| Sputnikmusic

Agua de Annique – Feel Alive [Official Music Video] ——————————————————————————————- Anneke van Giersbergen is working on what is presumably the third album from her band, Agua de Annique. Of course it’s hard to tell for sure how it’s going to be released since sometimes her music is titled as just Agua de Annique, and other […]

Times are tough… Unless you are in the music industry yourself (or a retired millionaire), it is difficult to attend every single gig that passes through town. Local acts will usually give you multiple opportunities – sometimes in the one year – to see them, but when it comes to international outfits, who knows when […]

Here’s a list of major new releases for the week of September 06, 2011. Please feel free to request reviews for any of the following albums from staff or contributors. Am & Shawn Lee – Celestial Electric (ESL Music) Anathema – Falling Deeper {UK} (Kscope) — Trey Spencer Asa – Beautiful Imperfection (Naive) Aidan Baker – […]

Tags: , ,

Insomnium – Unsung ———————————————————————————————- “Unsung” is taken from Insomnium’s upcoming album, One For Sorrow. The album will be released on October 17th in Europe and one day later in the United States. Apparently, the song is one of the faster, heavier tracks from One For Sorrow — an album that the press release describes as diverse. Personally, […]

Here’s a list of major new releases for the week of August 30, 2011. Please feel free to request reviews for any of the following albums from staff or contributors. Anterior – Echoes Of The Fallen {EU} (Metal Blade) Beirut – The Rip Tide (Pompeii Records) — Kiran S. Blood Orange – Coastal Grooves (Domino) […]

Tags: , ,

Anybody who’s known me for more than five minutes knows that I have a bit of a hard on for Irish music (I run a blog exclusively devoted to the stuff here) and those who’ve known me a little longer know that I have a special place in my heart for Irish hip hop, which is nothing like the oxymoron that it initially appears.

Ireland has been producing underappreciated rap for years, going back to the innovative trip hop of Marxman through Scary Eire and modern acts like Messiah J & the Expert, the Infomatics and Melodica Deathship. Unfortunately, the general view of Irish rap is dominated by half-baked acts like House of Pain (though some of Everlast’s solo output is legit) and… well I don’t even know what the fuck this is but it needs to be fucking put down immediately.

With the debut albums of both bands having occupied top 10 spots in my previous two year-end lists, the double bill of Australian rock acts Dead Letter Circus and Closure In Moscow at the Hi-Fi Bar in Melbourne sure looked like an appetizing gig. What would be unbeknownst to me at the time of entry […]

Left Spine Down – X-Ray ————————————————————————————————– Left Down Spine have signed with Metropolis Records and are back with their second album of digital hardcore. Those familiar with the band will notice that major changes have taken place since Fighting For Voltage was released in 2008. The band have dropped all of their metal influences and […]

Tags: , , , ,

Exhibit A: Exhibit B: Actually Exhibit B is kind of cool but that picture is unforgivable. And I don’t remember Kevin Costner bullying a troll with a fish. Dude was just minding his own business under a tree. Fuck’s sake lads, get it together. ‘Robin Hood’ appears on Edguy’s new album, Age of the Joker, […]

(EDIT: Playback must be seen on YouTube due to copyright reasons. It’s worth it!) It was only a matter of time. The Decemberists’ third single from their new album The King Is Dead features a fantastic video with a finely detailed reenactment of a scene from David Foster Wallace’s mammoth tome Infinite Jest. For those […]

Tags: , , , , ,

Rabbit Junk have always been an eccentric band. They’ve been known to mix anything from industrial and black metal to hip hop and hardcore, and this song is no different. “What Doesn’t Kill You Will Make You a Killer” is the first single from the band’s upcoming album (currently untitled). It features the return of […]

Here’s a list of major new releases for the week of August 23, 2011. Please feel free to request reviews for any of the following albums from staff or contributors. Active Child – You Are All I See (Vagrant Records) Apathy – Honkey Kong (Dirty Version Record) Zee Avi – Ghostbird (Universal Republic) Balam Acab […]

Tags: , ,

It’s been over a decade since One Be Lo first burst on to the Midwest’s hip-hop scene as part of the now legendary Binary Star and he’s still more than alive and kicking. His fourth solo release since the original dissolution of Binary Star, L.A.B.O.R., is due out on September 6th and if its first […]

Tags: , , , ,

In what’s arguably the most bizarre (and strangely adorable) collaborations of the summer, indie dance duo Matt and Kim, the swagalicious Soulja Boy, and the Godfather of Partying Andrew WK recently took part in Converse’s “Three Artists. One Song.” campaign, spawning the so-called ‘party anthem to kick off the end of summer’, entitled “I’m a […]

Thrice have posted a lyric video (?) to another song from their upcoming album, Major/Minor, entitled “Promises”. Stupid lyric videos aside, “Promises” shows Thrice continuing in the direction they took on Beggars, away from the experimentation and expansiveness that led to Vheissu and The Alchemy Index. It’s another straightforward, four-minute rock song, and while it’s […]


Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy