Insomnium Above the Weeping World
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Yazz_Flute
February 20th 2007



18735 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Nice review, but no "At the gates of Sleep?" That's my second favorite song on the album, barely surpassed by none other than the amazing "Mortal Share."

Digging: Anekdoten - Vemod

Aeksis8745
February 22nd 2007



448 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This album blew my mind away, definetly going to keep an eye on these guys. Who does a 10 min long melodic death metal song?

Brain Dead
February 28th 2007



1150 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

It's too bad that 10 minute melodic death song sucks. Still, this is a pretty good album. I like it.

Yazz_Flute
February 28th 2007



18735 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

^^

What about sadness and hate by wintersun? That song kicks ass. In the groves of death is really good too, but sadness and hate is awesome.

TheHamburgerman
April 7th 2007



1251 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Meh, every song on this album is teh awesomeness. Along With Since the Day it All Came Down the best melodic death metal album I've ever heard.


Last Statement

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
April 7th 2007



17911 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Great album.

SynGates
April 15th 2007



2467 Comments


More varied yes but I still think they are quite good.

Brain Dead
April 15th 2007



1150 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The vocals are excellent. They're suitably harsh for the genre, but not grating in any way.

Duckhysteria
April 16th 2007



40 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Realy great album, i like the artwork especialy, would you say they're an underrated band?

Foodforthegods
April 16th 2007



425 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Last statement is the best song IMO. The outro is so beautiful. This is a solid album but not as good as I was expecting.

Yazz_Flute
June 17th 2007



18735 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thishas been growing on me with every listen, and "Last Statement," which i
previously found overrated, i'm starting to love now. Then again, there really is no
bad song here, including the intro track, which is one of the best intros to an album
ever imo. In order:

In the Groves of Death
Mortal Share
Devoid of Caring (underrated song)
The Killjoy
Last Statement
Drawn to Black
At the Gates of Sleep
Change of HEart
The Gale

This is one of the hardest albums to do a list like that for imo, other than ITGOD
which is easily my favorite, and COH and TG, which are the two worst, it really could
go almost any way.This Message Edited On 06.17.07

south_of_heaven 11
July 1st 2007



5426 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I know it's just the intro, but "The Gale" is fucking amazing.

Yazz_Flute
July 1st 2007



18735 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i here ya, i think its my favorite intro to any album

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
July 1st 2007



15981 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Likewise, I love that track. I always listen to it when I listen to this CD.

Digging: Tiamat - Wildhoney

blackmilk
July 1st 2007



584 Comments


"Devoid of Caring" is the best song.

masscows
July 1st 2007



2236 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This is my favorite Gothenburg metal album (Yeah, I know they aren't from Gothenburg, but they're still Gothenburg metal).

Yazz_Flute
July 1st 2007



18735 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Gothenburg? Nah, i just call em melo-death, the style is similar but it doesnt seem right calling them gotenburg. They're not even from sweden, they're finnish.

ITGOD is the best, but Devoid of Caring is the second best id say.

masscows
July 1st 2007



2236 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I know they're Finnish. Either way, this record owns. It's hard to nail which song is my favorite because they're all so epic.

Yazz_Flute
July 1st 2007



18735 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah no matter the genre, its still one of my favorite albums.

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
July 1st 2007



15981 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I've been really into Insomnium lately, this album is growing on me and I love it even more. Everything from the artwork to the lyrics to the music itself is just perfect.

And by the way, if you like "In The Groves Of Death" off of this album you will LOVE the song "In The Halls Of Awaiting" off of In The Halls Of Awaiting, its 11 minutes of ecstasy.

I think Insomnium is the best melodic death metal band at the moment, every album they've recorded is pure gold.This Message Edited On 07.01.07



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy