PDA

View Full Version : Basses for beginners: Yamaha RBX 170 VS Ibanez GSR200

shad3
09-05-2005, 10:20 AM
For most beginners, buying a first bass can be somewhat a hassle.. some has a pocketbook too narrow to afford a fender, gibson or epiphone, but quality cannot be overlooked, which is why many people pass on a squier, or rogue. Here are the two most common starter basses that most people seem to favour, yamaha RBX 170, and the Ibanez GSR200.. which one to pick? while there isnt a right answer, this review will hopefully aid you in your decision in choosing a beginner bass.

Yamaha RBX 170 -
Price - $179.99 (music123.com)
this is the bass i own, i have owned it for almost a year and a half. I started learning on this bass, played four or five gigs with it, did some recording work, and needless to say, impressed many chicks.

pros -
-it has all the tonal versatility a beginner will need, offering both a P and J pickup, giving a wide range of tones that will sound anywhere like JPJ to flea.
-the neck is super smooth and fast, and the stock strings are fitted properly to make learning easy.
-the fretboard has 24 frets, more frets to play with, this might help in tapping. (this might also be a con, because rumours has it that if a player starts playing a 24 fret bass, they will never adjust to a bass with less frets)
-very highquality, can't go wrong with yamaha, and its backed by yamaha's lifetime guarantee.
-light weight

cons -
-easily goes out of tune. the tuners dont have much traction.. if you put it in tune, it will stay, but if your headstock rubs against something, it will easily move the tuners to detune your bass.
-replacement parts has to be ordered thru yamaha, this is a big headahce if you break a tuner

Ibanez GSR200
Price - $199.99 (music123.com)
This was my backup bass at gigs, so naturally i didnt play it very much, the only times ive played it was rehearsal and a few soundchecks.

pros -