Sputnik Music Forums

Sputnik Music Forums (http://www.sputnikmusic.com/forums/index.php)
-   Drums & Percussion (http://www.sputnikmusic.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=9)
-   -   Medeli DD506 and EZDrummer questions (http://www.sputnikmusic.com/forums/showthread.php?t=556331)

The Crimson Sunset 04-28-2008 08:57 AM

Medeli DD506 and EZDrummer questions

Hi,

2 days ago I bought the Medeli DD506 electronic drumkit. It's a rather cheap e-kit, but I'm just using the drumkit for fun because I'm mainly a guitarist.

Now yesterday I tried hooking up the DD506 to my computer (by using MIDI) to trigger the drums sounds from EZDrummer. So I'm going:

dd506 ---- midi ----- computer (cubase + ezdrummer) ----- speaker

After some trial and error things started to work fine, though I'm still stuck with a few things:

1. When I hit the "open hi-hat" on the dd506, it triggers the open hi-hat in EZDrummer. But when I hit "tom 2" on the dd506 it also triggers the open hi-hat in EZDrummer... How do I change this?

2. With the Medeli I can choke the symbals, but when I connect to my pc to get trigger the sounds from EZDrummer, I can't choke the symbals anymore. Is it possible to also choke the symbals when using EZDrummer ?

Thanks for any help !! :)

SparBZ 04-28-2008 10:02 AM

I'm not familiar with any of the products, but if there's a "Learn MIDI" button on the program, you should be able to set Learn MIDI to tom2, then hit the tom.

For the second problem, the EZDrummer is not recognizing your "choke" or doesn't have a sound to play.

Carn 04-28-2008 10:07 AM

a choked cymbal probably has a midi-note value that is not pre-set in EZdrummer. If you find the correct sound to match it with the midi-note, it should work.

-i think-

The Crimson Sunset 04-28-2008 12:04 PM

In Cubase I checked the input midi-notes when I played the different parts of the Medeli DD506.

I noticed that the open hi-hat and Tom2 both give the same midi-note :confused:

Carn 04-28-2008 12:17 PM