PDA

View Full Version : recording guitar in a computer


rural_route
10-24-2004, 07:56 PM
Can someone tell me the best way to do it?...

Up The Irons
10-24-2004, 11:04 PM
i havent used it but if you have a mac garage band gets a pretty good rep

wussrocker
10-25-2004, 10:56 AM
Go buy a soundcard!

I perfer: http://www.soundblaster.com/products/Audigy2ZS_platinum_pro/ if you can afford it.

Then install this FREE software: http://audacity.sourceforge.net/

Then plug in that guitar and record! It works great and you can also export it into .MP3 or .WAV

Let me know :)

Dr CoD
10-25-2004, 12:29 PM
I use adobe audition and plug my pedal into my pc and record through that. Works great.

wussrocker
10-25-2004, 12:44 PM
I use adobe audition and plug my pedal into my pc and record through that. Works great.

Ya but where do you plug the pedal in at on the pc? My guess is a soundcard...

rural_route
10-25-2004, 05:57 PM
I also plug the pedal into the computer and I use sound forge but when i play chords it sounds crappy

jarviss
10-25-2004, 08:25 PM
guitar--->guitar cable----> 1/4" to 1/8" stereo reducer jack (from radio shack) --->line in on soundcard

-G

if you have a pod or digitech or boss guitar amp modeler or whatever...put that in before the reducer

jarviss
10-25-2004, 08:28 PM
if you plug in to the computer...set your amp/pod/whatever to the settings you like
(not too loud) and open up the soundcard properties or whatever
play normally and check the levels on the "line in"...
if they go red...or clip..you'll get distortion (bad) even on a clean setting
slide down your line in input level till it doesnt clip
(or turn down the guitar setup)

-G