Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread
Old 12-27-2007, 09:33 AM   #1
TheJerkyBoys
Registered User
 
TheJerkyBoys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 354
Running two pickups through a Mixer

I just placed an order for a Yamaha Billy Sheehan signature bass:

http://www.samash.com/catalog/showitem.asp?ItemPos=6&TempID=7&STRID=102142&Method=2&CategoryID=0&BrandID=0&PriceRangeID=0&PageNum=0&DepartmentID=0&pagesize=10&SortMethod=3&SearchPhrase=billy+sheehan&Contains=%2Abilly%2A+AND+%2Asheehan%2A&Search_Type=SEARCH&GroupCode=

I have wanted it for a long time.
I don't know what I'll do with my recently purchased Stingray.
Maybe sell it or return it if I really like the Yamaha Attitude.

Anyways, the Billy Sheehan model has two outputs, one for each pickup. The P-style pickup (the closer one to the bridge) takes care of the highs, while the Woofer at the neck takes care of the lows. The P pickup only has a volume knob, but the Woofer has a tone and a volume.

I've searched through the forum and found that someone has already asked a question about a Billy Sheehan bass. It seems that I would either have to run each pickup through an individual amp (which isn't feasible for me at the moment, but can be done if I earn money for a second amp) or run both pickups through a 4-channel mini-mixer:

http://www.musiciansfriend.com/product/Nady-MM141-4Channel-Mini-Mixer?sku=630433

http://www.musiciansfriend.com/product/ART-PowerMIX-II-Mini-Line-Mixer?sku=180624

My question is, what mixer is better? Are there any other mixers out there that I can use? Also, does the Art mixer^^ have one output or two? Seems like it has two "arrows" painted on it!!??
Finally do you think that those mixers will perform a satisfactory job as opposed to me using 2 amps? What are your opinions on this?

I really don't have much experience with mixers, so if someone could help me out with this, I would really appreciate it.
TheJerkyBoys is offline  
Old 12-27-2007, 09:37 AM   #2
rh15951
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 7,268
I've seen a box somewhere where you can plug the two outputs into it and it puts both signals into 1 cable. If you can't find one, it'll be dead easy to make one.
rh15951 is offline  
Old 12-27-2007, 10:37 AM   #3
Polyamarous
HOME OF THE BODY BAG
 
Polyamarous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: (S)Exeter
Posts: 5,678
I agree with making something yourself, either a cable or box.

Or don't use both pickups at the same time!
Polyamarous is offline  
Old 12-27-2007, 10:42 AM   #4
Polyamarous
HOME OF THE BODY BAG
 
Polyamarous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: (S)Exeter
Posts: 5,678
http://bayoucables.com/y-adaptor-p-89.html

for $10 i have a solution.
Polyamarous is offline  
Old 12-27-2007, 11:04 AM   #5
rh15951
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 7,268
That's the badger.
rh15951 is offline  
Old 12-27-2007, 12:47 PM   #6
exit
The Hard Goodbye
 
exit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Waregem, Belgium
Posts: 818
Doesn't it mess up the sound a bit then? Just wondering, no experience with this at all...
exit is offline  
Old 12-27-2007, 01:44 PM   #7
TheJerkyBoys
Registered User
 
TheJerkyBoys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 354
Quote:
Originally Posted by exit View Post
Doesn't it mess up the sound a bit then? Just wondering, no experience with this at all...
It probably does, but I really don't have any money for the 2nd amp unless I return my Stingray, which I would hate to do.
TheJerkyBoys is offline  
Old 12-27-2007, 01:46 PM   #8
TheJerkyBoys
Registered User
 
TheJerkyBoys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 354
So, can someone tell me please, will the Nady mixer work?
It should, right?
$20 is not a big deal.
TheJerkyBoys is offline  
Old 12-27-2007, 01:48 PM   #9
Jody LeCompte
MX Big Country
 
Jody LeCompte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,859
....

Didn't you just buy a stingray?
Jody LeCompte is offline  
Old 12-27-2007, 02:07 PM   #10
edgebass5
overpriced trendy garbage
 
edgebass5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 10,698
A mixer is not the ideal solution. A mixer will work best when accepting a balanced signal. Your bass will put out two unbalanced signals. The only way to make a mixer work optimally in this situation would be to have two DI boxes, one for each signal, sending a balanced signal to the mixer. In addition to the balanced/unbalanced issue, there can sometimes be an input impedance problem when running a bass directly into a mixer.
edgebass5 is offline  
Old 12-27-2007, 02:07 PM   #11
rh15951
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 7,268
Why do you need a mixer when that box will do the same thing?
rh15951 is offline  
Old 12-27-2007, 02:23 PM   #12
TheJerkyBoys
Registered User
 
TheJerkyBoys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 354
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jody LeCompte View Post
....

Didn't you just buy a stingray?
Your point?
TheJerkyBoys is offline  
Old 12-27-2007, 03:07 PM   #13
Jody LeCompte
MX Big Country
 
Jody LeCompte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,859
You should give me a dollar.
Jody LeCompte is offline  
Old 12-27-2007, 03:22 PM   #14
TheJerkyBoys
Registered User
 
TheJerkyBoys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 354
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jody LeCompte View Post
You should give me a dollar.
I will return a Stingray if I like the Yamaha more and vice versa.
TheJerkyBoys is offline  
Old 12-27-2007, 03:22 PM   #15
Jody LeCompte
MX Big Country
 
Jody LeCompte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,859
I'd keep both.

Very different tone.
Jody LeCompte is offline  
Old 12-27-2007, 03:25 PM   #16
rh15951
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 7,268
Not everyone has enough money for both, rich boy
rh15951 is offline  
Old 12-27-2007, 03:26 PM   #17
Jody LeCompte
MX Big Country
 
Jody LeCompte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,859
He already paid for both.

Rich boy? I was just begging for a dollar on the internet...
Jody LeCompte is offline  
Old 12-27-2007, 03:27 PM   #18
rh15951
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 7,268
That's how u got rich, rich boy
rh15951 is offline  
Old 12-27-2007, 03:29 PM   #19
TheJerkyBoys
Registered User
 
TheJerkyBoys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 354
Quote:
Originally Posted by edgebass5 View Post
A mixer is not the ideal solution. A mixer will work best when accepting a balanced signal. Your bass will put out two unbalanced signals. The only way to make a mixer work optimally in this situation would be to have two DI boxes, one for each signal, sending a balanced signal to the mixer. In addition to the balanced/unbalanced issue, there can sometimes be an input impedance problem when running a bass directly into a mixer.
So, if I do this, I would have each of the pickups connected to individual DI boxes and then those 2 DI boxes to the mixer, and finally to the amp, right? Are there any cheap but good DI boxes you can recommend?

Do you really think it would sound like crap if I just run two pickups through the mixer and into an amp?
TheJerkyBoys is offline  
Old 12-27-2007, 03:41 PM   #20
edgebass5
overpriced trendy garbage
 
edgebass5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 10,698
At this point I'm still blown away that you're even considering a mixer. A simple Y-cable (as posted above) will do the same job but without dealing with a mixer console, an additional power supply, input impedance mismatches, balanced vs. unbalanced signals, etc. etc. etc.

Just get a 1/4" Y-Cable and be done with it
edgebass5 is offline  
Old 12-27-2007, 05:38 PM   #21
TheJerkyBoys
Registered User
 
TheJerkyBoys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 354
Quote:
Originally Posted by edgebass5 View Post
At this point I'm still blown away that you're even considering a mixer. A simple Y-cable (as posted above) will do the same job but without dealing with a mixer console, an additional power supply, input impedance mismatches, balanced vs. unbalanced signals, etc. etc. etc.

Just get a 1/4" Y-Cable and be done with it
Lol, why didn't you just say so?
TheJerkyBoys is offline  
Old 12-27-2007, 05:52 PM   #22
TheJerkyBoys
Registered User
 
TheJerkyBoys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 354
Quote:
Originally Posted by Polyamarous View Post
One last question: on that webpage, there is the "connectors" option. Should I go with G&H nickel straights, neutrik nickel straights, neutrik black/gold straights, or G&H black/gold straights? What's the differences? Are Neutrik better than G&H?
TheJerkyBoys is offline  
Old 12-27-2007, 05:57 PM   #23
edgebass5
overpriced trendy garbage
 
edgebass5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 10,698
While Bayou Cables makes an exceptional product, I would suggest just going down to your local music store and picking up a Y-Cable. It'll likely be a few bucks cheaper, you'll get it more quickly and you aren't likely to notice much difference, if any, between a decent Y-Cable and a great one.
edgebass5 is offline  
Old 12-27-2007, 06:28 PM   #24
TheJerkyBoys
Registered User
 
TheJerkyBoys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 354
Quote:
Originally Posted by edgebass5 View Post
While Bayou Cables makes an exceptional product, I would suggest just going down to your local music store and picking up a Y-Cable. It'll likely be a few bucks cheaper, you'll get it more quickly and you aren't likely to notice much difference, if any, between a decent Y-Cable and a great one.
Hey Edge, have you ever done any business with Bayou Cables? On the website, it says that the owner makes all cables custom to order. I wonder how long it would take for me to receive that cable.

I am asking because I just called my local Guitar Center and they informed me that they don't have any Y cables (2 male, 1 female) in stock.
TheJerkyBoys is offline  
Old 12-27-2007, 06:46 PM   #25
Jody LeCompte
MX Big Country
 
Jody LeCompte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,859
One day Chris's rig is going to have a rack mountable coffee pot.

I can see it already.
Jody LeCompte is offline  
Old 12-27-2007, 07:23 PM   #26
Az_Holl
MX Zoids Pilot
 
Az_Holl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Planet Zi
Posts: 10,222
Yo... you guys do realise that Attitudes can be run off of one output right? They've got a push/pull switch that switches the bass from stereo to mono...
Az_Holl is offline  
Old 12-27-2007, 07:34 PM   #27
TheJerkyBoys
Registered User
 
TheJerkyBoys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 354
Quote:
Originally Posted by Az_Holl View Post
Yo... you guys do realise that Attitudes can be run off of one output right? They've got a push/pull switch that switches the bass from stereo to mono...
Lol, I didn't even realize that. Do you know where that switch is on the bass?
TheJerkyBoys is offline  
Old 12-27-2007, 11:21 PM   #28
Az_Holl
MX Zoids Pilot
 
Az_Holl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Planet Zi
Posts: 10,222
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheJerkyBoys View Post
Lol, I didn't even realize that. Do you know where that switch is on the bass?
Actually... from the looks of the Yamaha website, the Attitude II doesnt appear to have the stereo/mono switch.

I know the first Attitude did... thats weird.

Well if thats the case, then a Y cable is your best option.
Az_Holl is offline  
Old 12-27-2007, 11:45 PM   #29
edgebass5
overpriced trendy garbage
 
edgebass5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 10,698
TheJerkyBoys: I've never ordered anything directly from Bayou, but I have used their stuff as part of various backlines. Its all very top-shelf. The build quality and components are all immaculate. I would definitely use them, I'm just not an advocate of spending tons of money on cables when something from another manufacturer will be good enough for less money.

Jody LeCompte: Rackmountable coffee pot... I actually don't like coffee, so I wouldn't hold your breath waiting for it to happen. That said, if there was a way to hook up a rackmountable 7/11 Slurpee machine... Well... I'd be all over it!
edgebass5 is offline  
Old 12-28-2007, 01:19 AM   #30
TheJerkyBoys
Registered User
 
TheJerkyBoys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 354
I am about to order a Y cable. My local Guitar Center doesn't have it, the Bayou place order would take a while, so I am probably going to get it from Musiciansfriend.

Will this work?:
http://www.musiciansfriend.com/product/Horizon-1F2M-Mono-14-Guitar-Y-Cable?sku=336201

I need to know for sure. I don't want to get a cable, then try to hook it up to both pickups, connect it to an amp and then find out it doesn't work. If someone could confirm that the above cable would work, I would appreciate it.
TheJerkyBoys is offline  
 


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:54 AM.