PDA

View Full Version : Jazz Drum Songs

verve
11-12-2005, 08:12 PM
I have been playing drums for about four years
I have a show in about a month.
Itís going to be a recital type setting that is supposed to showcase me.
there will only be a very small group, maybe only drums and keyboard.
So my question isÖ

can any of you think of any not too complicated jazz songs that could really showcase the drummer?

Thanks

HitHardDrums55
11-12-2005, 09:34 PM
improvise crazy jazz fills with the basic swing rythm

zfmt
11-12-2005, 11:08 PM
ya, what I do is play the beat, but I rotate drums. like I would make a beat play it on snare only, then play with one of my hands on the ride cymbal, then modify the beat till it sounds good, then I would go back to the snare thing and hit the toms in the pattern.

(my grammer sucks tonight, I hope you understand what im saying)

dj_ando
11-13-2005, 03:57 AM
sing sing sing is more of a big band tune, i wouldn't recommend it for a trio.

try something like take five, joe morello really shines in that song. but really, you can stick a solo into any jazz tune, just take a couple of choruses. are you not willing to take a solo?

Chameleon
11-13-2005, 05:36 AM
Both suggestions are excellent, fun tunes for drums. But as said, Sing Sing Sing would probably sound pretty dire as a trio...

If your pianist is good you could try Birdland. It's originally by Weather Report but various people have done great versions of it that are much more jazzy. Maynard Ferguson for one. It would work best if you had a good bassist as well.

Caleb3221
11-13-2005, 08:06 AM
You could try a simple blues song or something. You wouldn't have to worry about following odd form movements when soloing, you can just go at it.

stoned_rat
11-15-2005, 01:17 AM
play birdland by the buddy rich big band....however you may need a little more than a trio....but a great song all the same.

Toolboy
11-16-2005, 11:25 AM