Thrice
The Illusion of Safety


4.5
superb

Review

by Neoteric USER (86 Reviews)
December 17th, 2006 | 238 replies | 38,795 views


Release Date: 2002 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Thrice create something emotional and ultimately melodic, possibly one of the best albums from this decade.

5 of 6 thought this review was well written

To be perfectly honest, a lot of modern bands lack the essence that a lot of bands before them have had. Maybe it’s something to do with that the times are moving and everything is becoming more advanced. Records now sound way sharper and more powerful and that tends to divide people up. Some people enjoy the new full-on force that modern records give off while people like the atmosphere that older records hold. I’m completely neutral on this subject of course. While I enjoy the feel of old records, I also enjoy that crisp sound a lot of new releases have.

Thrice are the latter, everything here has a beautiful smooth sound and that’s what really brings the album out. Without this loud production, the hooks wouldn’t be used to their full potential. Hooks, this seems to be the word a lot of underground bands are scared of. It definitely doesn’t hurt to have some instantly grabbing catch to the song and Thrice realize that. The album is stuffed with them, from beginning to end every song has enough punch to blow your lights out. A lot of the songs don’t follow a simple structure at all and seem a bit short with half of the album being under three minutes. In all honesty it just makes this easier to listen to as any longer and the songs would get stale. The record is extremely unique and if they don’t seem unique then it’s usually other bands trying to rip off their style. Every second of every song is something special, there is not a dull moment on the album. It seems the band have had the album planned in their heads, went in to record it and came out exactly the way it played in their head.

The LP is mostly guitar-driven, it has some of the most addictive guitar riffs and lead lines I have ever heard and that’s saying quite a lot. The melody is there as is the heaviness that makes the album seem more powerful. There are solos but usually aren’t just put there for the sake of it, there is always a place for it when Thrice decide to rip the fretboard up. The bass is pretty audible and while not spontaneously standing out a lot, does the job perfectly. Remember that this is mostly guitar driven so the bass isn’t the main concern. The drums are forceful and every roll put into the songs usually lead onto better things. If the snare were produced a bit better then the album could seem more powerful. Dustin’s vocals are perfect, they hit every note the way I want to hear it and he never manages to hit a bum note. Never. The lyrics do tend to be cheesy at times but lyrics aren’t what are important here and they do get the job done at the end of the day so I can’t complain.

The quality never drops at all and every track has something that’s very enjoyable. From the start “Kill Me Quickly” to the punk ending “The Beltsville Crucible”, there isn’t a dull moment. “Kill Me Quickly” will be the one to attack you first with it’s ravaging screaming verses to the instantly gripping hook not even half way through. “A Subtle Dagger” keeps this formula in mind as well as do a few other tracks on the album. “Deadbolt” is supposedly the single from the album (well, I know there was a video made for it) and this is pretty much the song. Every second seems to add something new and it’s a surprise when the piano segment pops up near the end. “In Years To Come” is near the edge of falling out the ‘catchy’ seat but it seems the best part of the song doesn’t come till near the end where it seems Dustin is pouring his heart out right in front of you. “The Red Death” doesn’t really take me in until about a minute in but after that minute, wow.

This is one of the best records in a long while. Thrice manage to convey emotion, melody, power, heaviness and everything else in between on an album that doesn’t even reach forty minutes. Sadly this isn’t much of a five, there isn’t really anything that is legendary on here but for what it is, it’s amazing. Everything is perfect besides a sometimes weak snare and lame production and even that isn’t a problem so I’m going to do the next best thing and give it the second highest rating I can. This is powerful, this is emotional and ultimately melodic, this is Thrice.



Recent reviews by this author
Pink Reason Cleaning the MirrorThinking Fellers Local 282 Lovelyville
Primal Scream Beautiful FutureCan Future Days
King Crimson DisciplineWilliam Basinski Melancholia
user ratings (1846)
Chart.
4.1
excellent
other reviews of this album
Adam Thomas STAFF (5)
The reason I eat, breathe, and sleep music...

Mikedrummer (5)
Damn close to perfect....

Michael Roberts (5)
...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Neoteric
December 17th 2006



3243 Comments


Keep in mind I'm not a huge Thrice fanatic.

innerdark
December 17th 2006



749 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

this has some of my fave Thrice songs on it, Beltsville is a classy song, Betrayal is a symptom is great, and i love where our idols once stood, however, the album just doesn't flow to me, Vehissu is still my top thrice album, but this has my fave thrice songs for the most part

DFelon204409
Emeritus
December 17th 2006



3995 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

This review is sort of insufficient. You stab at explaining the hooks and riffs but are very vague about how they are played. Then there's that track-by-track section that doesn't go beyond track 7. Weird science.

Neoteric
December 17th 2006



3243 Comments


This review is sort of insufficient. You stab at explaining the hooks and riffs but are very vague about how they are played. Then there's that track-by-track section that doesn't go beyond track 7. Weird science.
Oh right, I'll edit it in a bit.

And I didn't want to review every track, it's just that the first seven appeal to me most.

DFelon204409
Emeritus
December 17th 2006



3995 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I think the last three tracks are one of the strongest endings of all time.

innerdark
December 17th 2006



749 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

to awake and avenge is strong, so's beltsville, but So Strange... is, i think, mind-numbingly boring

DFelon204409
Emeritus
December 17th 2006



3995 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

You seriouss....sfnadfjsalkjfal;sdflja;lskdfja. Dude, that ending riff is so savage, and the intro is really soulful. It's one of my favorite Thrice songs of all time.

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
December 17th 2006



17914 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This album is amazing.

godLike
December 17th 2006



126 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

How DFelon said, "So Strange I Remember You" is one of the standouts here. But the whole record hasn't this awesome mood Thrice created on "Vheissu" for example.
But without a doubt: Excellent record.

cbmartinez
December 17th 2006



2525 Comments


Definitely in my top 5. The intro to "So Strange..." is amazing but the ending I always thought was kind of mediocre. The "if we could only see us now" part is sweet though. But yeah, this album is incredible. I think the heavier tracks are definitely the stand out tracks on this album.

ToWhatEnd
December 17th 2006



3172 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Umm let's see here how do I sum this up in a few words; this CD changed my life. Yup that'll do!

Shiftyly
December 17th 2006



82 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Three years of this album and its still getting a play every other day. I think its the end of the beltsville crucible wheres hes yelling play it again, best ending to an album ever. And as they said before, the mood they made with vhiessu was nothing less than epic, but i still think this album is boatloads better

StrizzMatik
December 18th 2006



3158 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Um, best post-hardcore album EVER. What's with people dissing on So Strange... first Thrice song I ever heard and I reckon it's one of their best, easily... truly epic. And yeah, this changed my life. Some people love Vheissu and TAITA but this blows them away with no problem at all. It's doubtful Thrice will ever top this in any way, but the new album looks to be amazing as well. 5/5 all the way.

Shiftyly
January 27th 2007



82 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Thrice may never top this one, but there still gonna make some of the dopest records. Taita was just for a broader audience, and vhiessu is them progressing. But IOS was THE master opus. Only thing i can compare it to is The Shape of Punk To Come. Not to mention the lyrics, mind blowing when readThis Message Edited On 01.27.07

botb
July 14th 2007



9288 Comments


to awake and avenge the dead has the most powerful outro of any song i've ever heard. sooo mind-numbing.

cbmartinez
August 11th 2007



2525 Comments


The breakdown in "Where Idols Once Stood" right after Dustin does that amazing scream of, "I'll draw the shades and stay inside!" is one of my favorite breakdowns ever. So heavy. The outro of the song, that dark little guitar part that Teppei does, is siq too.

tombits
April 6th 2009



3463 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I downloaded this only to find it was password protected.
FUCK YOU THRICE, FUCK YOU.

fatlip27
February 28th 2010



246 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

"I think the last three tracks are one of the strongest endings of all time."

Agreed :D

BeyondSanity
May 21st 2010



130 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

"and they taste like dead cathedrals
that are crumbling beneath a weight ten thousand jaded tourists
who've traded in their hearts and hands for
disposable cameras, set to document decay
set to capture just enough of life to catalog the things we throw away"

Skimaskcheck
May 21st 2010



2360 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

best song ^



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy