PDA

View Full Version : Is it better to record in mono or stereo?


tisza
12-04-2007, 09:31 PM
I assume its better in stereo but sometimes when I'm recording from my Pod and I do stereo it comes out really weird. The recording sounds as if I played it out of my computer speakers and then used the mic on my laptop, which is not what I'm doing. But anyways are there any benefits, or bad things, about mono?

screamingdaisy1
12-04-2007, 09:36 PM
Record two tracks in mono.

Pan one hard left, and the other hard right.

Sounds particularly good with heavy guitars.

bill lumbergh
12-04-2007, 09:48 PM
it dosnt matter as long as you pan it because either way its just gonna play the left or right channel so it will be in mono no matter what. so its whatever really...

tisza
12-04-2007, 09:48 PM
What are some good ways to pan guitars? Besides the 100 - 100 way, can't you do like, 80, 20 - 20, 80... and stuff like that?

johnb73
12-04-2007, 10:00 PM
depends if you are british or american...
the brits took the longest to switch over haha

sorry a joke i heard from the engineer of the beatles(Geoff Emerick) at AES...

i like to record tracks in mono and assign them to center of the mix or left/right so if i have rhythm guitar and lead i typically put them in different ears

with guitars its weird... i usually just play with the pan, make multiple versions of the track and see which one sounds best... basically play around will you find what sounds "good"

tisza
12-04-2007, 10:15 PM
Ok. Im trying to learn how to mix. I've been using Audition which I find way easier to use than Cubase, so I'm actually getting stuff done. So I've been playing around with the levels and stuff and its actually sounding not bad for my first mix.

johnb73
12-04-2007, 10:39 PM
sickk man, where abouts in Boston are you?
i typically use a digi003 and protools set up but..
http://amt411.aisites.com/Images/Img0102%20copy.jpg
i use this to record to 24 track tape
http://amt411.aisites.com/Images/studio%20a2.jpg
and this to record to protools HD3

those are the studios at my school that i can use

drenzium
12-04-2007, 10:48 PM
^

tiny bit off topic?

&

i hate you.

tisza
12-04-2007, 10:48 PM
Damn I was gonna say if that was yours...

I live in Winthrop but I'm up in Vermont for school.

BTW what school is that?

johnb73
12-04-2007, 10:51 PM
New England Institute of art

we have "better" studios then those but they are my favorite so far

denzium, how was it off topic? his post before that one said what he was using/learning so i was telling/showing what i use/learn

drenzium
12-05-2007, 12:06 AM
denzium, how was it off topic? his post before that one said what he was using/learning so i was telling/showing what i use/learn

im just jealous :upset: leave me be

johnb73
12-05-2007, 01:28 AM
im just jealous :upset: leave me be

no need to be jealous, im extremely poor due to my gear and i can just barely afford to live. i have $22.10 to last me the rest of this month

drenzium
12-05-2007, 02:20 AM
i have about $1,050

-jealousy evaporates-