallen Leaves has been played on the radio a ton lately.

Two-Headed Boy
January 17th 2007



4527 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah, very good review. This album is pretty good.

Soupstorm
January 18th 2007



10 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Overall I really, really like this album.

Worker Bees' metaphorical nature gets almost parodic at times, and the verses almost make me want to skip the song, but the bridge is simply amazing. "And we'll march along with our blindfolds on / And we'll ride the rails with our pistols drawn" is painfully catchy. Burn The Evidence suffers from the same downside and upside. The only song I really can't listen to is Sympathy.

The best songs are Devil in a Midnight Mass, Surrender, Fallen Leaves, and Covered in Cowardice.

captainsardonic
January 18th 2007



11 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

It's decent album but certainly not on the level of The Beatles. I have to admit that the lyrical excerpt for "Burn The Evidence" is pretty good if not Beatlesque!

playedinstereo
January 21st 2007



3 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Good review, but you didn't even mention Where is the Line, which is one of my favourites.

wakeupdead
January 21st 2007



2208 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

[quote=playedinstereo]Good review, but you didn't even mention Where is the Line, which is one of my favourites.[/quote]I don't really like where is the line too much tbh. It's an all right song though, but there are better one's on here.


MrKite
April 26th 2007



5020 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I used to like Devil In A Midnight Mass but it got old quickly. The best track on here is probably Red Flag.

muchtallerthanu
April 26th 2007



648 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I like Red Flag the best too.

porkchop182
June 16th 2007



151 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I really like fallen leaves but no one really rates it very high. the only problem with this band is they can get old very quickly and their guitar riffs are all very similar. Red flag, surrender and fallen leaves are the best here

Ducky_72
June 18th 2007



18 Comments


Did this review remind anyone else of the chapters from American Psycho where the protagonist puts forth lengthy monologues on the singers and bands he likes?

skatemullen14
June 20th 2007



151 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I thought Fallen Leaves was one of the worst songs on this album. Anyone with me on this or am I just crazy?



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy