Muse Showbiz
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
February 11th 2009



20818 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Considering they were rather young at the time & this was Muse’s debut album, ‘Showbiz’ is a mighty fine release. The way in which the trio is able to pull off the quiet/loud dynamics at times is akin to bands who have been plying their trade for a decade. Look no further than opener and highlight track ‘Sunburn’ which goes from mesmerizing piano to screeching guitar. ‘Muscle Museum’ adds an interestingly quirky eastern-european feel to the equation, while the patient build-up of the title track is very rewarding. There are a few missed steps here and there (‘Falling Down’ is pretty boring & the closer doesn’t do a great deal for me), but for the most part, ‘Showbiz’ is more than just an imaginative debut, it is a very good album in its own right. Recommended Tracks: Sunburn, Fillip, Showbiz & Muscle Museum.

Douchebag
February 11th 2009



3624 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I agree man. whilst this doesn't get too much of a listen compared to the other efforts, it's still interesting. sunburn is a wicked intro and showbiz is just an allround great song.

IAmInsect
February 11th 2009



3800 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

the title track rules so hard

maxwilliamgray
April 6th 2009



3 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Great Album!

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
June 1st 2009



23649 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This review is "awesome" and "cool."

Digging: Trophy Scars - Holy Vacants

Titan50
June 1st 2009



4588 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Origins > Showbiz = Absolution > Black Holes

Tillius
July 8th 2009



90 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

This is definitely Muse's greatest album, tied maybe with OoS. I was a bit skeptical to check it out since my friend told me it's probably their worst album, but it's really phenomenal. Sunburn and the title track alone make it a stand out album.

SmurkinGherkin
July 8th 2009



1769 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah this album is VERY underrated

erasedcitizen
January 4th 2010



716 Comments


So elegant.

AnvilJ
August 22nd 2010



124 Comments


12 solid pop songs with few filler. If you are disappointed by Muse's recent Resistance wanderings, you owe yourself to pick this up before the next Apocalypse is threatened by a giant white piano.

paramoraticx
November 24th 2010



14 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'm obsessed with this album.

Millais
March 5th 2011



26 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

absolutely love this album. does not beat any of their others to this present day in 2011. the only album by muse which i like/love every song on.

CoConi
June 1st 2011



48 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Decent album overall with beautiful melodies, which made me rate it 4.0/5

jg777
November 26th 2011



160 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

The overall rating for this album is extremely too low. It's almost insulting to, well...ME!

rodrigo90
January 5th 2012



210 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

a few years ago a girl told me that she was listening to showbiz (i cant remember if it was showbiz or origin of symmetry but anyway) while having sex with his boyfriend, i think that the comment made my whole year, i was trying to think how it could be have sex while listening to muscle museum SERIOUSLY

rodrigo90
January 5th 2012



210 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i think she probably find some sexual innuendo in the "come in my cave" thing

Sciroccu
January 5th 2012



730 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

their best for sure.

Digging: Black Label Society - Catacombs of the Black Vatican

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
January 5th 2012



19518 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

2nd worst

Digging: Cult Leader - Nothing for Us Here

Sciroccu
January 6th 2012



730 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

3.5 : best muse album
3.5 : 2nd worst
lol, you are a fan.
To me : Showbiz >= Origin > Absolution = Black holes > The R

Showbiz was so fresh and different when it came out, as a hole it remains my fav even if there are one of two incredible songs on Origin.

rodrigo90
January 6th 2012



210 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeah origin is their masterpiece but is about what type of music you like you would choose showbiz if you like the "grunge type thing" or origin if you like "mozart meets pink floyd"



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy