Black Sabbath Master of Reality
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
linguist2011
Contributing Reviewer
June 1st 2012



1846 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

A monumental album, and certainly my personally favourite BS album. The doomy numbers that are 'Sweet Leaf', 'Lord of this World', 'Children of the Grave' and epic closer 'Into the Void' provide a uniquely eerie and dismal sound that adds to the generally dark atmosphere. Sure, 'Orchid' and 'Embryo' don't really add anything, but listening to the album as a whole makes them seem fitting for sure.

Digging: Black Anvil - Hail Death

NightProwler
June 4th 2012



6337 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Although I'd really love to see Bill Ward with the rest of the band, I'll have to admit that Tommy Clufetos did a great job at the Ozzy & Friends concert I went to last saturday in Malmö.

Still looking forward to see Sabbath at Download Festival this Sunday!

Digging: Every Time I Die - From Parts Unknown

queef
June 14th 2012



20 Comments


sweet queef

BigPleb
June 21st 2012



34328 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Probably my favorite Sabbath release.

Digging: Opeth - Pale Communion

Storm In A Teacup
June 21st 2012



12687 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

God damnit Sharon (X2)

random
July 5th 2012



2260 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

"Sweet Leaf" has an epic riff.

rockandmetaljunkie
July 5th 2012



3302 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Woke up my parents once, while i was jamming this shit with my guitar.

glezz
July 6th 2012



235 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

The Grandaddy of all Metal albums.

This is the one that truly started it all.
There wasn't anything remotely close to this sound and style and wouldn't be for years. This album and Volume 4 are THE motherlode and essential Sabbath.
Yeah, the first is cool but incomplete and not quite there yet.
Paranoid is great but not quite as heavy as this.

For it's time, this is the most astounding departure in all of rock music.
It is the template for all Metal to come.

superfatbass
July 8th 2012



2 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Ahh..simple,their best album,buy it if you dont already have it.

KILL
July 8th 2012



70718 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

phatbass

Digging: Gal Costa - Gal Costa

cutoffs
July 8th 2012



259 Comments


master of metal

NightProwler
August 6th 2012



6337 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Revolution in their minds, the children start to march...

slint87
August 19th 2012



5 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

My favourite Sabbath album. Claustrophobic!

slint87
August 19th 2012



5 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

My favourite Sabbath album. Claustrophobic!

glezz
September 14th 2012



235 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

The very Best Sabbath of all time. This one is the template for Death Metal and Doom Metal. It is the motherlode. Paranoid is not even close to being better than this. Yes, it's very good and a classic but this IS the peak of Sabbath.

TheNotrap
September 14th 2012



7992 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Yeah album's a masterpiece.

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
September 14th 2012



4384 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

"The soul I took from you was not even missed."

- My favourite piece of lyric from the album. This and Sabotage I think are the two best Sabbath albums.

Chortles
September 30th 2012



17910 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

forgot how much this rules m/

Digging: Yo La Tengo - Electr-O-Pura

Chortles
September 30th 2012



17910 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

damn it's close

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
September 30th 2012



20036 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Do it.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy