PDA

View Full Version : Washburn Taurus 14, quilt top

VinnySixKnuckles
04-23-2006, 07:22 PM
Alright this is my second bass. I started playing July 6, 2005. I've had it since December 05. I bought it at my local music store, where they sell primarily Washburn, Fender, and Ibanez. I didn't like the tone of the Ibanez ones at all, and the Fenders were a little steep. Squier doesn't seem worth it to me. I opted for mid-range and acceptable, the passive and pretty nice looking T14Q. I payed $300 marked down from $400.

http://washburn.com/products/basses/images/zoom_t14qts.jpg

So the first thing I noticed was:
SUSTAIN
This may or may not be a good thing. I personally like it sometimes, but I think my playing style would benefit more from punchier pickups.

The tone is pretty versatile, but I find the jazz pickup lacking. Since it's one of those p split and j single combos, it has a pretty mediocre tone you might expect from this range.
It cannot slap or pop very well at all. Tapping and hammering is handled pretty decently.

The finish is really cool. It doesn't look cheap really, it has a nice gradient to it. The picture is pretty accurate. The shape is pretty effective, doesn't dive at all and is comfortable for long standing. But the tradeoff on that is. . . sitting down with it can kill your spine. I wouldn't reccomend it.
There were two blemishes, both miniscule but nevertheless present. One chip where the body meets the neck and a little divet on the back. I can deal with that.
It stays in tune very well, good machines.

The higher end Taurus's, the 24 and 25 (five string) are very very good. Those have an awwwwesome construction. Great laminate and they are neck-thru also.

Features:
3/5
Bad slapping/popping, good hammering. Great sustain. Decent tone/range. Clear warm sound. Low noise. Stays in tune.

Quality:
3/5