Silversun Pickups Carnavas
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Ire
August 27th 2010


41948 Comments


i love them boom boom booms

dylantheairplane
August 27th 2010


2179 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Better than Swoon, no contest

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
September 26th 2010


22393 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

While the dynamic, multi-layered debut LP from Silversun Pickups is not the most immediate, it does reveals itself upon multiple listens. Combining a guitar-driven alt-rock sound with grungy, shoegazing indie, 'Carnavas' proves that such a distorted sound can still result in catchy melodies. A few too many songs drag on for too long & front-man Brian Aubert could have mixed up his distinctive vocals a little more, but when it all comes together like on highlight 'Lazy Eye', it makes for a rewarding listen. Recommended Tracks: Lazy Eye, Little Lover's So Polite, Well Thought Out Twinkles & Future Foe Scenarios.

Douglas
September 26th 2010


9239 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

seeing them on tuesday omg omg omg

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
September 26th 2010


22393 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Let us know how they go Dougie. I believe they're getting an hour on Friday night. More than a usual support act, but thought it might be 75 mins.

Douglas
September 26th 2010


9239 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

will report back

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
September 26th 2010


22393 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Then again, they may not get more than 75 mins at The Corner. I'm sure you will report back with total unbias anyway.

AtavanHalen
September 26th 2010


17927 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

oh look CK gives a wrong rating that's rare

Fugue
September 26th 2010


7371 Comments


lol

Douglas
September 26th 2010


9239 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

ding dong

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
September 26th 2010


22393 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

You're all ding dongs. Shhh, I'm listening to 'Swoon'.

AtavanHalen
September 26th 2010


17927 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

No doubt you'll be wrong about that, too.



Can't knock the hustle.

dylantheairplane
September 26th 2010


2179 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This > Swoon





duh.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
September 26th 2010


22393 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I think I like 'Swoon' a touch better. Not quite sure why though. It's either the addition of strings or the fact that it's 6 or 7 minutes shorter.

Mixiegirl
September 26th 2010


37 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Good review. I really dig this album a lot. I saw them several years ago play at a club opening for Jet...The music had so much distortion, I had no clue how great there were until I heard their album. And I totally support more girls in rock!

bab808
October 24th 2010


456 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

wow surprised you dissed lazy eye. i like that song :/

eternium
October 24th 2010


16352 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This is slightly better than Swoon. Haven't listened to this in awhile either.

Douglas
October 24th 2010


9239 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Band rules face

Spec
November 23rd 2010


30170 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Lazy Eye is such a cool song.

AtavanHalen
November 23rd 2010


17927 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Amazing song.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2016 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy