Pg. 99
Document #5


4.5
superb

Review

by Ben Greenbank USER (41 Reviews)
January 5th, 2007 | 167 replies | 16,580 views


Release Date: 2000 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Raw, agressive, flawless. Without doubt a classic screamo album.

3 of 3 thought this review was well written

Document #5 is an absolutely phenomenal album, consisted of 10 short furious bursts of punk adrenaline, within the screamo genre it’s a definite classic. The band hail from Sterling, VA and comprise of an ever changing line up, usually this was eight members, they are also renown for a furious live show during their five year existence. Document #5, released in the wake of the new millennium was the bands first full length and to many fans, yours truly included, is their best release. Musically it sounds to me like a cross between Saetia and the Dillinger Escape Plan, but ultimately lands closer to screamo than the grind of Dillinger, there’s even a bit of power violence in there. At well under 25 minutes the album barely stops for breath, unlike Saetia there is little in the way of a melodic element, focuses almost solely on a ferocious punk tempo.

Ruiner of Life begins with just over 30 seconds of what can only be described of noise before you are hit full on by the sheer brutality of this album. As is common for the genre the lyrics are very poetic, not that you can really pick them out easily. On the opener Chris Taylor screams, “I bow my head, just to pretend to know a thing or two about a prayer. In horrible deaths we lay, just to lay for peace, and just to say goodnight, and then we finally sleep.” Second track Comedy of Christ has a more traditional punk/hardcore opening before slipping back into the chaos once more. Lyrically it seems to focus on what a joke modern religion has become, “I will not dedicate a day to a life-size nativity scene” My favorite song on here has got to be My Application to Heaven. The lyrics are genius and the music a little more intricate than elsewhere. This song sums the band up perfectly. There is chaotic grind, a brief bass breakdown and the moment about 30 seconds in when the instrument pause except for the blistering scream of “*** you Jesus” is magnificent in its punk glory. Towards the end it’s even pretty melodic, at least by their own standards, by god there is almost clean vocals towards the end, it even has what sounds like a metalcore breakdown. The final track, “By The Fireplace in White” seems to pay homage to the bands emo forefathers like Indian Summer, it’s slower than the other songs and at eleven minutes a lot longer, but still a great listen if not really a great indication of the bands sound.

I honestly cannot say enough positive things about this album and everyone who claims to like fast, aggressive music really needs to give it a listen. Compared with Document #8 I’d say this just about comes out on top although that album is almost equally as impressive. Pg. 99 and Circle Takes The Square are my favorite screamo bands for different reasons, but in terms of raw aggression this album is unmatched by anything I’ve ever listened to in my life.



Recent reviews by this author
Mutyumu IlyaAutechre Tri Repetae
Buddy Holly The Chirping CricketsPaul Simon Graceland
Celeste Nihiliste(s)The Ocean Precambrian
user ratings (304)
Chart.
4
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
January 5th 2007



16087 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Those reccomendations are kind of terrible.

lunchforthesky
January 5th 2007



1039 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

What would you prefer?

Eliminator
January 5th 2007



2067 Comments


ilu will suggest crappy bands that nobody cares about in order to make himself seem cool

Intransit
January 5th 2007



2797 Comments


JFFB maybe. Thats about the only one I can think of, but I havent listened to much Pg 99, and the little bit Ive listened to, I didnt enjoy.

AlienEater
January 5th 2007



716 Comments


i may get some pg 99

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
January 5th 2007



16087 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

ilu will suggest crappy bands that nobody cares about in order to make himself seem cool

Eliminator will continue to insultpeople to make his meaningless home life seem less insignificant.
Angel Hair maybe, Orchid.Neil Perry.

lunchforthesky
January 5th 2007



1039 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Orchid would probably of been a good choice. I dont listen to much of the other two so i wouldnt recommend them

cbmartinez
January 5th 2007



2525 Comments


I'd say majority rule, bucket full of teeth maybe.

IsItLuck?
Emeritus
January 5th 2007



4927 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

They re-released this but only made a limited number of copies. Can anyone help a brother out here? xglassjaw85782x

I don't know where on earth I would find it otherwise.

whiteminority
January 6th 2007



74 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Some good reccomendations would be Orchid, Neil Perry, Kaospilot, The Apoplexy Twist Orchestra, Shahrazad, Makara, Chris is pretty dead on as well. Angel Hair I wouldn't really say they are more like an influence rather than a similar band. Oh and Mohinder would be good for people to check out as well.

TheMisterBungle
January 6th 2007



861 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I don't know where on earth I would find it otherwise.

You can buy it for $80 or $99 dollars on amazon!
Reptilian Records says they are "temp out"
I bet it's likely they're restock soon... :rolleyes:
This Message Edited On 01.06.07

IsItLuck?
Emeritus
January 6th 2007



4927 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I saw that. Oh well.

TheMisterBungle
January 6th 2007



861 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I wanna find the thing for a reasonable price.
I want it too. This Message Edited On 01.06.07

Abaddon2005
January 8th 2007



684 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This record is less diverse than #8, but "By the Fireplace in White'' is fantastic, although so creepy.

IsItLuck?
Emeritus
February 20th 2007



4927 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I just BOUGHT this CD for 12.99 at this record store I go to. STEAL OF THE YEAR. It's a great CD too.

lunchforthesky
February 21st 2007



1039 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

haha this review is crap, i hate looking at my old reviews.

dyeva
February 21st 2007



59 Comments


Just about everyone hates their old reviews.

StreetlightRock
Emeritus
August 4th 2007



3767 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I don't think i've listened to an album that just completely threw me off balance like this one has before. Intense as fuck.

Digging: Interpol - El Pintor

antihippy
August 22nd 2007



696 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

my application to heaven is one sweet song. best pg 99 song imo.

StreetlightRock
Emeritus
August 22nd 2007



3767 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yay you heard it. So whaddya reckon? Better than #8?



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy