PDA

View Full Version : Advice on a new guitar

The_Red_Death
10-17-2005, 01:09 PM
Alright, so I'm a regular member of the bass forum, but I've been wanting to learn guitar for a while to kind of broaden my skills a bit. At the moment, I'm looking for a fairly inexpensive electric guitar, (at most $500 Canadian, preferably below $400). I play mostly rock, post-hardcore, pop-punk, stuff like that. I'm a complete noob when it comes to guitars, but I love the Les Paul body shape, and was hoping for something similar to that. Thanks a lot. :wave:

EDIT: Read post #12 please.

EdwardTheGreat
10-17-2005, 01:13 PM
Go get yourself an Epiphone LP. For the price its superb, and better than any rip-off LP.

The_Red_Death
10-17-2005, 01:31 PM
Go get yourself an Epiphone LP. For the price its superb, and better than any rip-off LP.

Thanks. Anyone else have an opinion on this?

/stealth bump

JDMhatch
10-17-2005, 01:54 PM
mexi strat. very versitile and good for the price

The_Glass_Prison
10-17-2005, 02:14 PM
I may as well post my question in here instead of making a thread...

Anywho, I plan to buy my very first guitar and amp. I've wanted to start learning for a while and I'm finally getting round to it.

So, I need advice on what guitar and amp to buy! I'm thinking something that's good with a varity of styles, as I won't be confining myself to just one genre when learning...although eventually I'd like to start practising some awesome metal solos ;)

I was looking at an Ibanez Gio Series GAX30...and as for amp I have no idea..

Is Ibanez a good make to go for? I'd like to keep within a budget of say £150 for the guitar.....maybe 70 for the amp?

seibel88
10-17-2005, 02:34 PM
Get a Strat Pack, everyone says they are crappy and I know I'll get flamed for it, but they ARE good for a beginner.

As for the threadstarter an Epiphone Les Paul would work for ya.

JSD
10-17-2005, 03:19 PM