Amanda Woodward
La Decadence de la Decadence


4.0
excellent

Review

by Jewish Dickgirl USER (17 Reviews)
December 25th, 2006 | 27 replies | 6,445 views


Release Date: 2004 | Tracklist

Review Summary: To be as basic as possible, this is amazing music. Think Hot Cross meets Darkest Hour, it's beautiful. Melodic, surreal, emotionally moving.

Albeit the style has been growing more and more generic as of late, we have something that somehow manages to be fresh without doing much innovation.

Amanda Woodward is a screamo band from Caen, France consisting of two guitarists, a bassist, a drummer, and a vocalist. The standard formula, I'd guess, however, what works, works.

Anyhow, onto the music, starting with the title track, you get a sort of energetic feel of strange melodic guitar, somewhat similar to Fall Of Troy or maybe Hot Cross, but it's much more subdued and you have a nice backing rhythm, reminds me of Darkest Hour, very melodic, very enjoyable. The progression of the music is unflawed, and the vocals, well... the standard hoarsely shouted "talk scream" but this time in French!

It's truly a sound where the entire band seems emotionally connected, something that I've personally been searching for lately. In many cases, you'll have very emotional vocals and generic, sterile music, or the other way around, but in some cases, this being one of them, you have music that's driving and loaded with feel, and the coarse vocals that so express emotion.

The second track, Binaire Et Lisible, once more draws in the Hot Cross comparisson, even more so, but a Darkest Hour-like twist on the end of riffs... it's like Cryonics meets Undoing Ruin. Much slower than the first track, but also quite powerful. There's a really nice part that starts at 1:39. As a whole, the structure is basic, but it builds majestically. Busy drumming, but not tooo busy, fittingly busy, like the drummer is having a breakdown along with the vocalist.

I think what adds to the whole feel that this is real and meaningful is the fact that even though the lyrics are in French, the vocals just portray the feel. It's very surreal, from a musical standpoint, but very pretty as well.

The album continues on as such, the song structure stays basic, yet stand-out. It's true genericism, yes, but it's better than the standard, because though it sounds like a lot of other things, it stays good, and throws out its own twist. Very melancholy, and definately relaxing.



Recent reviews by this author
Graves of Valor Salarian GateSeptember 22nd Hello, Throne
Winds Of Plague Decimate The WeakFaithealer We Will Turn Your Cemeteries Into Our...
From A Second Story Window DelendaShai Hulud Hearts Once Nourished With Hope...
user ratings (86)
Chart.
3.7
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
December 25th 2006


17920 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Pretty good short review. This is a great album.

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
December 25th 2006


16088 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Dont do a review like this, describing two songs and saying the rest sound the same and giving it a very high rating. It's a good album, but a few of the songs here suck as much as anything by usurp synapse, which is a good deal.

Tyler
Emeritus
December 25th 2006


7926 Comments


That was fast. Didn't you like, just get this? Good review just a little too brief.This Message Edited On 12.25.06

Neoteric
December 25th 2006


3243 Comments


I was thinking the same as Cocaine, but still fairly good written review.

And if I'm right, the image you upload needs to be a JPEG or it just won't show up. The image you linked to is from a GIF.

i am the robots
December 25th 2006


1027 Comments


Ah, I see... /converts

I as for one or two songs, I merely used them as examples... this is NOT a track by track review, but a review of the album as a whole sillies.

Here's the album art as a JPEG: http://i16.tinypic.com/4fyo9iv.jpg

Also, my reason for giving it a high rating was because I personally feel that every song on it is fantastic, but not 5/5 material.This Message Edited On 12.25.06This Message Edited On 12.25.06

BringHomeTheBacon
December 25th 2006


248 Comments


French emo, cool. If these guys are anything like Belle Epoque, I'm sure I'll like them. I'll check them out. Good review, btw.

Intransit
December 25th 2006


2797 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I like this album alot, but it really sounds nothing like Darkest Hour or Underoath for that matter.

Your review was ok, although I was in the middle of a review of this, so I'll probably turn it in sometime down the road

i am the robots
December 25th 2006


1027 Comments


The similarities I saw between Darkest Hour and Underoath were specifically to specific parts of those two albums.

Some of the chord progressions are like a non metal Darkest Hour.This Message Edited On 12.25.06

Subvert_bassist
December 25th 2006


13 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is a great album. The song Décadence de la Décandence is just fantastic.

Intransit
December 25th 2006


2797 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I still dont really see it, but alright. It was a good review, so I wont complain too much.

i am the robots
December 26th 2006


1027 Comments


Well, the Underoath comparisson was specifically the Changing Of Times album.

I dunno, I drew connections others might not, absolutely fantastic album though.

cbmartinez
December 27th 2006


2525 Comments


I have this on vinyl but I have yet to spin it. But what from I have heard online, it sounds nothing like Darkest Hour.

Okay review.

Jack Wilson
March 10th 2007


313 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i really like the drums on this record. the first track and Mise À Sac build very nicely. good brief review.


leviedman
January 12th 2008


36 Comments


I really like this. I never heard a french screamo band untill now. Its kind of hard to belive its French cause for some reason you feel that you understand it. It kinda feels recycled in the later songs but the album starts off killer

rasputin
September 16th 2008


14544 Comments


Awesome.

koecim
November 1st 2008


69 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

title track kills, these guys do exactly what you said, they keep it simple while keeping it good


gaslightanthem
July 2nd 2009


5209 Comments


i love the guitar on this

chaosizme
July 8th 2009


9 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I love the production on this album. This has to be my favorite Amanda Woodward album as well.

PirateSquid
December 14th 2009


1881 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Dunno, I didn't see anything past a Hot Cross ripoff.

It was entertaining, though.

Adabelle
June 9th 2012


4257 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Title track on this is unbelievably good.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy