PDA

View Full Version : The Future

mx
02-14-2006, 09:02 PM
Hey guys,

As most of you know, I am a university student (double major), and thus can't work on the site full time. This semester I have a lot more work than I've anticipated, and I've been neglecting it a bit for the site. But I'm going to have to tone back the site work - there will be less updates now, although I will work when I get the chance. It's just too hectic to put forth full effort in both school and the site.

That being said, here are things that are going to happen in the future (no particular timetable, but this is the rough order)

1) Upgraded Server - things have been slow lately, we're going to have to fix that.

2) Site Redesign - The dark look, although cool, does not work for a majority of monitors, which makes things hard to read (grey on grey). We'll be switching to a style reminiscent of mxtabs, with silver, dark grey, and red. However, the design will be more polished than mxtabs, and still retain the sputnik feel. Nothing will be lost. If I have time, I will include a skin switcher, so people can switch back to the old style if they prefer.

3) "Sputnik Musings" - Articles that you can write on music related stuff. These can be tagged as journals, which appear in your profile, or as articles, which appear on the main page and in an articles section. They can be commented on, and any references you make to a band will include the band link (ie wikipedia). A good place for you guys who like writing to contribute, and hopefully raising the level of the site

4) Customized lists - Make customizable album/song rankings viewable for all

That's all for now, it will be awhile before everything is implemented. Rest assured that stuff is being done, even if the apparent pace is slow for awhile.

Thanks guys, and thanks for making the sputnik site such a cool community

Jeremy

Jom
02-14-2006, 09:06 PM