Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread
Old 10-01-2012, 01:34 PM   #1
karmapavementplan
basstard
 
karmapavementplan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 880
Alesis nanoverb bypass problem

So I've started using an alesis nanoverb at the end of my chain, I've noticed when I use the bypass footswitch there's a huge volume drop. Anyone else have this issue? Is it just a case of finding the correct balance between the input and output knob, or should I just put a looper pedal in there instead?
karmapavementplan is offline  
Old 10-01-2012, 04:35 PM   #2
FunkMetalBass
GrandMaster FunkMetal
 
FunkMetalBass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Phoenix, Arizona, USA Arrests: More than Ryan
Posts: 14,722
Maybe a stupid question, but are you sure it's not the other way around - too much boost when you engage it?

If that's not the case, can you put it in the FX loop of your amp? It looks like it might be a rack unit intended for line-level signals impedance.
FunkMetalBass is offline  
Old 10-02-2012, 04:49 PM   #3
karmapavementplan
basstard
 
karmapavementplan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 880
Quote:
Originally Posted by FunkMetalBass View Post
Maybe a stupid question, but are you sure it's not the other way around - too much boost when you engage it?

If that's not the case, can you put it in the FX loop of your amp? It looks like it might be a rack unit intended for line-level signals impedance.
I think it's more volume cut on bypass as opposed to too much volume boost. Do you think it might be as simple as putting it in the fx loop to fix it? Might make sense as I am only running it at the end if my chain, and just mooching about online very few people have my issue, so I'll give it a shot next practice I guess, ta.
karmapavementplan is offline  
Old 10-04-2012, 03:01 AM   #4
Tinaphpc
mx newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 7
I also very much agree with this view.

Tinaphpc is offline  
Old 10-09-2012, 01:49 AM   #5
superjoe
Registered User
 
superjoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: in your mother
Posts: 8,220
did you read the instructions?
superjoe is offline  
Old 10-17-2012, 07:06 AM   #6
karmapavementplan
basstard
 
karmapavementplan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 880
I found the issue, it's a bit odd. Basically the bypass switch removes the wet sound in the most hamfisted way. If I have the mix cranked so it really heavily effected, when I bypass the effects I'm left with just a very quiet dry signal. Basically I have to just leave the wet/dry mix about midway.
karmapavementplan is offline  
Old 11-09-2012, 01:28 AM   #7
buorfrsxs
mx newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 3
I think it's more volume cut on bypass as opposed to too much volume boost. Do you think it might be as simple as putting it in the fx loop to fix it?
http://www.nikeshoxinbox.com/kids-nike-shox-c-38.html
[url=http://www.nikeshoxinbox.com/kids-nike-shox-nike-shox-kids-shoes-c-38_44.html]Nike Shox Kids Shoes[/url]
[url=http://www.nikeshoxinbox.com/women-nike-shox-nike-shox-r2-c-22_28.html]Women Nike Shox R2[/url]
[url=http://www.nikeshoxinbox.com/women-nike-shox-nike-shox-tl3-c-22_33.html]Womens Nike Shox TL3[/url] Might make sense as I am only running it at the end if my chain, and just mooching about online very few people have my issue, so I'll give it a shot next practice I guess, ta.
buorfrsxs is offline  
Old 11-09-2012, 01:29 AM   #8
buorfrsxs
mx newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 3
when I bypass the effects I'm left with just a very quiet dry signal.<a href="http://www.nikeshoxinbox.com">Nike Shox</a>
<a href="http://www.nikeshoxinbox.com/mens-nike-shox-c-1.html">Mens Nike Shox</a>
<a href="http://www.nikeshoxinbox.com/mens-nike-shox-nike-shox-classic-c-1_2.html">Nike Shox Classic</a>
<a href="http://www.nikeshoxinbox.com/mens-nike-shox-nike-shox-deliver-c-1_3.html">Nike Shox Deliver</a>
<a href="http://www.nikeshoxinbox.com/mens-nike-shox-nike-shox-monster-c-1_5.html">Nike Shox Monster</a>
Basically I have to just leave the wet/dry mix about midway.
buorfrsxs is offline  
Old 11-12-2012, 08:55 AM   #9
karmapavementplan
basstard
 
karmapavementplan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 880
Quote:
Originally Posted by buorfrsxs View Post
I think it's more volume cut on bypass as opposed to too much volume boost. Do you think it might be as simple as putting it in the fx loop to fix it?
http://www.nikeshoxinbox.com/kids-nike-shox-c-38.html
[url=http://www.nikeshoxinbox.com/kids-nike-shox-nike-shox-kids-shoes-c-38_44.html]Nike Shox Kids Shoes[/url]
[url=http://www.nikeshoxinbox.com/women-nike-shox-nike-shox-r2-c-22_28.html]Women Nike Shox R2[/url]
[url=http://www.nikeshoxinbox.com/women-nike-shox-nike-shox-tl3-c-22_33.html]Womens Nike Shox TL3[/url] Might make sense as I am only running it at the end if my chain, and just mooching about online very few people have my issue, so I'll give it a shot next practice I guess, ta.
Ah thank you for you input. My nanoverb is now working perfectly thanks to my new nike shox.
karmapavementplan is offline  
Old 12-08-2012, 11:50 PM   #10
blesak
mx newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1
thanks for all the information guys

http://www.doltuku.co
http://www.haii.co
blesak is offline  
 


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:52 PM.