Black Sabbath Master of Reality
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
NeroCorleone80
May 11th 2014


33754 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Barely 2 are

Digging: The Ex - Tumult

BigPleb
May 11th 2014


46560 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Its been said before and I will say it again, that riff in 'Into the Void' will never ever be matched.

NeroCorleone80
May 11th 2014


33754 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

"Re-listened to H&H and MR today and daaaaamn, they both don't have shit on classic Ozzy era Sabbath"



They're still fucking awesome albums in their own right though

BigPleb
May 11th 2014


46560 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I've really really grown off them dude :/

dannyboy89
May 11th 2014


13340 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

They have their charms. H&H does have Walk Away though, and MR has that filler that I can't remember what it's called.



But the biggest difference is def the chemistry; there's a world of difference between the chemistry on the first 6 and that on H&H and MR.

Digging: Nine Inch Nails - The Fragile

manosg
Contributing Reviewer
May 12th 2014


9564 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

H&H t/t is one of their best lyrically imo.

Digging: Gehenna - First Spell

dannyboy89
May 12th 2014


13340 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Well yeah, H&H t/t is sweet on lyrics, agrd.

NeroCorleone80
May 12th 2014


33754 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Its also one of the few Dio-era songs that would make top 20 Sabbath

facupm
May 12th 2014


10690 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

or top 10 maybe

Salvidian
May 12th 2014


752 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This = Paranoid > S/T for me. First album had some kinks.

NeroCorleone80
May 12th 2014


33754 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Yeah the second half of the S/t isnt perfect like the first is.

facupm
May 12th 2014


10690 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

yeah but t/t still gives me goosebumps

NeroCorleone80
May 12th 2014


33754 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Same for me, and its because of how much that one riff has inspired.

dannyboy89
May 12th 2014


13340 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Sabbath was always about being a whole greater than the sum of its

parts, something which I believe was gradually lost after Ozzy left. It

became more and more about how Iommi could hold 'em together.

Haven't jammed Martin Era in a while though, although I take it it was

pretty hit & miss.

manosg
Contributing Reviewer
May 13th 2014


9564 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Mostly miss but some of the riffs are definitely there.

RunOfTheMill
May 13th 2014


2470 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Heaven and Hell is probs my third favourite Sabbath song lol (referring to the earlier discussion)



Is the Martine era actually worth listening to? I heard a few things off Tyr and Headless Cross, and it was enjoyable enough.

manosg
Contributing Reviewer
May 13th 2014


9564 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Not awful (besides Forbidden which is dreadful) but nothing special either. A bit underwhelming for sure considering the lineup (Cozy Powell). I'd say if you have other priorities stick to them. Seventh Star is decent too, prefer it to the Martin stuff.

facupm
May 13th 2014


10690 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

eternal idol and tyr are the best martin albums imo



they're good enough, but dont expect something similar to the ozzy era, it sounds pretty much like just another metal band

demigod!
May 13th 2014


48176 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

never got into any post-dio sabbath, never tried either. seems like kind of a fruitless endeavor, but if you guys think there's some stuff worth checkin there maybe i'll give it a shot

Digging: Tim Hecker - An Imaginary Country

adr
May 13th 2014


10326 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

well Heaven and Hell is awesome



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2016 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy