Isis Panopticon
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Syncratic
August 26th 2006


756 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Well, Pelican mostly, since that's the only other remotely post-metal I've heard.

Isis make dense walls of sound with extremely harsh (at times) vocals. Occaisionally some melodic lines are thrown into the mix. I'd recommend trying them out with this album, that's how it got me into the post-anything genre.

Syncratic
September 13th 2006


756 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Oh snap, I thought that Aaron Harris was the singer...turns out he's the man on the skins.

Anywho...this album just gets better with time.

MarchOfThePigs
September 26th 2006


11 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

It took a little while to grow on me, but when it finally did, it was incredible!

And you did a really god job with the review.

Thor
October 1st 2006


10200 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

In Fiction stands right now as the most crushing song I've come across in a while.

It's so, well, perfect. Just like you said.

Syncratic
October 3rd 2006


756 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Both when the vocals kick in and when that "doo-doo-dee-dee-doo" bassline plays it just kills.

Yeah, perfect. THAT'S the word.

Thor
October 3rd 2006


10200 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I like the part right before that bass line. Just the absolutely crushing guitars at the end. So heavy...so beautiful.

Syncratic
October 3rd 2006


756 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Have you heard any of the new album yet? The last song is, in our perception (I'm just generalizing here) In Fiction x 1000.

And the new cover art is sweet.

Thor
October 3rd 2006


10200 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Whoa, that's insane. And no, I haven't heard any of it yet. I think I'll just wait until it's released.

Syncratic
October 3rd 2006


756 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Halloween, mark your calender, it's excellent. Can't wait for the final mix.

ValiumMan
October 19th 2006


493 Comments


This album is great, and so is this review. Very descriptive. It gives people who haven't heard this album a perfect idea of what it sounds like.

Syncratic
October 20th 2006


756 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Hey, thanks.

Definately check out Oceanic if you like this album.

Dried Muffin Remnants
October 21st 2006


297 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

There's a lot of post-metal that I don't like because it is too repetitive and uninspired. Panopticon and Oceanic convey so much emotion and ambience through the great song structures and beautiful instrumentation that they serve as great foundations for this genre. This is definitely tops for post-anything.

Two-Headed Boy
October 30th 2006


4527 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This stuff's great. It's like Tool and Explosions in the Sky's illegitimate child. It's really beautiful.

Ataraxia
November 5th 2006


59 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Great review.

I love this album, but I had to knock my score for it down a notch since the new album came out. This album and Lateralus were my standards for perfection... were.

I'd like to see you do a review for In the Absence of Truth. plz

Syncratic
November 5th 2006


756 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Oh, it's in progress. I've been insanely busy, and this week will be so, so look for it this month for sure, then I'll just go on a tear.

Because the new album trumps this one in every fashion for me. "In Fiction" is my favorite song and "Garden of Light" surpasses that times 1000.


Jack Wilson
November 6th 2006


313 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

great review. so did we is awesome.

Syncratic
November 6th 2006


756 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

"So Did We" crushes me so hard I can't believe it.

Ataraxia
November 6th 2006


59 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah, I don't really expect you to dedicate your whole life to the forums... lol

From the moment I put the new album in the CD player and I heard the opening drums, I knew it would be amazing. Their drummer improved a thousand times over between Panopticon and ITAOT

rhyno
November 23rd 2006


28 Comments


Musically, I like these guys, but i could really do without the Cannibal Corpse-esque vocals.

Syncratic
November 23rd 2006


756 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Then you would like the new album.

There are much less growls, more clean vocals.

In fact, I JUST posted a review of it.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy