PDA

View Full Version : Type O Negative

Flynn
10-28-2005, 10:11 PM
I have been posting here for almost 2 years now and haven't seen one Type O Negative thread! Come on people! There's gotta be more Type O fans out there. This is the thread to discuss. Here's a bio of the band:

''Type O Negative began their career with the 1991 Roadrunner release Slow, Deep and Hard, followed by the luridly titled Origin of the Feces (complete with the appropiately scatological and controversial cover) in 1992. Both records showcase the lush "orchestral metal" musicality and fascinating, hard-to-peg inner workings of singer/bassist Peter Steele's mind, not to mention the his oft-misconstructed political leanings and views about the "fairer sex." Ultimately, though, Steele feels it was Bloody Kisses where the band truly came into it's own, melding the melody, lyrics and heaviness found in songs like "Blood & Fire" into a uniquely signature sound that has inspired fanatical fans ranging from white-skinned vampire wannabees to prog-rock metal bands not to mention raves from hard-to-impress critics at Alternative Press, Rolling Stone and Billboard.
But that was just the beginning for Type O Negative...

Type O Negative took a provocative approach on October Rust, the highly anticipated follow-up to their gold-certified third album Bloody Kisses, which spawned the hits "Black No. 1" and "Christian Woman" and earned the quartet slots on tours ranging from NIN to Queensryche. "We really came into our own with our last album; we found our style" explains Steele. Not that we set any limitations on the new album, we simply feel this is the logical continuation from Bloody Kisses, unlike Slow, Deep and Hard to Bloody Kisses which was really, really different.