Deftones Saturday Night Wrist
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Wizard
October 31st 2006


19437 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Who cares if you put up a review before the release date. The Wizard has put in his two cents hahahaha! Im going right now to pick it up!

Digging: Nightbringer - Ego Dominus Tuus

Wizard
October 31st 2006


19437 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Ok, just listened to this whole album. What the hell happened to them. Chino's side project Team Sleep is obviously having a profound impact on the Deftones sound. And that is not a good thing. There are a few good songs on here but a majority of the album is just crap. The Deftones are quickly fading with their god awful new album.

Ataraxia
October 31st 2006


59 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

They could have experimented a little more, but the songs here are all pretty much solid, and each has its own mood.

Don't agree with most of the specifics of the review, but I like the general idea and it was written really well, so... +.This Message Edited On 10.31.06

Upsidedown_and_Sideways
October 31st 2006


263 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

DFelon204409 - Staff Reviewer or not, if you think Adrenaline is a weak album you need to give your head a shake. That CD gave life to 90% of the crap in the taste of chaos tour.

Ataraxia
October 31st 2006


59 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

...Don't think this post needs to be here since I edited my first, so it can be deleted.This Message Edited On 10.31.06

SubtleDagger
October 31st 2006


737 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I will heavily agree that Adrenaline is boring

Kage
October 31st 2006


1172 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

By the way, I fucking love Pink Cellphone.

RunAmokRampant
November 1st 2006


228 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Deftones have always been hit and miss with me, but from what I've heard so far from this album sounds promising. Good review too.

wilksy
November 1st 2006


67 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

ive been hangin for this fuken album , cant wait to get it they better make up for there last effort

Spiritofmosa
November 1st 2006


55 Comments


the version of pink cellphone on my cd does nohas the "butt f**ck" part cut off. Is this the cencored version ?

SubtleDagger
November 1st 2006


737 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yep
Not that it matters since it's still unbelievably boring/pointless

foreverendeared
November 1st 2006


14678 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

First, i completely agree with you about Serj Tankian vocals... the first time i heard the song it shocked me because Serj's vocals do NOT compliment Chino's in any way. i have no problem with guest vocals, like Passenger on White Pony, Maynard's (TOOL) voice was perfect. Serj's however was far from.

Second, i hate when people compare albums, albums arent meant to sound the same, that's how bands die out. I personally liked Adrenalin a lot. A much different band now, but i really liked it, and still do. I Also am probably one of the few who thinks their self titled album kicked ass as well. It was mezmerizing. Mellow, yet much harder than White Pony. I really digged it. It had memerable guitar riffs and some very memerable lyrics too. I actually think their self titled flowed better than White Pony did. As for White Pony, their are only two flaws, one, the first track. i hate the first like minute of this song. sounds like POD at their sh**tiest. and the flow of the album as a whole. soft, hard, soft, hard.... i feel like i keep hitting speed bumbs when i listen to this album sometimes. However, definitely their best until this new album.

Finally, i'd like to praise (or rather critique) this album. Pink Cellphone would have been a fun and interesting song if it werent for the obsurdity of the last minute of it. that completely ruins it and makes me dispise the song. Mein was a great song but would have been better if it werent for the guest vocals (i'm thinking maynard once again would have been an interesting touch). with these two flaws aside, this album is brilliant. I think it tops White Pony because of how well each song flowed and how mature and memorable each song is. (With those 2 exceptions i mentioned of coarse.) RATS!RATS!RATS! and Cherry Waves are my 2 favorites.

Oh and good review

Wizard
November 1st 2006


19437 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Ok, Ive given this album a few more listens and bumped my rating up to a 3. Pick Cellphone is the most god aweful Deftones tune ever. What were they thinking. Mein with Serj Tankian is the best song on this album.

slack
November 1st 2006


249 Comments


I AGREE!

... select, start is really great. My favorite track.

Solid album overall.

f_u_c_t
November 1st 2006


1406 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I want this

Pebster49
November 1st 2006


2992 Comments


Who ever said Tool is Nu-Metal probably thinks Britney Spears is Death Metal...anyways to the subject this was way better than there last record. I was really impressed, just when I thought the Deftones were going down hill...boom this was awesome, good to see a band going in the right direction

f_u_c_t
November 1st 2006


1406 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i hope this won't be their last album....from rumors ive heard

wikuk
November 2nd 2006


1110 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Who ever said Tool is Nu-Metal probably thinks Britney Spears is Death Metal...
:p but you're right though. People don't even know what the genre is about if they label Tool as nu-metal.

Wish
November 2nd 2006


262 Comments


Well done, Burt. Great review.

I've only heard a few tracks off their MySpace, but from that, I think it's a pretty good album. I'm going to buy it just because I love them. White Pony and Deftones (despite the mediocre reviews) are two of my favourite albums of this decade so far.

Who ever said Tool is Nu-Metal probably thinks Britney Spears is Death Metal
That's the stupidest thing I have ever read.This Message Edited On 11.02.06

Wizard
November 2nd 2006


19437 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This album has now risen to a 3.5. Why? Because this album takes a few listens to really get into it.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy