Mastodon Blood Mountain
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Scuba_Steve
September 13th 2006


46 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Just for the record, my rating is actually a 5, but the silly limit thing said no.


amazing album, easily one of the best metal records this year.

711
September 13th 2006


1341 Comments


The album absolutely rocks, "Sleeping Giant" is one of my new favorites.

spoon_of_grimbo
September 14th 2006


2241 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

im thinking sleeping giant is probably my fave atm too. still hearing new things with every listen!

and scuba_steve, that rating limit is bullshit, i ran into that problem a few days ago. what theyre saying is that only 10% of your ratings can be 5s. so if you happen to find more albums which in your opinion could not be made any better (and so would obviously get full marks), you'd have to go rate 10 more other albums as something less than 5 so you could put the newfound one as a 5. whoever thought of this system needs a thorough re-think.

they should have 5 as being "perfect" or "unimprovable" (if such a word exists), since classic is a word which refers more to the general public opinion and historical value of an album, and often isn't fully indicative of its actual quality.

spoon_of_grimbo
September 14th 2006


2241 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

mastodon aren't a singles band, u need to hear the whole album and get into it before you can really get an idea of what's going on. hence why i didn't do "recommended tracks" or anything like that.

StrizzMatik
September 15th 2006


3229 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Fanfriggintastic. Best metal album in a long time and possibly my favorite album this year (so far). Great review too.

Shadows
Moderator
September 15th 2006


2530 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I've only heard The Wolf is Loose so far, but it's quite average. And jeez, I don't think I've ever seen an album reviewed so frequently in so little time.

lost_profits
September 16th 2006


59 Comments


Don't believe the hype. Don't believe that this album is the best of 2006 so far. In 2006 alone there are better albums. I'll rattle off a few now:

Devin Townsend - Synchestra
Madder Mortem - Desiderata
Enslaved - Ruun
Amon Amarth - With oden on our side

I don't dislike this band. I'll listen to their music and find it mildly entertaining, but no song will click with me. But why listen to these guys when you've got Isis who do the whole sludgy thing so much better.

In short, I will stand by my decision that Mastodon are currently the most overated band in metal.



Kyle
September 16th 2006


667 Comments


I've only heard The Wolf is Loose so far, but it's quite average. And jeez, I don't think I've ever seen an album reviewed so frequently in so little time.
You've only heard The Wolf is Loose? And you've given the album a rating?

Never mind.....I'm assuming you've heard it since posting that.
This Message Edited On 09.16.06

lost_profits
September 16th 2006


59 Comments


I simply cannot believe people are calling this "classic" and giving it a 5 star rating.
It's still only young, the great albums get better with age and repeated listens. Not some overnight sensation like this album.

If this album is a 5 then I hope to god Opeth's "Morningrise" is a 10.

Neoteric
September 16th 2006


3243 Comments


Hmm... I'm not sure whether to bother with this album, as most of the metalheads are praising it but non-metalheads aren't.

Kyle
September 16th 2006


667 Comments


I'm praising it, and i'm no certainly no metalhead. This Message Edited On 09.16.06

Neoteric
September 16th 2006


3243 Comments


Ah okay, I shall check it out then. Report back in a couple of days.

Shadows
Moderator
September 16th 2006


2530 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Never mind.....I'm assuming you've heard it since posting that.

I have.


Dried Muffin Remnants
September 16th 2006


297 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This band is no doubt talented... I don't think I'd ever doubt that. I just think that this album doesn't have a lot of structure. I love to hear the drummer go nuts but only when it makes sense. The insane snare fills just sound so much better on Leviathan because there is structure. This album sounds really cool at points, but the lack of structure just bothers me.

3/5

Pwntendo
September 16th 2006


70 Comments


The album is basically a bunch of songs about monsters thrown together.

Thor
September 16th 2006


10202 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

So?

Digging: Black Crown Initiate - The Wreckage of Stars

Dried Muffin Remnants
September 16th 2006


297 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I love that they like fantasy. But yeah, that's pretty irrelevant to their music.

Thor
September 16th 2006


10202 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

I like it because it's almost power metal influenced, which is a genre I can't get enough of. It's better than them singing about past girlfriends or something lame like that.

Brain Dead
September 16th 2006


1150 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Hmmm.... perhaps this isn't quite as good as I first thought. After a few listens on the band's myspace, I was prepared to give this album a 4.5 or a 5. But unlike Leviathan, which improved with time, this album seems to get worse. The cacophony between Brann Dailor and the rest of the band has only grown, and the increasing use of melodic vocals doesn't even begin to balance out the unharmonic drumming. The riffs are often overly distorted, and the progressive interludes in this album don't appear to be anything especially creative or interesting. It certainly has its good aspects, but perhaps a 3 or maybe a 3.5 for this album is better suiting.

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
September 16th 2006


16089 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

^^ Hey look he made my review one paragraph long.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy