PDA

View Full Version : Some really hard bass player questions

fishingforbasses
11-03-2005, 03:46 PM
I play rock, but my melodic groove is defidently in the style of jazz. I had the liberty of purchasing two CD's that should sound familiar....

Marcus Millers - Silver Rain

and no jazz bassist's colloection isn't complete without....

A Jaco CD

I have Word OF Mouth Revised

I was wondering if there are any EASY songs on these CD's and which ones...
I am a good bassist, not the one plucking 1 2 3 2 1 4 2 5 6 or whatever
I CAN PLAY well, but which is the easier to learn first?

I worte this after I tried Barbary Coast...

THX
Devlano

manuscriptreplica
11-03-2005, 04:32 PM
There are no 'easy' songs on those CD's... they're called virtuosos for a reason.

fishingforbasses
11-03-2005, 04:42 PM
I don't know why I always have to explain everything in essay form....

I am looking for the easier ones.....I'm am asking which of the songs are the easiest, not asking for an easy one ......

ieatSouls
11-03-2005, 05:00 PM
Why are you asking us which songs are easier? Can't you tell by listening which ones you think you can play? You can tell better than us, that's for sure. Just pick one that sounds cool and try to figure it out. The harder the better if you ask me.

6stringslinger
11-03-2005, 06:37 PM
try the bass guitar forum, you will get more feedback

Caleb3221
11-03-2005, 07:59 PM
I've been working on Bruce Lee from Silver Rain, it's not ridiculously hard, and a very cool song and bass part. There is some stuff that I can't touch, though, especially in the solos.

basgitarist
11-04-2005, 03:21 AM
power of soul is one of the easiest I reccon

fishingforbasses
11-04-2005, 02:17 PM
thanks caleb and basgitarist.. I'll give em a try....

6 string slinger....thanks for the suggestion

rojo01
11-04-2005, 07:11 PM