| Sputnikmusic

Tuesday, April 5th, 2016 Artist: Explosions In The Sky Track: “Landing Cliffs” Explosions In The Sky isn’t exactly a band that strikes joy into the heart of every post-rock aficionado anymore, and it has nothing to do with the band’s talent level.  After all, nobody questions that these guys can play, and some of the crescendos that they’ve crafted […]

Monday, April 4, 2016 Artist: Woods Track: “Sun City Creeps” Woods’ brand of indie folk always seems to find a comfortable sweet spot between eerie and inviting. With a haunting vocal performance from Jeremy Earl and seductive brass, ‘Sun City Creeps’ is every bit as enticing as it needs to be to kick off the […]

Friday, April 1st, 2016 Artist: Steven Page (facebook) (twitter) (official site) Track: “No Song Left To Save Me”   It’s almost criminal that Steven Page’s post-Barenaked Ladies material hasn’t attracted more attention. Starting with Page One in 2010 and now continuing with Heal Thyself Pt. 1: Instinct (released March 11, 2016), Page’s solo career has yielded some of the most well-crafted and […]

Here’s a list of major new releases for the week of Apil 1, 2016. Please feel free to request reviews for any of the following albums from staff or contributors. #N/A – Nisennenmondai (Beat Records) Alexander Durefelt – In the Grace of the Woods (Daughters and Son Records) Andrew Bird – Are You Serious (Wegawarm Music […]

Thursday, March 31, 2016 Social Distortion Track: “Drug Train” Social Distortion’s self-titled release was a potent concoction of punk, blues, and rock-n-roll that allowed the band to reach new levels of success in the early ’90s. Growing up through that decade, I can’t even count the amount of times I saw Social D patches clung […]

Wednesday, March 30th, 2016 Artist: Psychic Teens [Bandcamp]   Considering whatever thought processes might go into choosing a single, “End” is an interesting pick for Philly post-punk act Psychic Teens. The closer appropriately feels conclusive and reflective, as though we’re given the epilogue in advance. Sonically, Psychic Teens blend both jagged and anthemic riffs under a blanket […]

Tuesday, March 29th, 2016 Artist: Drose [Bandcamp]     Ohioan drone metal band Drose create helpless, introspective music that balances muggy atmospheres with strategic pauses in energy. Vocalist Dustin Rose delivers and unconventional double presence, being almost effeminately serene one moment, and resembling a tortured Patrick-Kindlon-meets-Abe-Simpson demigod the next. “The Man” insists “I’m here! To destroy you!” in a […]


Monday, March 28, 2016 Artist: O’Brother Track: “Complicated End Times” O’Brother’s latest post-hardcore conquest Endless Light is a sweeping triumph.  It’s a prolific enough record that at some point in 2016, you’ll probably have no choice but to hear about it.  Reminiscent of both Thrice and Manchester Orchestra, the album bestows a level of grit and atmosphere that is […]

      Welcome back!  Below is our compilation of staff picks from March 21-25 of 2016.  Thanks to Jacquibim, whose tastes exceed the outer limits of Spotify, I was forced to break convention and use Youtube  (look at this guy…a few weeks on staff and he’s already sticking it to the man).  Anyway, the layout […]

Friday, March 25, 2016 The Hotelier Track: “Piano Player” As anticipation continues to build for The Hotelier’s follow up to 2014’s wildly successful Home, Like NoPlace Is There, many are left scratching their heads with the release of their latest single ‘Piano Player.’ Admittedly, the song isn’t the cathartic release many fans were hoping for, […]

Thursday, March 24, 2016 Artist: Flotsam and Jetsam Track: “Never to Reveal“ Flotsam and Jetsam have faster more epic albums (Doomsday for the Deceiver), thrashier albums (No Place For Disgrace), more adventurous albums (The Cold), and even more commercial albums (Drift). None of them hold a candle to Cuatro. When Cuatro was released in 1992, it seemed like Flotsam and Jetsam were finally going […]

Wednesday, March 23, 2016 Artist: Zealotry Track: “Yliaster“ For three long years, Zealotry has teased us. It was said the arrival of a frostbitten behemoth was imminent and that The Charnel Expanse was merely a portal for something far more malevolent, but somewhere along the way, a shadow of doubt was cast. Like unfulfilled prophesies, […]

Here’s a list of major new releases for the week of March 25, 2016. Please feel free to request reviews for any of the following albums from staff or contributors. American Head Charge – Tango Umbrella (Napalm Records) Amon Amarth – Jomsviking (Mwtal Blade Records) Asking Alexandria – The Black (Sumerian Records) Beastmaker – Lusus […]

Tuesday, March 22, 2016 Artist: The Strumbellas Track: “Spirits” Remember in 2006 when My Chemical Romance launched the single/video “Welcome To The Black Parade”, and it was so wildly over-the-top that, on some levels anyway, it actually worked?  Or way back to 1967 when The Beatles had done pretty much the same thing with Sgt. Pepper’s […]

Monday, March 21, 2016 Artist: Fracture (Facebook / Twitter) Track: “Makin’ Hype Tracks” I’m a little late on the draw with Fracture’s excellent Hype Tracks EP (out in February on Exit Records), but I’ve been absolutely obsessed with Charlie Fieber’s brand of hip-hop-inflected jungle since I discovered it a few years back. Hype Tracks continues down that road – […]

Page 8 of 87« First...678910203040...Last »

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Site Copyright 2005-2016 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy