PDA

View Full Version : Soundtracks and Musicals

asdf
10-30-2005, 09:49 AM
What are some excellent soundtracks to movies, or some great musicals that you just love?

I was inspired to make this thread because on friday and saturday I went to see Rocky Horror in theaters. I've been doing that around halloween for a few years now, and I've always liked that movie a lot. But not until this week did I realize how great the songs actually are. The catchy factor is amazing. I could listen to most of them without the movie.

Another movie that I love, that I'm not sure if it's considered a musical or what, is the commitments. Irish Soul. Excellent movie that I grew up watching and listening to the music from.

Zappa
10-30-2005, 10:08 AM
I am very much into movie music. Here are some of favorites:

Taxi Driver
Donnie Darko
The Day the Earth Stood Still
The Good, the Bad, and the Ugly
A Clockwork Orange
The Last Temptation of Christ
Vertigo
Blade Runner

Jacaranda
10-30-2005, 10:12 AM
Other then the ones Zappa mentioned I like:

The Nightmare Before Christmas
Pulp Fiction
Natrual Born Killers
Fantasia

conspiracy_rocker3
10-30-2005, 10:45 AM
I love the work of both Ennio Moricone and Joe Hisaishi.

Favorite Moricone:
The Good, the Bad, and the Ugly
Once Upon a Time in the West
Cinema Paradiso
The Legend of 1900
Malena
A Fistful of Dollars
For A Few Dollars More

Favorite Hisaishi:
Castle in the Sky
Spirited Away
Kikujiro
Sonatine
Hana-Bi
Princess Mononoke
Howl's Moving Castle

robo2448
10-30-2005, 10:48 AM
I love the Lord of the Rings soundtrack. Different stuff than what I usually listen to, but I enjoy it a lot. High Fidelity and Blues Brothers have excellent soundtracks as well and haven't been mentioned. Actually I listened to the Blues Brothers soundtrack this morning. Rawhide :cool:

i2 enegade
10-30-2005, 10:58 AM
i find Guy Ritchie movies tend to have good soundtracks

Snatch
Lock Stock & Two Smoking Barrells

Killtacular
10-30-2005, 12:17 PM