PDA

View Full Version : Basic jazz?

SillyPuddyonIce
11-30-2005, 08:55 PM
I'm looking for some jazz that just has chords, bassline, and melody/soloist, etc. All the jazz I find is really complicated, all over the place, or just weird in some cases.. I'm trying to study jazz and I just want to hear some stuff with the basic theory of jazz.. like accented beats and types of chords etc. Any suggestions? I'm a bassist looking to studying how jazz works etc right now

Anyhow thanks for replies.

scotch
11-30-2005, 09:01 PM
I'm looking for some jazz that just has chords, bassline, and melody/soloist, etc. All the jazz I find is really complicated, all over the place, or just weird in some cases.. I'm trying to study jazz and I just want to hear some stuff with the basic theory of jazz.. like accented beats and types of chords etc. Any suggestions? I'm a bassist looking to studying how jazz works etc right now

Since the only jazz I can think of that doesn't have "just chords, bassline, and melody/soloist, etc." is free jazz, dixieland, big band jazz, and certain specimens of contrapuntal cool jazz, I really don't know what you mean.

mprules
12-01-2005, 04:20 AM
i was thinking the same, he must be listening to some whack jazz

SillyPuddyonIce
12-01-2005, 05:43 AM
You'd be suprised. I think I just need to listen to some older jazz.

dj_ando
12-01-2005, 07:34 AM
yeah look at some earlier stuff. modern jazz has come a long way, you've gotta get back to the roots and work your way through. perhaps players like clifford brown and dizzy gillespie are for you. if you're into big bands, check out duke ellington, count basie, all those cats. even though i don't particularly like early jazz, it's a great place to start at, and once you get a grip on things you can progress through the different jazz era's. my personal fave is the modal era in the 60s ;) some of the best music ever written imo.

dragonzmad
12-03-2005, 03:12 AM