All That Remains The Fall of Ideals
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
R6Rider
November 8th 2012


4738 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Dudes, Alive Or Just Breathing > all other KSE albums.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
November 8th 2012


20158 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Killswitch's "alive or just breathing" is actually probably their best it's a different singer but i also love end of heartache

fyi august burns red has no clean vocals though.

Digging: Johann Sebastian Bach - Brandenburg Concerto No. 5 in D major, BWV 1050

Ecnalzen
November 8th 2012


6822 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I read the original had vocal problems and he had to quit. I think Howard also quit recently and they're bringing Jessie back though, aren't they?

I might pass on August Burns Red then. I like a few songs with all screaming every now and then, but it gets old when it runs for an entire album.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
November 8th 2012


20158 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

i still think you should check it out!

and yes killswitch is back with their old singer jesse

Ecnalzen
November 8th 2012


6822 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Alright, you talked me into it, lol. I did start getting into a band called Misery Signals and they hardly use clean vocals and it has been growing on me. You might try them out if you haven't already, Atari. The album I've been listening to is called Controller.



Atari
Contributing Reviewer
November 8th 2012


20158 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

yeah misery signals are great i thought about mentioning them but they're kind of more hardcore/metalcore not just metalcore

Ecnalzen
November 8th 2012


6822 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I am working my way up to melodeath. Slowly, but surely. Have you heard Life In Your Way or Wolves At The Gate?

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
November 8th 2012


20158 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

nope i haven't. and honestly some metalcore is more aggressive than melodeath lol but i know u said you're not used to the vocals.

Ecnalzen
November 8th 2012


6822 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Honestly, when it comes to the hardcore/aggressive parts of music, vocals are the main thing that can turn me away from a band. Unless the music is just absolutely chaotic and structureless, I can usually handle it.

You might check those two out if you are looking for something new. They mix Post Hardcore and Metalcore. It's pretty cool. These are the albums I've been listening to if you want to give either a shot:

Life In Your Way- Kingdoms and Waking Giants
Wolves At The Gate - Captors

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
November 8th 2012


20158 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

For sure man i'll add them to my list thanks

Ecnalzen
November 8th 2012


6822 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

No probs. Hope you like em. Ill check out the stuff you mentioned too.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
November 8th 2012


20158 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

cool give me some time tho i have a million records i'm supposed to listen to : P

Ecnalzen
November 8th 2012


6822 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Take your time, I am in the same boat, Atari.

Ha ha, Darth. It's not the most well received genre, but there is some good stuff to be found.

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
November 10th 2012


21815 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

MY STRENGTHS BEEN TESTED

Digging: Todd Terje - It's Album Time

FearThyEvil
November 10th 2012


12758 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

fyi august burns red has no clean vocals though.

Unless you count Tommy's guest appearance in "Indonesia".

FearThyEvil
November 10th 2012


12758 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

No they're not. They're definitely one of the better ones but I can think of good amount of other metalcore bands who really epitomize metalcore.

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
November 10th 2012


21815 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

as i lay dying epitomize mainstream metalcore for me

Ecnalzen
November 10th 2012


6822 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I prefer a sing/scream combo when I listen to this type of music, so I dig melodic metalcore to the more hardcore style also.

Alondite
November 19th 2012


164 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I don't get why the low growls (or pig squeal, or whatever you want to call it) in "The Weak Willed" get criticized. That song is, without question, Phil's best-ever vocal performance, and one of the more unique and creative songs ATR have ever recorded. A definite high-point on the album.


J0ckstrapsFTW
November 19th 2012


3659 Comments


Fuck I used to jam to this so hard



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy