PDA

View Full Version : Simple Recording Solutions..?

-TheGlassPrison-
11-10-2004, 05:58 PM
Well,
I'm a drummer and i want to get simple equiptment to record myself just to put it onto my computer.. i have some mics(real mics, not computer ones) so would a mixer be my only option.. is there anything that i can plug into my computer then plug a mic into it? If i use a regular computer mic, would it distort the sound and is this even possible to get a good sound out of?

help!

-Scotttt Buhhh

vizo
11-10-2004, 07:37 PM
Using a regular computer mic will not get you a good sound at all. Your best bet is to just use a mixer, as it has plenty of inputs for each individual mic. I know nothing about recording drums, but I'm sure a mixer would do it for you.

Also, you'd want a decent soundcard that is specifically for recording/theatre purposes on your computer if you're going to be doing this. SoundBlasters in my opinion just don't cut it for recording purposes.

-TheGlassPrison-
11-10-2004, 08:27 PM
ahh.. i cant afford a mixer!!! unless there is a cheap kind?

also, im wondering if there is such thing as an adaptor that you plug into your computer and allows you to plug mics into the back of it...?

thelemon32
11-10-2004, 08:52 PM
ha...you need drum mics. i know basically nothing about recording but i just picked it up and became interested this week so i'm thinking of buying a behringer 8 channel mixer for my computer...i'm guessing thats good for recording to my computer

DMBGuru
11-10-2004, 11:30 PM
Get a field DAT recorder. You could probably find on ebay for $250.

Or!

Get a minidisc recorder. Those things have amazing quality at really good prices.

Merkaba
11-11-2004, 03:07 AM