Old 12-29-2011, 10:06 PM   #1
FartMang von Butt

using a loop pedal and playing with a drum machine... terrible

so i have a boss RC20XL loop station, and i have an alesis sr16 as well as hr16 drum machines. so since every musician i ever had a band with moved away, i'm trying to get a solo thing going on with some nice intricate pretty songs. and considering that i've been playing music for almost 9 years, this is not difficult to do. or at least, it SHOULDN'T be...

problem is, when i get my drum machine going and start playing a layer that i want to loop, my playing will be spot on and i'll have perfect timing. BUT if i stomp on the pedal even half of a half of a millisecond off time, the tiny fractions of seconds start to add up and like headlights slowly blinking out of sync, it will get distinctively off time after it loops around a number of times. and since my songs are 3-5 minutes long, this obviously gets pretty nasty.

when i try the songs without the drum machines i'm fine, but i want percussion and since i don't have a drummer who can make conscious decisions to keep the timing humanly stable, i'm stuck with only this option unless i shell out some cash for something else that can help. i just don't know what will help though.

can anybody give me some advice?
i know there's a tempo button on the RC20XL that i can push while listening to the drum beat, and then it'll try to sync it, but the problem is, i don't wanna have to crouch down and set the tempo at the start of every single song...
Old 12-30-2011, 03:25 PM   #2
Undead
Gunslinger

You just may need a digital audio workstation for a project like this.
Old 12-30-2011, 04:01 PM   #3
FunkMetalBass
GrandMaster FunkMetal

Is there a tap tempo controller for the RC20XL? If not, you may have to just bend down and deal with it.