Deftones Saturday Night Wrist
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
slack
November 2nd 2006


249 Comments


I love the cover.

Xander_Christ
November 2nd 2006


132 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I just noticed that U,U,D,D,A,B,A,B,Select,Start probably refers to controls on a video game controller (Super Nintendo?)
After many repeated listens, I'm starting to think this album a close 2nd to White Pony

SubtleDagger
November 2nd 2006


737 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

You just noticed that?
It's obviously a video game code
Most people know it's the Contra code

pixiesfanyo
November 2nd 2006


1223 Comments


2 player code though.

I think Xerces might be my favorite.This Message Edited On 11.03.06

SlippingHalo
November 6th 2006


4 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"Tool is nu-metal

Tool also has nothing in common with Pink Floyd"

Tool arn't nu-metal, more progressive metal, lateralus is considered to b 1 of the great prog albums of our time. But u are right, I wouldn't compare tool to Pink Floyd. If Anything I would have thought they were more influenced by Meshuggah than Deftones.

But yea back on topic, nice review. I felt you were a bit critical of the guest track Pink Cellphone. The end is just what they obviously did for fun. Shows that the album is still human in my view.

SubtleDagger
November 6th 2006


737 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Tool isn't progressive
Sitting on two chords for an hour at a time is not progressive in the strictly literal sense

SlippingHalo
November 6th 2006


4 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thats a pretty narrowminded view and an poor generalisation of tool, have u even listened to them?

SubtleDagger
November 6th 2006


737 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah, and that's what they sound like
I'm not sure what Tool you've been listening to but most of it isn't very interesting :|

jason_f90
November 8th 2006


203 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Deftones are definitely the most creative and craftiest nu-metal band.

Xander_Christ
November 9th 2006


132 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"Most people know it's the Contra code"

My sincere apologies for a life outside of video games.

"I'm not sure what Tool you've been listening to but most of it isn't very interesting :|"

There goes any credibility as a reviewer as far as I'm concerned. Deftones and Tool, while not that similar in sound, are both respected for being at the cutting edge of their respected genres, and you seem to appreciate neither.

Back to this album, over a week later and it hasn't left my stereo. Good to know it has more playability then their self-titled. Apparently, the album might get re-released without the last minute of Pink Cellphone for censorship reasons. No real loss there, though I would be proud to own a vulgar original copy.



SubtleDagger
November 9th 2006


737 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

What? How do you figure I don't appreciate Deftones, I gave this CD an above average rating and it's not even my favorite record by them.
Also, just because you think Tool is "cutting edge" or whatever crap you're calling it doesn't mean everyone else does. Believe it or not, there are plenty of people who think Tool are boring music for pseudo-intellectuals, myself being one of them. If you're going to totally shun someone's credibility because your opinion is different than theirs you could always just go to allmusic where every album gets above a 3.

Mirror.Circuit
November 9th 2006


223 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i thought your review was spot on,and even though i gave it a 4,i absolutely love this album,minus pink cellphone,which i would like if it weren't for the mindless sex babbling at the end.
great review.

infinitestrain
November 16th 2006


25 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Good review, and this album freaking rocks!

DFelon204409
Emeritus
November 21st 2006


3995 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

[quote=upsidedown_and_confused]That CD gave life to 90% of the crap in the taste of chaos tour.[/quote]

Haha, and that's a good thing. Adrenaline didn't even have that much of what make Deftones great: emotive singing and a good sense of atmosphere. They developed all of that on Around the Fur.

DstrbdInmate921
November 23rd 2006


5 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

love the review. this is a great CD, definitely shows how far they have come since Adrenaline (one of my favorite CDs).

-jess

DstrbdInmate921
November 23rd 2006


5 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

also, i agree with Subtle's comment earlier. Tool has changed, and definitely not for the better. The songs are dry and nothing that really seems to capture my attention. But that's my opinion.


f_u_c_t
November 23rd 2006


1406 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Why are you talking about Tool?

Anyways, this album has a spot in my cd player beside my bed for atleast the next couple weeks. I never thought that they could make an album that can make White Pony look "not as good."
It's good to hear that the Deftones are alive and kicking it, and Chino didnt get kicked out of the band. The Deftones live on.

Two-Headed Boy
November 23rd 2006


4527 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I like your picture SubtleDagger

From what I've heard, these guys are pretty meh. However, I keep on hearing rave things about White Pony. I might look into it.

DekWannaBFlea
November 28th 2006


284 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

From what I hear I am not too impressed.

DekWannaBFlea
November 28th 2006


284 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Is this an audioslave or Rage against the machine album? I didn't think so. Nice burn though,man, props.

And as for the meaning, I am guessing it has to do with suicide. The cover would help on that one.


Pink Cellphone seems just like an inane long filler track. This Message Edited On 11.28.06



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy