Insomnium Above the Weeping World
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Zoo
July 5th 2007



3759 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Insomnium= sex in your ear

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
July 24th 2007



15977 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Insomnium= sex in your ear


It's so true, they are currently my favorite band. I may change my rating of this album to a 5, it really deserves it. Listening to "Drawn To Black" on my car stereo with the two subs in the trunk is just awesome, the double bass kicks ass.

Digging: Tiamat - Wildhoney

metallicaman8
July 24th 2007



4677 Comments


I need to hear more insomnium. The Killjoy and Medeia are both stellar tracks.

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
July 24th 2007



15977 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Every single song from every single album Insomnium has put out is gold.

FR33L0RD
July 24th 2007



1458 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I love Melodic Death Metal, i want this. Man too many good bands to dig ;)


MetalSpine
August 18th 2007



6 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I love this album. Favourite songs have got to be Mortal Share and The Killjoy. I can't help but love Insomnium. Great review.

Aeksis8745
August 19th 2007



448 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

the intro to in the groves of death is just so perfect. I love how it jus keeps building, so great.

Zoo
August 19th 2007



3759 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

One of my all time favorite albums. I did enjoy In the Halls of Awaiting a bit more though. I absolutely adore the solo in The Elder.

Aeksis8745
August 19th 2007



448 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yea just ordered that one can't wait to get it.

LoUd3
December 17th 2007



37 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Awesome album! One of the melodic death metal in years/ever.
I really love the lyrics, so beautiful!

crazycobs
January 14th 2008



114 Comments


wow is all i have to say about this band. I first heard about them when inflames listed some of there influences and insomnium cropped up. i thought this was odd since In flame had been around alot longer?? and it is pretty much apperent the influences is the other way round with opeth n dark tranquillity thrown in to.

But great reveiw and thumbs up to this band for keeping melo death alive!

steveosk8s
March 19th 2008



135 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

aboslutely essential melodic death.

AngelPhoenix
March 24th 2008



2764 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

^^^I always seem to be finding this essential stuff so late. grrrr.
This sounds freaking amazing, as does their album before this (myspace tracks).

Hawks
March 27th 2008



33352 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Insomnium is probably one of the best Melodic Death Metal bands around today. Way better than In Flames now.

AngelPhoenix
March 30th 2008



2764 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Okay, it's official, this tops Since the Day for me. Killjoy, Last Statement, and Devoid of Caring one after another just destroys me.

edit: Though Nocturne is probably the best intro track I've ever heard.This Message Edited On 03.30.08

rasputin
March 30th 2008



14504 Comments


I've been through this and the second album a few times, but they haven't grabbed me in the same way In the Halls of Awaiting did.

AngelPhoenix
March 30th 2008



2764 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I haven't heard In the Halls, but I'm willing to bet it's probably pretty similar to this, because this is pretty damn similar to Since the Day. So I can see how after their first album you were looking for some progression and didn't really see any. I found and listened to both these albums at the same time (not literally lol), w/o having heard Halls, so it was like a kick-ass 2 CD special limited edition of melo-death perfection for me lol.
Biased, and proud of it

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
March 30th 2008



15977 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

"In The Halls Of Awaiting" (the track, not the album) is the single best thing Insomnium has written.

twiik
March 31st 2008



30 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Beautiful album, amazing riffs, and a real melancholy feeling.

Am I the only one who notices Doom Metal influences on some of the tracks?

rasputin
March 31st 2008



14504 Comments


"In The Halls Of Awaiting" (the track, not the album) is the single best thing Insomnium has written.
As much as the track is amazing, I don't think it's the albums strongest point.
Am I the only one who notices Doom Metal influences on some of the tracks?
Yes.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy