Sputnik Music Forums

Sputnik Music Forums (http://www.sputnikmusic.com/forums/index.php)
-   Drums & Percussion (http://www.sputnikmusic.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=9)
-   -   Blast Beats (http://www.sputnikmusic.com/forums/showthread.php?t=615495)

A000 09-05-2012 08:04 PM

Blast Beats

I'm brand new to them. I can't even play at 100 bpm comfortably.

I'd like to know the proper technique, the different blasts, and exercises to practice them.

Any help is much appreciated.

Thanks!

Aaron 09-07-2012 06:12 AM

Practice slowly. Slower than you'd expect. With a metronome.
One exercise I do is basic two voice syncopation:

[FONT="Courier New"]
H1 = Leading Hand
H2 = Snare Hand
F1 = Leading Foot
F2 = Hi-Hat Foot

H1 xxxxxxxx|--------|--------|xxxxxxxx|
H2 --------|xxxxxxxx|xxxxxxxx|--------|
F1 xxxxxxxx|xxxxxxxx|--------|--------|
F2 --------|--------|xxxxxxxx|xxxxxxxx|

[/FONT]

So you play two limbs at the same time all the time (hand and foot), and exchange one at a time. Maintain 16th notes. Cycle through so you've played your right hand and right foot, right hand and left foot, left hand and right foot & left hand and left foot. Doesn't really matter how you swap between if you change foot, or hand, but the idea is practicing disconnecting leading hand and leading foot.

Vinnie's Ice Cream 09-08-2012 09:14 PM

Well said.

Just basically run through all the various combinations to a click. Start baby slow, like 40 bpm. Seriously. You'll be so much better for it.

Print out some blank staff paper and write down the various exercises you can find online, and just cycle through the various possible combinations, keep track of your metronome settings.
Study Gene Hoglan's playing.

Don't lame out like a lot of metal guys do with the whimpy tapping to attain speed easier.

Use Big Powerful Strokes!

You will be god like very very fast if you follow this method.

Aaron 09-08-2012 10:41 PM