U2
U218 Singles


3.0
good

Review

by John Cruz USER (88 Reviews)
November 21st, 2006 | 21 replies | 7,540 views


Release Date: 2006 | Tracklist


4 of 4 thought this review was well written

Well it's that time of year again. Holiday season, Thanksgiving, and the busiest shopping day of the year the very Friday after. Which can only mean one thing to U2 and their record company: Time to rack up some sales.

Seems every year in recent memory the boys from Ireland release one of these do-dads, a DVD, or some sort of product to shuck to fans and newcomers alike. Whether they do it to please the record company, please themselves, or just to do it, the redundency of it all is getting dull. "U218 Singles" is the latest among these releases, and it's as useless as a toothache. Not that there is anything wrong with it's contents. Except for the fact that we have been there and done that with this band many times before. I would have hoped for a bit more to chew on then a ten song bonus DVD of various live cuts.

Contributing nothing new to the mix that can't be found on previous compilations or special releases, this half complete (at best) collection of singles gives us tried and true album versions of well worn songs such as "With Or Without You", "Elevation", "Mysterious Ways", "New Years Day", etc. And although a few of the tunes here are labled "Radio Edit" "New Edit" and "Single Edit", don't be fooled. To these ears their is nothing different about these songs then what we have all heard before or could download from itunes from various albums if we so desired. Reading the sleeve of the CD I was hoping for something more from a "New Edit" of the classic "Where The Streets Have No Name". Nope. Same recording as ever. What is new about it, your guess is as good as mine. The drums are a little louder, maybe? Good going, guys. The only real points of interest on the disc is the collaborative "The Saints Are Coming" recorded with Green Day for the benefit of hurricaine Katrina victims and the little heard "Windows To The World", a Beatles influenced cut that while competent is unremarkable in most every way.

So far as the DVD is concerned the performances are strong as we have come to expect from this group, if nothing special. The Vertigo shows were colorful and well presented gigs and the video captures the band just fine, as if the "Vertigo Live From Chicago 2005" DVD released at this time last year didn't do a good enough job of it. We get fairly stomping versions of "Vertigo" and "I Will Follow", an uplifting "City Of Blinding Light" and beautiful renditions of "Ms. Sarajevo" (dedicated to the victims of the London subway bombing) and "All I Want Is You", the latter taken from the Rattle And Hum album of nearly twenty years ago. Unfortunately also included are four tunes that can be found on the audio disc and various other places throughout this bands career, be it on record or other recent live DVD's. This DVD at just ten songs adds nothing new or interesting.

So who is this collection for? My guess are holiday shoppers looking at stocking stuffers for that odd music fan or two in grandma's life. "Do you think little Billy likes those U2 people? I think they are popular? He likes those "North Pole Monkeys" and all that hip stuff. I think I'll get him this". Um, that's ok grandma. He most likely already has it, and if he doesn't believe me when I say he doesn't want it. You see Gram', U2 are like religion, you either have them or you don't. "Oh really? Don't be silly, John. It's just a stocking stuffer. I'm picking it up". k, Gram'.

Chi-ching, suckers....


*also available as a single audio disc*



Recent reviews by this author
Big Country The CrossingVan Halen Fair Warning
U2 No Line on the HorizonBruce Springsteen Magic
The Smashing Pumpkins ZeitgeistBon Jovi Lost Highway
user ratings (123)
Chart.
3.6
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
JohnXDoesn't
November 21st 2006



1267 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

this is my review of the new U2 release. hope you enjoyed it....

The Sludge
November 21st 2006



2169 Comments


I wouldn't mind this as a stocking stuffer. Just not going to pay full price for something I basically have with the past U2 greatest hits cd's and crappy radio songs from HTDAAB.

morrissey
Moderator
November 21st 2006



1688 Comments


the redundency of it all is getting dull. "U218 Singles" is the latest among these releases, and it's as useless as a toothache. Not that there is anything wrong with it's contents. Except for the fact that we have been there and done that with this band many times before.


Could not agree with you more. And I bet 5 bucks my mom/grandfather/aunt/family friend/secret santa/whoever else will be getting me this. B-]

JohnXDoesn't
November 22nd 2006



1267 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

thanks for giving my review the thumbs up, guys. although i just cleaned it of some bad stuff. kinda busy tonite. should of waited to post it. hate when that happens...

lol at Amanda's growing collection of U2 repeats. ebay++This Message Edited On 11.22.06

Dragon_Prince
November 22nd 2006



272 Comments


They should have made it a best off album, not just singles. Still good songs, I think 4,5 would be good.

Waterloo_Sunset
November 22nd 2006



452 Comments


this would of done well to have dropped off that green day song and put Discotheque on instead - thumbs down for bono...oh and if anyone was thinking Green Day will change their sound for the next album - the saints are coming suggests not! More AI crap still to come!

The Door Mouse
November 22nd 2006



2092 Comments


I love U2 but yeah it is getting redundant. Looking at the tracklistings I see some songs missing that I would put there. SOngs like ONe Tree Hill, The Fly, New York, City of Blinding Lights... I wan't to see the DVD though.This Message Edited On 11.22.06

Patrick
November 22nd 2006



1891 Comments


Damn, I don't know if I should buy this or not. The dvd sounds sweet, and I really like the song with Green Day. Then again, my birthday and Christmas are coming up....


by the way, I read that they released this so their contract with their current record company would be up.

Oddsen
November 22nd 2006



1127 Comments


Great review. I noticed you basically had no specific detail about any of the songs but I
suppose that really wasn't needed. Well maybe you could have just described the saints
are coming considering the fact it is a new song.This Message Edited On 11.22.06

Hottness
November 22nd 2006



49 Comments


Great Review. Pretty Solid.
Unfortunate I own all these songs except the one
I like the saints are coming but it did get old quick


JohnXDoesn't
November 22nd 2006



1267 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Great review. I noticed you basically had no specific detail about any of the songs but I suppose that really wasn't needed. Well maybe you could have just described the saints...

yeah oddsen, that was sort of the tone i was going for with this one. i've reviewed proper U2 albums where i describe the songs plenty, but for this "singles" package, meh. i figure if you've heard even a little U2 (and most have) you know the contents. if you haven't, well, you will most likely listen before you buy. nothing wrong with any of this. it would have to be for the TOTAL U2 n00b, though. that's why i figure its a holiday release and nothing more.

i'm disappointed that they couldn't at least put some effort into this. Bono is busy, so I know it suffers. but from the retro pic on the cover to the "New Edits" inside, its just selling us goods already on the market. and in this digital age where custom mix tapes are as common as cookies, well, I already had this album. just takes a few clicks. meh....and if you want a Vertigo Tour DVD get "Live In Chicago 2005". it's great. and cheaper....
This Message Edited On 11.22.06

girlwithnorythm
November 27th 2006



4 Comments


Good songs but everyone already owns half the albums on which the songs comes off soo i wouldn't see a point in buying it. I have it already on copy though good enough for me :D.

stratroker09
December 22nd 2006



22 Comments


I've heard all of these songs, but I was wondering what everyone thought about the new song with Green Day?
is it two great tastes that taste great together, or not???

JohnXDoesn't
December 22nd 2006



1267 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

sure. i like it fine. rocks pretty good, both bands seems to be well represented on the track. bono and Blille Joe sound find together. i think edge gives it some nice guitar work. good track. great video, too. its funny how great those images make me feel when i see them. if only they were real....don't know if you have seen it or not....This Message Edited On 12.22.06

ninjuice
January 10th 2008



6760 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"New Edit" of the classic "Where The Streets Have No Name". Nope. Same recording as ever. What is new about it, your guess is as good as mine. The drums are a little louder, maybe?

The intro is much shorter. One would figure a staff person would realize that.This Message Edited On 02.28.08

DeadStarShine
November 5th 2009



774 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Average.

DeadStarShine
November 5th 2009



774 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

No matter what people say, IMO U2 is simply average. Nothing special at all. It just doesn't catch my atention.

scotish
November 5th 2009



835 Comments


try listening to under a blood red sky (what I shout at most folk that don't love U2)

album is pretty redundant, given that they already have best of 80's and 90's


Irving
Staff Reviewer
September 25th 2010



7163 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Great review!

Irving
Staff Reviewer
November 25th 2010



7163 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I just read this again, and noticed this:

The only real points of interest on the disc is the collaborative "The Saints Are Coming" recorded with Green Day for the benefit of hurricaine Katrina victims and the little heard "Windows To The World", a Beatles influenced cut that while competent is unremarkable in most every way.


LOLZ.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy